We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful stay in a nice 5 Star Hotel”
Review of Melia Genova

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Genova
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Restful stay in a nice 5 Star Hotel”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We have booked into the Melia Genova for one evening, but the booking was for the wrong (next) night. (7 weeks of holiday and this was the only mistake)They made no fuss about changing the booking (though it had to be done on-line thru the same site I used to make the original booking) We went to the room and once settled in, I used the one hour free wi-fi in the rooms to change the booking. After that hurdle, everything went as expected. We were very glad that we stayed the additional night in Genova.
Dinner is served in the bar which has a cosie atmosphere. The breakfast room is a separate area and slightly confusing as when you enter it is not obvious how the breakfast works as the buffet is hidden out of view.
Free Wi-Fi is available in the lobby. Rooms are neat and modern. The hotel is located within walking distance of the old town and Christopher Columbus House.
The exterior of the hotel is not what I would have expected(very dark, with bars on the windows), but the interior is crisp modern. The taxi driver had no issues finding it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WackyDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    974
    425
    85
    32
    10
See reviews for
276
664
70
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
milan
Level Contributor
212 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

I usually like the Melia hotels, but this was my first time at Melia Genoa. I believe this is one of the better Melias. Nice and efficient reception, good room. I had a first floor room with a view of the street. One hears some sounds of the street, but it was very limited. Good bed and good and very clean bathroom.
Breakfast was decent.
Location is decent; 10minutes walk to the old port and 10minutes walk to the station. Nice and relaxed area.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srm_56347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middelburg, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2012

The hotel exceeded our expectations. We watched through three large and sunny windows the goings on of the people of Genova from the serenity of our quiet room on the 5th floor, while we were surrounded by stylish luxury, and refreshed ourself in a spotless bathroom with plenty of towels, in which all amenities really worked.
Breakfast was plentiful, and--- unique--- all food was rated for caloric content.
A more than professional front desk staff helped us often with all manners of things, such as directions in the city.
Having stayed in three tophotels in Genova on three trips, we can compare. This one was really tops.

Room Tip: Try to get the corner room on Via Corsica, on the highest floor.It is large and sunny and has great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johannes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Laurent du var
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We went to melia genova for a short WE trip ans really enjoyed this lovely trip and charming hotel. Very professional and kind staff.... We strongly recommend !!
The spa was highly welcome for us since we were expecting good time and rest...
Very modern hotel with high level services and equipments...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bianca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Nice service, great guys in hotel bar&restaurant. Go for deluxe room, much bigger & better, worth the difference. Although a few steps further from centre, very classy and worth it. Dining ok, although drinks a bit pricy. Parking pricy as well, worth checking out if there is public place near by.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magit5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

This is a modern hotel with spacious rooms - loads of storage (always welcome when travelling with a family), very comfortable beds, and tea and coffee making facilities in the room which is unusual in Italy but very welcome. The staff were very friendly and helpful, breakfast was good and dinner in the restaurant was excellent. The hotel is in a leafy location a little removed from the centre. It is about a 15-20 minute walk in to the historic centre, so not good if you want to be in the heart of things, but much quieter.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mosquito Magnet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Very good luxury hotel for very reasonable money. No complains at all.
Room, food, service on highest level. Location is good as well. Definitely
my choice in Genoa.
Much more than I expected for such reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xMIGx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Grand Hotel Savoia
#1 of 92 in Genoa
2,620 reviews
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piccapietra
Hotel Bristol Palace
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
NH Genova Centro
#8 of 92 in Genoa
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Genova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Genova

Property: Melia Genova
Address: Via Corsica 4, 16128, Genoa, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Genoa
#2 Family Hotel in Genoa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#2 Business Hotel in Genoa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Genova 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive Carignano district just steps away from the city’s commercial, cultural and financial centre, is the ideal venue for business travellers and for short holiday stays, also for the entire family. 99 rooms equipped with all the conveniences and immersed in a modern, luxurious setting including the unique Newport Presidential Suite with a private hydro massage tub on the terrace. The Grace Restaurant welcomes guests in a setting of sober refinement. The cuisine combines the flavours and aromas of Liguria with the pleasures of traditional international cuisine. The Wellness Club Azure is equipped by an exercise pool, water jet hydro massage tub, Turkish bath, tropical and mist showers and a fitness area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Melia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Genova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Genova Hotel Genoa
Bentley Hotel Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing