We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Cozy”
Review of Ostello Tramonti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ostello Tramonti
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Myvatn, Iceland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice and Cozy”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This is a small village a little out of Riomaggiore, if you arrive in the evening it can be difficult to get up there but the hostel offers to pick you up (on a certain schedule) for free!! 
   The hostel is cozy and has a nice common area on the second floor. The rooms were nice and clean, the staff was very good but the wifi wasn't the best. 
    Cinque Terre is however a must if you go to Italy and this a good cheap place to stay not to far from one of the main towns.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllaB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    27
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
14
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The hostel is a great base for exploring cinque terre and the surrounds. We felt really well taken care of and the owner and staff went out of their way to help us wherever possible. The rooms were clean and spacious with big lockers. There was also good cheap coffee and croissants available for breakfast. The shuttle service was really convienient and they really helped us out on the days the public buses weren't available. The hike from the hostel to Porto Venere was one of the highlights of our trip. Highly recommend

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lazylama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Showers could have been cleaner and there were only 3 outlets in a 4 person room. The shuttle service is convenient though and they offer cheap laundry service. Staff are not so knowledgeable. Food at the hostel was reasonably priced however I did not have any.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay in this functional, clean and well run hostel.
A few things to remember:

The WiFi is non existent in the rooms and common areas (only outside and by the reception).

If you dont get the shuttle supplied by the hostel (from Riomaggiore for €1), you will have to get a taxi from La Spezia which costs €20.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ronni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gurgaon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This is a very clean and organized hostel. Although it has its rules, I would recommend it to people who don't want to stay in Cinque Terre but a little far (20mins) to enjoy the hillside beauty. The hostel provides pick and drop facility and the owner is very sweet too. Biasa is a lovely Italian town!

Room Tip: Take a corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ishita_florence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

1. Free parking - parking is otherwise little difficult to arrange in Cinque Terre
2. Shuttle services to the nearest village in CT (Riomaggiore)
3. A good wi-fi
4. There is only one restaurant in the village, but its' quite good.
5. Very beautiful location, on the hill top. A 5 mins walk from the hostel opens up beautiful panorama

Good deal of facilities for given price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandeep-Ajanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This is a basic hostel but well located in terms of visiting Cinque Terra. They offer shuttles to the Cinque Terra villages but you have to book one day ahead. Also, the last shuttle is around 10/10:30am so if you arrive later then you will need to make your own arrangements. It is pretty clean and offers free Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KinseyMulhone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
2.2 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 22 in La Spezia
299 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Ghironi
Hotel Ghironi
#9 of 22 in La Spezia
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#8 of 22 in La Spezia
301 reviews
2.6 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 22 in La Spezia
1,032 reviews
2.3 mi away
Albergo delle Spezie
Albergo delle Spezie
#6 of 22 in La Spezia
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ostello Tramonti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ostello Tramonti

Property: Ostello Tramonti
Address: Via Fabio Filzi 110 | Biassa - Cinque Terre, 19133, La Spezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 68 Speciality Lodging in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WINNER Most Improved Hostel Worldwide 2014!!! Ostello Tramonti is situated in Biassa – an ancient town set in the lush green hills that surround the gulf of Poeti (Golfo dei Poeti). Biassa is the gateway to the breathtaking coastline of Cinque Terre and to the many pathways that cross the hillside. Cinque Terre is accessible from the hostel by foot or we offer a shuttle service. The hostel is also very close to the city of La Spezia (5-10 minutes) and to Portovenere (5-10 minutes). Ostello Tramonti is the cheapest accommodation in an expensive area and was the highest rated hostel in Cinque Terre on HostelWorld last year! We opened to guests in April 2002 and have since hosted thousands of visitors from around the world. We have 14 rooms with 4 beds in each as well as one double room – a total of 58 beds. Both floors have bathroom and shower facilities. All parts of our hostel are accessible by wheelchair, including bathroom and shower facilities. Ostello Tramonti is especially suited to large groups. For people that are travelling with their own form of transport, there is free parking available. Ostello Tramonti has a restaurant and bar on site where delicious meals are prepared from scratch by our Italian chef for very reasonable prices. The property boasts a large terrace and garden area, as well as a lounge room with books to read, TV and DVDs available to watch and board games to play. Free WiFi is accessible throughout the hostel and we have computers available for guests to use that are also connected to the Internet. We also have a public phone and washing machine available to guests. Our multi-lingual receptionists will be happy to answer any questions you may have as well as give you information on the hiking paths, sightseeing, activities you can do in the area and getting around Cinque Terre. We offer an efficient shuttle service from the hostel to Riomaggiore - the first village of Cinque Terre. From the shuttle, you can admire the first part of the coastline, with spectacular views from the road. The journey takes about 8 minutes and costs only 2 € per person (return) OR FREE IF YOU STAY 3 NIGHTS OR MORE!! The shuttle bus runs numerous times from the hostel to Riomaggiore in the mornings and from Riomaggiore to the hostel in the evenings. The Ostello Tramonti shuttle can be booked at reception. Between 14th March and 1st November, there is also a public bus service from the hostel to Riomaggiore. From the hostel, you can hike to Riomaggiore and to Portovenere (a gorgeous town by the sea) with stunning views along the way. A touristic tax of 1.50 € per person, per night applies. We'll pay for you from the second night of your stay! Please read the information carefully before booking, including how to find us! ATTENTION PLEASE! TIMETABLE: Check in: after 2 pm Check out: until 10:30 am Curfew: 1 am Lock out: 10:30 am to 2 pm CANCELLATION POLICY: We accept cancellation or modification of your booking by e-mail only (not by phone) 48 hours before your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Ostello Tramonti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing