We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”
Review of Melia Genova

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Genova
Ranked #2 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This is a lovely hotel with a very peaceful atmosphere and friendly, attentive staff. We had a junior suite which was a great, beautifully appointed space, nicely laid out. We particularly liked the spacious bathroom (GREAT shower) and the electrically operated shutters with a switch right by the bed.

For my taste, the bed was too soft, but as far as the room goes, that is my only complaint - and it's subjective. Pillows were good.

Breakfast was wonderful, with a great choice of foods and drinks.

The only reason that my review isn't five stars is that that bed was never made quite right; either the bottom sheet did not quite reach my side to tuck in, or it didn't reach my husband's side to tuck in, or it didn't reach the bottom of the bed. A minor niggle, perhaps, but irritating.

Room Tip: Junior suites are very spacious with plenty of storage space for clothing and a large bathroom with...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaGenova, Guest Experience at Melia Genova, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Judy S,

Thank you for choosing the Melià Genova and for sharing you experience with us. Our Staff makes a daily accurate check of the rooms status and of the correct functioning of all equipment to make sure they satisfy needs and expectations of our Guest. However, sometimes it may happen at speially high-periods of occupancy.
That we regrettably full short. You comments are very important , as they help us to review and improve our services.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Laura Apuzzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,605)
There are newer reviews for Melia Genova
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

338 - 344 of 1,605 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

Beautiful hotel, wonderful staff, large, clean, spacious rooms, comfy bed and pillows and very large bathroom. The staff was amazing. The location is less than thrilling, but worth the extra walking time into town.
Little anecdote, me and my girlfriend went on New Year's eve with no reservations for New Year's Eve dinner. Around 6pm, we tasked someone at the front desk to find us a reservation. That woman worked her butt off for us cause in the end it took her well over an hour to find us something. And it ended up being a great place! Thank you Melia staff in Genoa! You are wonderful!

Room Tip: We were on a courtyard side can't remember the floor, but got the standard room, lowest price. I...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaGenova, Guest Experience at Melia Genova, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Kimberly J,

Thank you for choosing the Melià Genova and for sharing you experience with us. We would like to thank you for the nice comment and words you dedicated to all our Staff. We are delighted to know that you appreciated the quality of the services and professionalism of our team.
Our most heartful thanks for your lovely feedback. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards.

Laura Apuzzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

A delightful, modern hotel in a quiet area yet only 15 minutes walk from the centre of Genoa. Staff are first class as are the service and available facilities. An excellent breakfast to start the day with good bar/restaurant facilities for lunch time or evening if needed. We had a Junior Suite on the top floor and I would recommend this if it is within your budget. I would say there again if visiting Genoa

Room Tip: Top floor and a Junior Suite
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HJardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaGenova, Guest Experience at Melia Genova, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Hjardon,

Thanks for choosing the Melià Genova and for sharing your comments with us. The location conveniently, very near the historic centre. Thank you very much for the compliments about our Staff. For the breakfast the Chef looks for the freshest produce daily. Our most heartful thanks for your lovely feedback.

Sincerely,

Laura Apuzzo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at the Melia in Genoa for the weekend, a holiday trip to celebrate my birthday. Hotel was excellent, in particular also the friendliness of all the staff (Andrea at the front desk in particular). Nice thing about Genoa is that the city is not overrun by tourists and the food is excellent (pasta with pesto genovese is superb and the hotel recommended some nice trattorias close to the hotel). Good features of the hotel are the minigym (with proper Technogym equipment) and the small but nice indoor pool. Breakfast buffet is good, in particular for Italy. Rooms are a decent size, beds are a bit firm, but that is more a personal taste/preference rather than the beds being uncomfortable. Bathrooms are nice. Hotel comes highly recommended when in Genoa and offers value for money too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Show_me_the_miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Fantastic hotel with exceptional service. Rooms extremely well appointed. Location enables healthy walk to port area. Fantastic views over city. We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. It will not disappoint.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaGenova, Guest Experience at Melia Genova, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Strallan,

Thanks for choosing the Melià Genova and for share your comments with us. Thank you very much for all compliments that you have paid. We always try to be the top to be able to satisfy any request that may be asked of us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Laura Apuzzo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The hotel is with no doubt the best choice you can make in Genoa.

Facilities, service and staff deserve the recognition as a reference about how a hotel should be. Indeed Meliá should be proud of having such a hotel.

Rooms provides everything a traveller may need. Quietness, comfort without extravagance.

Location is also an asset. So overall, great stay in genoa

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Jaime G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaGenova, Guest Experience at Melia Genova, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Jaime G,

Thanks for choosing the Melià Genova and for share your comments with us. We would like to thank you for the nice comments. We are thrilled to see that we surpassed your expectation, our Team will be delichted to know that you appreciate our professionalism. It is a pleasure to hear that our services have been during your stay.
Hoping to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future.

Best Regards,

Laura Apuzzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Melia hotels are terrific, and the one in Genoa is no exception. The staff was very friendly and professional and the décor of the lobby and rooms was lovely. Breakfast was excellent! The location is in an area of old buildings with great views out over the city. You will love this place!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiHaoToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Grand Hotel Savoia
#1 of 91 in Genoa
2,727 reviews
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Genova Centro
#9 of 91 in Genoa
501 reviews
Piccapietra
Hotel Bristol Palace
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Genova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Genova

Address: Via Corsica 4, 16128, Genoa, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Genoa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#2 Family Hotel in Genoa
#2 Business Hotel in Genoa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
Price Range: £108 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Genova 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive Carignano district just steps away from the city’s commercial, cultural and financial centre, is the ideal venue for business travellers and for short holiday stays, also for the entire family. 99 rooms equipped with all the conveniences and immersed in a modern, luxurious setting including the unique Newport Presidential Suite with a private hydro massage tub on the terrace. The Grace Restaurant welcomes guests in a setting of sober refinement. The cuisine combines the flavours and aromas of Liguria with the pleasures of traditional international cuisine. The Wellness Club Azure is equipped by an exercise pool, water jet hydro massage tub, Turkish bath, tropical and mist showers and a fitness area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Genova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Genova Hotel Genoa
Bentley Hotel Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing