We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay before visit to the Cinque Terre” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Birillo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Birillo
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Certificate of Excellence
La Spezia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good stay before visit to the Cinque Terre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

The hotel provided us with a convenient stop before our trip to the Cinque Terre. The room was simple but modern and efficient. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful with any queries we had. The breakfast was varied and of good quality.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank christuckerrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you!!!
Happy that you liked your stay here
and that you found practical to get around here
Wait for you here again =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    263
    60
    19
    10
See reviews for
79
238
60
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, Holland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

The owner is extremely friendly, cute and almost humble. The room I had was an average size, very clean but with a very small bathroom. Okay for a few days though. Location is excellent, short stroll from the train station and harbor. Quality wise breakfast is miles better than in any other small hotel I've ever stayed, just don't expect the diversity of a large chain hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutch82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Well, thank you so much, that's what I try to explain everytime
Even if the rooms are very nice, and we always try to give the best service, it's not a luxury five stars
But if you'd like to visit us again, things have changed a lot, you can't imagine how much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

This was a very nice little stop on our self drive tour of Italy.

The owner had only taken over the hotel about six months prior, and was doing a lot of little fix up jobs about the hotel. That said, she gave us the choice of two rooms, and we ended up selecting the smaller but nicer "Green" room that is used on a lot of the advertising material. It is a compact room, but suited our needs well. The owner was very hospitable, offering plenty of local advise, and nothing seemed to be a problem.

The hotel is within easy walking distance of the fresh produce markets, and also the main shopping and restaurant area in town. When driving be aware that the hotel is on a one way street, which may effect how you approach it, but it is well within the capabilities of a GPS / Satnav. Similarly It is also easy to navigate by car to the Cinque Terre and return from the hotel.

As mentioned, you need to book one of the two car parks at the front of the hotel. We travelled in winter, so getting one of the car parks was not a problem. There is no charge for this, but it is a first come first served allocation.

Wifi is also free, and easily accessible.

The breakfast was very good for a small hotel, and it was very nice that the hotel manager was supporting local food producers. She was able to tell us who or where most of her breakfast offerings where sourced.

Overall we where very happy with this small hotel, and we would have no problem staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you so much
very nice what you said
We improoved rooms and services , long time passed, and now, we would like to invite you here again to show you our news ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We have stayed in Birillo in April 2013 and even now I have very warm feeling recalling this hotel. Very nice people, very tasty breakfast, very clean. Location is excellent, 10 min to the harbor and 10 -15 min to the train station. Very close to the local market where you can buy local cheese, meet, vegetables. We were thinking to use La Spezia only as our base for CT, but were "lucky" to get Italian railway strike for the whole day. So we were walking in the city the whole day until the strike was over and like La Spezia very much. We are thinking to come back in the next 2 years and I would definitely stay in Birillo. Yes, it is only 2 star hotel, and if you keep this in mind and would not expect 5 star instead, you will enjoy your stay in Birillo!

Room Tip: Ask about renovated room, it is on the first floor, but it is actual second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Virma_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you so much
Now that you know La Spezia and Birillo, you can't not come back
We wait you here for sure
If we can, we will let you live an experience which will be even better =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

An excellent hotel close to the centre of town, with easy access to Portovenere, Cinque Terre, and the Islands.

The rooms are spacious and clean. Some of the rooms are a bit dated decor wise but the hotel is being renovated by the new owners, the remodeled rooms look very nice.

The breakfast was excellent with lots of home cooked cakes and desserts, the wifi was available with a strong signal even on the second floor without problem.

An excellent place to stay and we would go again.

Room Tip: Ask about a renovated room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul_Roberts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Hi!
Now almost every room is renovate, so you can easily have one
It would be nice if you could come again to visit us, it will be a pleasure and you could see what we have done right now
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kfar-Saba
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

The hotel manager is very attentive and friendly, her advices are very helpful. Hotel convenient location between the train station and the port. There is a small hotel parking for 2 cars - it is recommended to book in advance. Good internet, a great breakfast. The room is clean but the mattress was not very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ShKfar_Saba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Hi
We appreciated that you enjoed your stay, despite the materass ( it was knew, maybe that's why it was a little bit hard)
Please visit us again =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba- Paraná- Brazil
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

What a wonderful staying ! Nadia, the manager, is perfect. The room is clean, the breakfast is very nice, the internet works great and fast ( to be honest the best I've found during my staying in Italy) Besides giving us( My wife , my daughter and myself) a warm reception Nadia also helped us a lot with tips regarding parking, places to go and the city attractions. I felt that she is always ready to help you in order to have a nice staying and feel yourself at home.

Room Tip: Feel at home
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackson P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you so much
The service is one of the thing where we want to give our best because we know that every single person is very important
Thank you for everything
Hope you could come back one day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
0.2 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 22 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#4 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#9 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Ghironi
Hotel Ghironi
#8 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Birillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Birillo

Property: Hotel Birillo
Address: Via Dei Mille 11-13, 19121, La Spezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Birillo 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Birillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing