We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Balbi Family Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Balbi Family Hotel
Ranked #30 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location! Close to train Station and not far from city centre! The breakfast was good we enjoyed it very much! The rooms were a great size! We were a couple and another single guy. The service was great! We were trying to rent Vespas to go to the almalfi coast and the gentleman called places for us but they were all rented out. He also suggested us an amazing seafood restaurant that we loved and was really cheap for a axing mussels! Overall great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KaitDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    109
    76
    20
    11
See reviews for
108
103
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mirleft, Morocco
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I just needed some cheap, central place where I could spend up to two nights when waiting for the ferry to Tangier. This was a lucky pick:
* central: sights, train station and close to historic, cruise and ferry ports
* friendly and helpful: I was welcomed with a quick introduction of the overall city layout and detailed instructions on how to get to my destinations (post office, ferries)
* clean
* good continental breakfast; though also check out the focaccia-place just a few doors up the street

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trypppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Staff were very helpful. They went out of their way to accommodate a GF breakfast for me which was fantastic. We had a large room with fresco on ceiling - added character to our stay The hotel handy to port and aquarium as well as ferries to Cinque Terre. No shortage of eating places nearby Very pleasant stay.

Would have been handy for tea/coffee facilities available in room.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fwharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012 via mobile

although the hotel rooms have a really bad forniture abd there is no elevator, the staff is really polite, the location is perfect, the breakfast too. I would go again although you have to be lucky with the room

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frauleingd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We spent one night at Hotel Balbi.

It is located on the second floor of an old building that is loaded with charm and character.

You can easily walk to many of Genova's sights so the location is perfect.

We arrived on a week-ned so the parking on the street across from the hotel was free.

The room was spacious with huge ceilings and it was like spending the night in a museum.

We had opted to have the breakfsat in the morning and it was quite adequate and was served in a room with a gorgeous ceiling and plenty of ambience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeaconBrodie276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Hotel Balbi is fine for a night or two in Genova. You can explore the town on foot from there, and the street is easy to find.
The place has a certain old fashioned charm. Be warned that it is on the second floor and there is no lift.
The free wi-fi is a bonus.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Been here for a 2 night stay to get the Whole family to the Acquarium in Genova.
We're 5 and getting a good room for a decent cost can be very difficult, expecially in the city center. So we get this hotel name via Booking.com.
Inside an historic building in the very city center (200mt from the Harbor and from the historic Via del Campo), they will provide you a cheap but clean and good enough stay.
The furnitures are not as a Sheraton, but they are kind trying to give you anything you need.
The bed is good, room quite and the breakfast is simple, but acceptable.
There's no elevator, so be prepared to clinb a 2 floors Marble historic stair to get into the hotel lobby.
Free wifi, internet point.
There's no parking, but there's a public parking (17/20 EUR per night) 150 mt close.

We spent 142 EUR including breakfast for 5 people.

Room Tip: Ask for the roof-painted rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corrado C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nuovo Nord
Hotel Nuovo Nord
#15 of 91 in Genoa
439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#46 of 91 in Genoa
239 reviews
1.0 mi away
Olympia Hotel Genova
Olympia Hotel Genova
#3 of 91 in Genoa
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Fiume
Hotel Fiume
#22 of 91 in Genoa
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Armonia
Hotel Armonia
#71 of 91 in Genoa
53 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Assarotti
Hotel Assarotti
#47 of 91 in Genoa
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balbi Family Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balbi Family Hotel

Property: Balbi Family Hotel
Address: Via Balbi 21/3, 16126, Genoa, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Balbi Family Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Via Balbi seat of the University and the street declared a World Heritage by UNESCO in Genoa, a few steps from the historical center, from the aquarium, the train station P. Principe and the Cruise terminal .The Family Hotel Balbi connection Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and all rooms have a / c, fridge, kettle, telephone, free wifi As the name suggests the hotel, the Balbi is a family-run The Family Hotel Balbi is located in a historic building with frescoes and parquet floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Balbi Family Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Balbi Family
Balbi Family Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing