We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's Not To Like?”
Review of Albergo Venezia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo Venezia
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
San Pedro, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What's Not To Like?”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We were looking for a hotel in La Spezia so we could tour Cinque Terre and we found this jewel of a hotel. First of all, the price was inexpensive compared to most of the lodging we've had in our travels in Europe. Secondly it is two minutes from the central train station. Also one half block from the hotel is a self service laundry that we needed since we were running short of clean underwear.
The hotel is spotless throughout. The owner is very accommodating and answered all questions and provided us with necessary information. Although I never saw him crack a smile, he was at all times courteous and always greeted us with a hello when we entered his cozy and well decorated lobby.
The breakfast was the usual fare like in most European hotels and it was brought to our table by a friendly and efficient attendant who made one great cappuccino. Although our room was on the small side, it was a lot bigger than any cruise ship stateroom I've been in. It was spotless and comfy and we had a balcony facing the busy street. To further drown out any noise from the busy street, there is a roll down barrier.
If there might be one drawback it probably would be the free parking. When we drove in there was a open spot right in front of the hotel where it stayed parked for the duration. I did however see a barricade in front of two other spots so call and ask and he'll probably hold one for you. Needless to say, I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank williequin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    47
    30
    11
    4
See reviews for
8
59
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We travelled to La Spezia by train with no planned accommodations. We knew we would be staying there for two days and hoped to find a reasonable hotel when we got off the train. We headed down the street from the train station and found this hotel very quickly. We spoke with the man at the front desk that others seem to find "unfriendly" but we certainly had no issues. Matter of fact he even offered us a tour of the hotel/room prior to us making a decision if we wanted to stay there. We quickly accepted and were quite pleased with our choice. It was walking distance to everything we wanted to see, and most importantly very close to transit. Breakfast was nothing exciting, so a trip to the grocery store was required, but that seemed to be the case at all hotels in Italy! Luckily there are lots of restaurants nearby. Although nothing fancy, this was a great middle of the road type hotel that served its purpose for us.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cowboyjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in October. The hotel is just 100 metres from train station and very close to La Spezia pedestrian area. We were welcomed by a very sad looking man (think he was the owner) who spoke good English and was very helpful when ever we asked for his advice. We were given a quiet/medium sized room on the second floor with a good sized functional bathroom. Room was done clean every day and towels changed. Though hotel is very next to train station our room was very quiet due to the double glazing windows. The only noise came from our neighbours next door who sometimes kept their TV on high volume. Breakfast was very poor with biscuits instead of fresh bread, cornflakes, yogurt, just 1 croissant, jam/butter, no cheese or ham, juice and 1 cup of coffee/tea. Hotel kept our luggage till evening.
I recommend this hotel for a short stay.
On our first day we visited the beautiful Cinque Terre. We bought the Cinque Terre Train pass from station, these cost us 12 euro each for a day limitless train travel from La Spezia to the Cinque Terre villages and price also included the free shuttle buses to the tops of the villages.
On our last morning we walked through La Spezia pedestrian streets and its well organised open air market. In the after noon we took bus to the picturesque fishing village of Portovenere. This village is a must visit while in La Spezia, it takes only 25 minutes by bus.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cajetanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Highly recommendable hotel. Very very clean and enjoyable. Easy access to station and town centre. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely and considered the best cappuccino we had in a long time.
Highly recommend this hotel. Great value at €85 per night including breakfast.

Room Tip: Lower floors have access to wifi as top floor does not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfiero1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
174 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We paid €85 a night for our two night stay and the location was ideal for our Cinque Terre and Portovenere day trips. The hotel is literally 70 metres from the train station and a short walk to the heart of La Spezia shopping district. In peak season this was great value for money and perfect for our needs.

The rooms were basic, breakfast was average and the guy on hotel reception gave the impression that he did not really want to be there and provided us with the bare minimum service. However, as previously advised, for our purposes and during peak season, we can't complain.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kylie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otaki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I have been to this Hotel three times and it is comfortable,great room rates and very close to all services.I highly recomend it,breakfast is very good too.The staff are lovely and very friendly.I no it's not "Cosher" but they do have a floor for smokers too.Very nice outlook over the main street and to the side--garden.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poodlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

After a long train trip Hotel Venezia was a welcome relief. Located only a few minutes walk from the railway station it was convenient, clean, fresh and surprisingly quiet. The staff were friendly and helpful, and willing to speak to us in English and to accommodate our attempts to communicate in Italian as painfully bad as they were. The location was also close to the main township and a range of cafes and restaurants as well as the marketplace. We stayed for three nights, and every night it was relaxing to come back in and be greeted with our keys waiting for us. The staff quite obviously knew their guests and how their trip to La Spezia was progressing. I found this personalised touch very special. The breakfast cafe was lovely and the charming young man on duty did everything to make sure everyone got what they wanted. The blood orange juices were quite wonderful. Thanks Venezia.

Room Tip: Be very specific if you want a double room to mean a double bed. This can be lost in translation bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#8 of 22 in La Spezia
301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 22 in La Spezia
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#4 of 22 in La Spezia
558 reviews
0.6 mi away
Albergo delle Spezie
Albergo delle Spezie
#6 of 22 in La Spezia
224 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Nina
Villa Nina
#13 of 22 in La Spezia
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Venezia

Property: Albergo Venezia
Address: Via Pietro Paleocapa 8, 19122, La Spezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Venezia 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Albergo Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing