We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, convenient location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Birillo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Birillo
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good value, convenient location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Hotel staff, Domenico and Sara were very pleasant and helpful. The bathroom was tiny and there were some noise issues, e.g., doors slamming at times, people talking loudly in corridors. (Not much they can do about that, there are a lot of hard surfaces.) My room was basic but comfortable. I would recommend it as a place to stay for one or two nights. A lot cheaper than Rio Maggiore where I also stayed.

Rob W

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xxx13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Hello!
Thank you for your review
We're sorry if you had some problems with some guests talking loud voice or slamming doors, even if it was lunchtime.
I won't let something like this happen during the night
But we're glad you liked our service
Thank you so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    262
    59
    19
    10
See reviews for
79
237
60
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We used Hotel Brillio as our base for visiting the Cinque Terre. It is reasonably close to the train station - about 1.5km walk, so fine if you have a pack. I think the first night we caught a cab and it cost €10 to get from the station to the hotel.

The rooms are recently redecorated and fresh, and perfectly functional.
May disappoint anyone looking for luxury, but for a base to explore the cinque Terre they were perfect.

The star of the show, however, is definitely the service - Sara went over and above, helping us find a way to get to Florence from La Spezia when the Italian rail system had a strike on a Sunday. She was always willing to help, and spoke great English.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Direttore at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Hello!
I was happy to help when you needed, that strike was terrible!
You're right, here it can be disappointing if you're looking for luxury, but it's quite clear it's not.
You were very nice and I was very happy to give my best for you!
Yes rooms are new and freshly redecorated and it's wonderful to know that you appreciated all our work
Well,we wait for you, maybe without the strike next time ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne,Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

This functional hotel was in a very handy spot to the La Spezia station for our day trip to the Cinque Terre, and excellent value for money. The staff (particularly Sara) were very helpful and efficient, the breakfast was one of the best we've had in an Italian hotel during our extended travels, with home-made cakes and breads and the room was newly decorated. However I wouldn't want to stay here for any more than overnight, and would not recommend it for anyone who is larger than average in height or weight or has mobility issues: The entire bathroom is the size of a small toilet, there is no lift, and our double was actually two singles pushed together, which moved apart with too much movement. This wasn't a problem for us relatively fit middle-aged couple, but could be for others. The rooms were also very close together and not completely sound-proof so this should also be kept in mind for those who are light sleepers. The management and staff are trying very hard, but the hotel is an old one that no amount of redecoration can make bigger or more modern.

Room Tip: There is no lift so those with large bags or mobility issues should try for a room on the first floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Direttore at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Hello!
Thank you for your review, we're happy that you liked the positive things that you mentioned
There are some things that unfortunately we cannot improove, caused by the fact that we're not the owners of the hotel.
Things like the lift, sizes of the bathrooms or insonorisation, are at the moment impossible for us to solve.
But what we're doing is to fix this small problems with the renovations of the bathrooms ( more functional right now), for the fact that we don't have a lift we always ask to carry the bags for you.
Of course, step by step, we'll improove everything
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

The hotel has new owner and they are improving, Sara at the reception was really nice and helpful, the prices was great and the hotel is clean and comfortable... only the bathrooms are really small, but it's worth it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuanGodoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Direttore at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you
we're really happy taht you liked your stay here
We are "famous" for our small bathrooms, but you should see how nice they are right now, people love them, because they're so cure =)
Come back, so you can see :)
We wait for you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Very good location in the city centre. Near from railway station. Friendly and helpfull staff. Tasty breakfast prepared from fresh local food. Good value for money. Perfect base for trip to Cinque Terre. Highly reccommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Bohumila Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Direttore at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you
how are you ?
We're really happy that you liked the place, the location , the breakfast, and thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers
See you soon maybe :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

I really liked the hotel, the service was fabulous and during my stay of one month, I felt like I was at home. The staff is super friendly and the lady (sara) was very kind and helpful. Its a very suggestive hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yogesh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Direttore at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you
are you still in Italy?
I really miss you, you became for me like little brothers
And thank you for teaching me how to make rice with the microwave =)
But, shame on you, I still wait for you here for a coffee break ;)
Please come and visit us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algiers, Algeria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Little charming newly renovated hotel, staff very kind, and the breakfast is fully homemade, fata di casa....
So cosy and calm, very convenient to visit La Spezia and Cinque Terre.
The staff very helpful and she speaks English very well, I do recommend ...

Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Toumache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you very much for your kindly word,

It's always a pleasure to meet people like you.
We are happy that you were satisfied with our work and we really hope to see you again in our hotel so that you can eat more of our breakfast " fatta in casa " .

Again, thank you and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
0.2 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 22 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#4 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#9 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Ghironi
Hotel Ghironi
#10 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Birillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Birillo

Property: Hotel Birillo
Address: Via Dei Mille 11-13, 19121, La Spezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Birillo 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Birillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing