We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and practical”
Review of Hotel della Posta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel della Posta
Ranked #53 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
london
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Location and practical”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The hotel is well situated for the Port, Station and City Centre
Rooms not big but clean and bed comfortable.
Minimalist breakfast in the downstairs area
There are some fabulous restaurants in Genoa and its worth using the ones not in the immediate vicinity of the hotel.
Small bar downstairs.
Friendly and professional staff running the hotel

Room Tip: Book a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quarterj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    46
    35
    9
    4
See reviews for
42
36
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Well situated hotel - not luxury but clean rooms with view of Main Street

friendly and helpful staff
Little area to have a drink, no opportunity to sit around
Breakfast served downstairs - functional and lacking choice

Room Tip: Go for a room overlooking the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jewelleryq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Hotel is around 5 min walk from train station Genoa PP (having good connectivity to cinque terre & camogli beaches). Aquarium & other tourist attraction are in nearby periphery. Rooms are very clean and morning breakfast was fantastic in italian style. Reception old couple was cooperative and helped a lot for our tourism. Really great value for money we paid.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have great view of ship yard or City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

If you want a hotel exactly where you need to be, this is the place. Right by the train station for the connection to and from Milan. Next to the Palazzo Reale and the university and docks. The area is oozing culture and history, though at night the alleyways behind the hotel (and via balbi in general) become VERY shady with drug dealers. This was a massive shock considering the attractions I just listed.

Hotel is charming and everything you would need. Though we found to our annoyance that sheets were not changed each morning and there were no bath mats in the bathroom (given the tiles on the floor I would seriously suggest they be added as standard to save injury!).

The pricing was typical of Italy where all hotels seem slightly extortionate considering what you get, but this is the market they have to compete in so there's not a lot can be done about it really.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the main street (via balbi), if you are in a room facing the back you may be k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrisLennen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Firstly Genova is certainly full of charm and should be experienced by foot. This Hotel was located close to Stazione Principe, a stones throw away from the port and the historic centre. So much to see in this city.
The staff are helpful, you can leave your bags on check out or even if you arrive early. It was clean and I'd certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: we had a room on the main road, was not too bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amritsar
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

i stayed for one night in this hotel.Nice clean rooms.i paid 50 euros per night.its near train station may b half km and 3 km from Aquario de genoa,one of the attraction of geneo.No tea and coffee maker available and the owner/receptionist are unable to understand English.U have to explain them with finger talks.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rupisces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London,UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

After searching through the many overpriced hotels in Genova (manly due to an exhibition being on at the same time), we found this place offering a reasonable price. It is located close to the Genvoa main train station which is a bonus if you are dragging two large suitcases and a small child. It is also a short walk from the hotel to the aquarium and historic parts of the city. We found the hotel and the two rooms we booked were very clean. The receiption staff were very helpful in finding local restaurants and for helping with breakfast for our 16month old son. Our group was mainly native Italians so I am unable to say anything about their ability in using english. The continental breakfast buffet was very plentaful with lots of choice. So overall we were pleasently suprised how good the hotel was for the price.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kosharn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Galata
Hotel Galata
#60 of 91 in Genoa
139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Agnello D'Oro
Hotel Agnello D'Oro
#41 of 91 in Genoa
224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Balbi Family Hotel
Balbi Family Hotel
#30 of 91 in Genoa
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
CIT Hotel Britannia
CIT Hotel Britannia
#27 of 91 in Genoa
593 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Europa Genova City Centre
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chopin
Hotel Chopin
#14 of 91 in Genoa
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel della Posta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel della Posta

Property: Hotel della Posta
Address: Via Balbi 24, 16126, Genoa, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel della Posta 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel della Posta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Della Posta Nuova Genoa
Della Posta Nuova Hotel Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing