We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall is ok”
Review of Hotel Acquaverde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Acquaverde
Ranked #83 of 92 Hotels in Genoa
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Overall is ok”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

It's a good location if you want to stay near the coach station, otherwise try to find something closer to the center. People working there were nice, specially one male receptionist that was always available to help. I booked a room with en suite shower but found the room quite expensive for what I got. The hotel is in a main street and it tends to be noisy all the time!
They advertise Internet but it NEVER worked.
All the rest was ok.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraBranches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    44
    53
    32
    53
See reviews for
42
42
38
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brno
Level Contributor
546 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

When I booked a room in this hotel (with external bathroom) nowhere was mentioned that this bathroom
is shared for other 10 rooms an that in reality its a hostel.
This was not big problem nevertheless I would like to know it before.

My room was small, clean, wifi working all the time. A lot of bars and restaurants nearby, good for
morning coffee and simple breakfast.

The location is useful (100m from train station), especially when you oversleep like me and
then you have just 10 minutes to catch your train.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rbbrno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Unlike its own publicity, this is not a 2 star hotel offering 3 star value - it is a 2 star hotel with 2 star facilities. The rooms are very basic with 1960's MFI style furniture and the whole place could do with a major refurbishment. In the case of the Acquaverde, you only just get what you pay for.
The hotel is also located on a very busy street and the front rooms will be noisy.
On the plus side, the location is good (100 yards from the bus to the airport and 10 minutes walk from the centre of town), the bed was really comfortable and the staff were excellent - uniformly friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Via Balbi will be noisy - there is no soundproofing of any kind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2013

we took a 2 room appartment in the 4th floor and decided to spend one more night in Genua. Very good service, free internet and near port, railway and the buzzing center of Genua. Both room have TV and A/C. One has a fridge. The view is a boring backyard, but we can dry our clothes on a special italien transport line :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foolunderthehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We booked this accommodation under the impression it was a 'shared facilities double room'.

Be prepared to share a disgusting 1 bathtub/toilet (all in one room) with an entire floor of 10 rooms (i.e. 20 people) and handover €18 along with your car keys to an attendant in a parking garage 5 minutes away (i.e. consider any rental insurance null and void).

It was centrally located and with relatively clean/functional double rooms but honestly....20 people and one bathroom/toilet is simply despicable.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTravellerSydLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Genoa hotels

Plovdiv, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I will start with the positives, as it's only one - location - proximity to the railway station, about 3 min walking, easy access to the main sights of the city, near the port. Be aware of the neighbourhood. Just two blocks below the hotel it seems to be a criminal area....
All the rest is very very disappointing! Firstly, when we arrived we were given a double room, providing that we asked for a twin room. I informed the reception, he said we book a double room, so it was our mistake. I reminded him that I wrote an e-mail explicitly listing this detail, but he said they were fully booked and there was no chance to give us another room, so my last desperate request was to to give us an extra cover, as there was only one double cover for both of us (I travelled with a friend). He said he would send someone to check it out. A guy came into our room in about 5 minutes, he barely spoke English we explained again what the problem was,he said :OK, OK and that was all. n the evening there was another guy at the reception desk. We asked if we had been given an extra cover, he said: "I think so, I hope so..." That was the "professional" answer we got. Of course, we were not given an extra cover until the end of out 3-day stay. I got exhausted of asking the same things over and over again. I know it's know a tragedy, we are still alive after using the same cover, but what we hated the mots was the ignorance of the staff and the fact that they did NOTHING to comfort us!
It was not only the staff, but the rooms were so dated and gloomy, the en-suite bathroom was actually "built-in" the room as the building is old and probably there was no other way to build a bathroom, but the walls were made of something like cardboard and some water went into the room itself.
The breakfast was average, nothing special - lots of jam, croissants, coffee, tea, etc. We went only once and preferred going to some of the cafeterias in the neighbourhood instead of paying for it.
On the whole I would NOT recommend the "hotel" to anyone. It's rather a hostel, not a hotel. I wonder who gave it 2 stars...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alessandrina79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

The rooms are ok, nothing fancy but they do the work. The staff is awesome! Super helpful! They took the time to explain everything to us! Gave some valuable recommendations that made us enjoy our trip even more! We use it as a base for day trips to Santa Margherita and Cinque Terre! Hotel is 2 blocks from Genova Principe Station. Really convenient if you are daytripping or carrying lots of stuff. Hotel is a 7 minute walk to city center and close to gelaterias, pizzerias and restaurants. If you are backpacking and want a little rest from bunk beds, this is your place.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnstonVictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Hotel Bernheof
#76 of 92 in Genoa
76 reviews
Righi
Mini Hotel
Mini Hotel
#75 of 92 in Genoa
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Galata
#62 of 92 in Genoa
135 reviews
Hotel Bellevue
#47 of 92 in Genoa
235 reviews
CIT Hotel Britannia
#26 of 92 in Genoa
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acquaverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acquaverde

Property: Hotel Acquaverde
Address: Via Balbi 29, 16126, Genoa, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 92 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Acquaverde 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Acquaverde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acquaverde Hotel Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing