We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Galata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Galata
Ranked #62 of 90 Hotels in Genoa
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Conveniently located hotel”
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Small hotel without frills; location very good-- very near the Principe Main Railway station; waterfront also very near to walk along; free Wi-Fi is a great facility; friendly staff.
TV programs should have few English channels with movies, shows etc
Kebab place very near gives great food.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurenUgale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    36
    38
    22
    19
See reviews for
38
44
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Double bed was 2 single beds put together. No chair in room to relax on. Portable TV. No tea/coffee making facilities (maybe not listed as available). Areas of room needed cleaned.
Breakfast - what breakfast? (two choices of bread and a croissant, two cereal, 1 yogurt, tea coffee). Above all I didn't feel save in my room - especially when my phone rang at 2.30 am and the owner (who only spoke italian) connected me to some italian guy that shouted and yelled t me down the phone. Would not recommend this hotel especially since I know what I should expect from a 3* hotel. Sorry

Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank fishtail11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Genoa hotels

hkmny
Level Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2010

The hotel is located right across the street from the train station. Very friendly staff. The hotel is small, rooms are decent sized. Rooms aren't very modern, but they have wifi in room. A basic place to stay with reasonable rates.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, UK
Level Contributor
479 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We stayed for two nights in April. The hotel is just two minutes walk from the Piazza Principe railway station and about a ten minute walk to the old town.
Whilst staying there we caught the train to Genoa Brignole station and walked back. It's about 2.5 miles and, if you plan your route carefully, encompasses most of what Genoa has to offer.
The reception staff on duty spoke little to no English - although we were offered a map of the city with instructions on where to go in Italian.
The rooms were nicely decorated but there is a fair amount of traffic from the busy road outside.
Breakfast was of the buffet type and the breakfast staff spoke a little more English. There was ham, cheese plus the usual bagguettes, croissants and yoghurts.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skeldergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cagliari
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2009

Galata offers clean rooms close to Principe railway station.
The room I stayed in is a single room, quite tiny (single bed in the middle of the room and only a shower in the bathroom) but clean and with new furniture.

I booked through bookings.com, several months before going there, and it wasn't cheap (90 euros, but it was during the boat show).

The hotel is right acrosso the street from the station.
The staff is nice and kind, the breakfast (included) was quite good.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sibi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2009

The hotel Galata is located in a poor area. Very difficult to find restaurants around it. Not really in the center, you have to walk at least 20 minutes before reaching the historical interesting district.
The welcome was just ok, no smile, not many explanations.
The room was dirty, dust everywhere, toilets and shower not so clean and we had doubt about sheets.
Breakfast was just ok, not more and breakfast has no heater, it was very cold in there.
Sure you can find a better hotel in Genoa.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mooknice06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham U.K.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2008

We chose this hotel as it was convenient for both the airport on arrival and the cruise terminal after our stay. It proved to be an excellent choice both for the convenience and for the comfort of this delightful typically Italian hotel. the owners and staff were extremely helpful,nothing was too much trouble. Room was comfortable and quiet though people staying at the front of the hotel found it noisier. Breakfast was abundant and enjoyable with a good selection of breads pastries meat cheese etc as well as cereals fruit juice and excellent coffee freshly made for each person as requested with as many refills as you liked (and I liked a lot!) On leaving the receptionist called a taxi for us and negotiated the correct price for us. All in all a very pleasant experience

  • Liked — Its situation and totally Italian ambience
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronsann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Chopin
Hotel Chopin
#15 of 90 in Genoa
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
CIT Hotel Britannia
CIT Hotel Britannia
#25 of 90 in Genoa
556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Agnello D'Oro
Hotel Agnello D'Oro
#46 of 90 in Genoa
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel della Posta
Hotel della Posta
#53 of 90 in Genoa
105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Armonia
Hotel Armonia
#70 of 90 in Genoa
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Europa Genova City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galata

Property: Hotel Galata
Address: Via Andrea Doria 4A, 16126, Genoa, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 90 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galata 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Galata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galata Hotel Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing