We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More modern hotel”
Review of Melia Genova

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Genova
Ranked #2 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Trois-Rivieres, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“More modern hotel”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We stay 2 days at this hotel, the room was clean but they shoud change the blind in the windows in room 308 they are in bad shape. There is no sound proffing of the rooms and between floors, we were trying to sleep during the day and the noise from the cleaning staff from room above and beside was terrible, during the night it was quiet, everybody was sleeping, but during the day forget it! We had one meal at the main restaurant, the food was ok but when I was eating I notice insects on the floor (probably ants) it was discusting, they were eating an other bug! The staff was very helpfull for taxi and restaurant (watch taxi they charge all different price ask the price before geting in or ask to run the meter (best) they charge extra for luguages and for the number of person in the cab) the staff was fluent in english.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louis410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    949
    421
    84
    31
    10
See reviews for
268
646
70
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights as my jumping off point for a fairly comprehensive 3 week trip around Italy. Very nice modern rooms, with the most extensive breakfast buffet I have seen....no waffles, if that's your desire. The waiter will make you cappucino's if you don't want the very strong American coffee. The hotel is about a quarter mile walk to the city center, the street is called XX Settembre. The front desk clerks all speak English. Don't bother to take the hotel shuttle from the airport, it's 60 Euros one way and the taxi was 30 Euros. I ate in the restaurant for dinner on one night, nothing spectacular, there is a nice little restaurant around the corner in the side street, and the food is excellent! This hotel is situated in a very nice residential area, and very safe to walk alone. A bonus, there are 5 english speaking TV channels. The most I found elsewhere was 2, usually CNN and BBC.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itchyfeetGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Rooms are very clean and tidy, location is brilliant and they serve a very nice breakfast. It is not at the city centre, which makes it quite and peaceful. If you stayed there don't ever miss watching TV while in the toilet (there is TV screen embedded in the mirror)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AkmalMagdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking UK
Level Contributor
130 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights, on a good nightly rate as a result of being in the MAS loyalty scheme. The hotel is (I think) a converted office building and it has been done very well and stylishly. Rooms are sizeable, with all the amenities you'd expect, though disappointingly, no wi-fi in the room. The bed was comfortable and pillows plentiful. The included buffet breakfast was not the most varied I've seen, but was certainly good enough. My only gripe was that the hot selection was more "luke warm". Coffee on the other hand was piping hot and super strong. Nice! We ate at the hotel restaurant one night and it was excellent. The bar was quiet most nights, but that suited us for a cocktail before bed. Would stay here again - yes.

Room Tip: A few rooms face an inner courtyard, so won't have much of a view I suspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyTraveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I recently stayed at Melia Genova for 7 nights on business. Having some experience with Italian hotels and hospitality, my expectations were low, but were definitely exceeded throughout my stays.

This is a luxury property which has been refurbished to a very high standard. The rooms and spacious and well appointed with huge bathrooms and walk in robes.

I used the gym and spa area every morning and was very impressed with the quality of the equipment and the beautiful pool and spa area - if you're staying here, pack your swimmers, it's very relaxing after a day of either business or leisure.

I didn't eat in the restaurant, I found the room service menu to be limited and very expensive, compared with the excellent pizzeria and restaurant directly across the street, which I ate at a couple of times.

The hotel is within walking distance to pretty much everything you would want to see in Genova, so don't be put off by the location. I would prefer to stay in this luxurious leafy suburb than in the more gritty downtown area.

One negative comment I did have was the unavailability of ironing boards and irons and the utilisation of the hotels expensive ironing service as the only option. I sent 5 shirts to be ironed and they all came back quite creased. I think it was 6 euro per shirt for the ironing. I can claim back the costs of ironing, so the price isn't that important, but you would expect a shirt to be propertly pressed for 6 euro. They weren't and I felt too self conscious to take my jacket off all week, in image conscious Italy.

Overall a great hotel, I will definitely stay here again when I am next in Genova.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelliingaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We recently stayed for three days at the Melia. Room was excelent, spacious and modern. Spa area was good but a bit basic. The same goes for the hotel restaurant. The hotel is 15 minutes away from the shopping area or a few good restaurants (highly recommend Retro). Service at the reception was a bit slow since they definitely need more people, so be prepared to wait for check in/out.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perseus3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We recently stayed at the Melia in Genova and were very, very happy with this hotel! The rooms are big, tastefully decorated and have great light. The bathroom was huge, with both, bath and shower. Since we were traveling with our infant, the staff had a crib ready for us at check-in. Don't miss out on the breakfast either! Delicious hams, cheeses, eggs, fruits, etc. The best part about this hotel was the spa area. Steam room, amazing pool, gym and showers. Really, for what you get, we thought the price was a steal!!

Room Tip: Need wheelchair access, i.e. a little ramp. Would help with families with strollers too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarisaTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Grand Hotel Savoia
#1 of 91 in Genoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,583 reviews
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piccapietra
Hotel Bristol Palace
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Olympia Hotel Genova
#4 of 91 in Genoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Genova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Genova

Property: Melia Genova
Address: Via Corsica 4, 16128, Genoa, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Genoa
#2 Family Hotel in Genoa
#2 Business Hotel in Genoa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Genova 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive Carignano district just steps away from the city’s commercial, cultural and financial centre, is the ideal venue for business travellers and for short holiday stays, also for the entire family. 99 rooms equipped with all the conveniences and immersed in a modern, luxurious setting including the unique Newport Presidential Suite with a private hydro massage tub on the terrace. The Grace Restaurant welcomes guests in a setting of sober refinement. The cuisine combines the flavours and aromas of Liguria with the pleasures of traditional international cuisine. The Wellness Club Azure is equipped by an exercise pool, water jet hydro massage tub, Turkish bath, tropical and mist showers and a fitness area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Melia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Genova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Genova Hotel Genoa
Bentley Hotel Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing