We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty”
Review of Hotel Acquario

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Acquario
Ranked #80 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Beaumont, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nasty”
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Run away! The single room was dingy, nothing worked, and there was dust and hair on floors and furniture indicating that it had not even been cleaned. I arrived late at night, so I felt I was safer staying than leaving on foot to find somewhere else. And that would have been the only option, since there was no internet, and my iphone wouldn't work there, either. If your idea of comfort is sleeping in a bed that smells like a chain-smoking, alcoholic man has slept in it for years, go ahead and stay here.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raboone47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    22
    38
    42
    38
See reviews for
33
55
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2010

We almost stayed at another hotel, but were to glad to have stayed at the Acquario. It was a great location with good security - the people were courteous, and the rooms were clean and orderly. I think as a traveler it was a good deal and I would stay there again. Also, very close by to the hotel is Trattoria Emma - it's amazing food so definitely give it a try!

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hdurant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2008

I have no idea how this can qualify as a 3 star hotel! If your primary concern is having a hotel where the air conditioning works, then okay -- but you'll want the ac in part because if you open the windows, you get the full extent of the stench and noise rising from the street below. The rooms are dark and depressing, overlooking an alley in a very seedy part of town where you'll get the full spectacle of a port city that enjoys its vices.

The rooms are poorly insulated and sound travels through the thin walls, so you'll hear every door opening and closing, every comment made in the hallway, every remark form the reception area.

The worst aspect of this hotel, however, are the staff, who are (with one exception) actively rude and apparently take great amusement from making fun of foreign travelers whom they think won't understand their remarks. Further, they often choose not to put calls through from outside the hotel and many rooms don't get any cell phone signal whatsoever.

In short, DON'T DO IT. For $100 a night or more, there must be better options!

  • Liked — working air condition, English news channel
  • Disliked — the active rudeness of the fascists skinheads at the front desk
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank lwwylam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Genoa hotels

london
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2008

Only stay here if money is a factor. You get what you pay for and this experience was no exception. The hotel is basic but fine for a very cheap weekend away. Don't stay here if you are fussy though!

To begin with, the location details on the hotel's site are inaccurate. We spent an hour looking for it as it is not 'only 500 metres' from the central train station. It was about a mile from it, so if we'd known that, we wouldn't have had to lug our bags around getting lost!

It's not in a salubrious part of town, as two girls on our own, we felt a bit intimidated at night as the streets are reminiscent of Marrakesh's souks – you need a map with you. But this is also part of the city's charm, the narrow alleyways and towering buildings are unique. Also, we came out of the hotel one morning to have to jump over a pile of dog's mess or vomit.

Breakfast is basic, a couple of croissants (not overly fresh) and a dodgy old coffee machine. The tables are packed in so you'll be practically sat on someone. But the main complaint was the desk staff. One evening a different man came round from behind the desk and wouldn't let us leave, he kept offering my friend a shiatsu massage having told us his life story. On checkout day, a different man told us checkout was 11am but when we returned that morning at 10.25 a different man told us 10.30, knowing full well we only had 5 minutes to get ready. Also, no one speaks English, which is fine but make sure you have a phrase book. I think this wouldn't have been such a problem for us but we did have a feeling we were being ripped off from time to time - like when the manager told us our bottles of water cost 2 euros on checkout and then upped it a second later to 3 euros.

We didn't get a twin bedroom either, even thought I specified this upon booking. The toilet/shower room was the smallest one I'd seen and the seat was broken. As I say, you really do get what you pay for!

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ktzoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2006

I stayed at the Hotel Acquario with a group of 18 travellers (some in a double room others in a single room) for three days (25.05. - 28.05.2006). We had to secure our reservation with a credit card but we where really surprised when we were told that the first night stays on the card and the second night had to be paid seperat by each person. The Hotel itself is quite difficult to find and I would avoid going there by car - very narrow (!!) street and no car park nearby the hotel. The location is convenient if you like to stay nearby the "Centro Storico" and the harbour area - with plus (e.g. aquarium) and minus (e.g. people you probably don´t want to meet). At the entrance there is a steep staircase, no elevator and nobody really ready to help with the luggage. The only elevator (max. capacity 2 people with 1 suitcase) leaves from the first floor up to the others. Our room was very small, so was the (new renovated) bathroom. Beds are tiny and the food they serve in the morning I wouldn´t call breakfast. Although the place was quite clean I´m surprised who gave the Hotel Aquario a three-star rating. The rate in a double room was EUR 95,00 per night, in a single room it was EUR 80,00 per night - breakfast included. After all I´m pretty positiv that you will find a better place for your money.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank el_patiperro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Hotel Armonia
#68 of 91 in Genoa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Righi
Mini Hotel
Mini Hotel
#74 of 91 in Genoa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bologna
#33 of 91 in Genoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Righi
Hotel Veronese
Hotel Veronese
#76 of 91 in Genoa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Balbi Family Hotel
#32 of 91 in Genoa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acquario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acquario

Property: Hotel Acquario
Address: Vico di San Pancrazio 9, 16124, Genoa, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa > Righi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Acquario 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Acquario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acquario Hotel Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing