We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When man sanctifies the place”
Review of Hotel Birillo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Birillo
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Sara and Domenico , two excellent hosts! Good location , walking distance of the harbor and the train station, shops and food market close.I communicated to the hotel all our requirements for accommodation and they were considered. Varied breakfast coffee ready for each one , depending on your preference . I received one of two free parking .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MarielaD14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Direttore at Hotel Birillo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Oh thank you Mariela, what a devotion :)
I was very happy when you thanked me and saw your big smile
I also appreciated how you followed us on facebook, long time before your arrival
That made us feel very special for you
Please visit us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (570)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Birillo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

Hotel was clean and tidy but very dated. The hotel is in a handy downtown position and easy walk to the train station to catch trains to Cinque Terre. The hostess wS wonderful and always had a smiling face when asked for assistance. Main nag active was the small shower recess. We liked the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keiron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Direttore at Hotel Birillo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Hi,
thank you for sharing your experience
Yes it's true the building is not new, and as non-owners we can't do anytihng about that, and yes, most of the bathrooms have small showers but we're doing our best to renovate everything in order to make all the rooms as more comfortable as possible
Thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Our family stayed in this hotel for 1 night before going to Cinque Terre. It med our basic needs. Clean. Great value in a popular area. The receptionist, Sara is just the nicest person, very accommodating, warm, and helpful. I think the hotel can be named after her. The place is located very close to the ferry and train stations. The price of drinks at the bar is very reasonable. Great homemade breakfast. I will definitely recommend this hotel to my family and friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PalanggaTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Direttore at Hotel Birillo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Hiii!
I think I had the funniest experience that night
We were 5 people trying to open a bottle of wine, it seemed we wanted to kill that bottle with the knife,so funny with the other english couple... thank you most of all for your positive attitude, it helps, you don't know how much it's so important to have nice people around you, I have to thank people like you if this job is like a dream
Hugs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Very clean and organized place, in a great location! I must underline the treatment that me and my aunt received from the receptionist: she is simply amazing! Very polite, generous, courteous and helpful! Next time I come back in La Spezia I will for sure get a place in the Hotel Birillo!
P.s: they have an awesome breakfast for a reasonable price;

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kauanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Direttore at Hotel Birillo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Oh thank you
Thank you but I'm not that great, of course I do my best, but it's also people like you, so simple so nice, so warm hearted, the best people who can reach our heart, and can understand all the efforts that we're making.
People like you can turn a normal hotel experience in a warm, friendly, family expeerience
Please, since you're studying in Italy, come back very soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Sara and staff made for a wonderful stay. They were kind, helpful and always cheerful. The breakfast treats are 5 star quality. Yummy! Rooms were clean and spacious. We paid less for two 3 person rooms than what it would cost for one 2 person room at other hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 37Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

tHANK YOU SO MUCH ^^
Yes it's true we don't want to profit by "the guest" just because it's season...we try to keep fair prices ( Liguria is not cheap, but if you compare prices and quality in town, we're fair I think)
Thank you for the 5 stars of the breakfast.
Ms cakes will be very happy, she works so hard ^_^
Please come back again we were very happy to have you here

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We came to la spezia to go to the cinque terre and this hotel was a good starting point. Great host, nice room (the bathroom will make you laugh - nothing bad just as you didn't see it before) and you should come anyway for the home made breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anneleen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Yayy the funny bathroom :)
Yes, the designer had a lot of fantasy we were happy that you liked it ( it's unique, an exclusive of your room), it's very nice and new!
Thank you for your company, we had a great time together, you were very nice to us and I really liked your sense of humor ( and thank you for understanding mine :)
HOpe to have you here again, really!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Located in the middle of town, 15 Minutes with luggage from The La Spezia Centrale Stazione.
Breakfast provided was ample for even the heartiest customer, with as much caffe or tea on request. On arriving, we were greeted by Sara, ensuring our baggage scaled the stairs safely. We learnt that recently the Birillo had been taken on by a group of young people, refurbishing as they go. The rooms were bright, recently decorated. Although rated a three star hotel, we thought this hotel gave us bang for our buck, and exceeded the rating. Ideal base for exploring Cinque Terre and surrounds, local fresh food markets and restaurants. We will return.
Marian

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Hey, how are you?
Thank you for the 3 stars, but we have 2 =)
HOw was it in Forte dei Marmi, did you like it?
Yes, yours was one of the last rooms that we redecorated, we're happy you found it nice, and since you stayed 3 nights, you had the chance to try 3 different kinds of breakfast.
Thank you for your words, we really appreciated, and by the way, your italian was excellent
See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.6 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 21 in La Spezia
1,094 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
0.2 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 21 in La Spezia
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#4 of 21 in La Spezia
731 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#8 of 21 in La Spezia
325 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo delle Spezie
Albergo delle Spezie
#7 of 21 in La Spezia
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Birillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Birillo

Address: Via Dei Mille 11-13, 19121, La Spezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range: £66 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Birillo 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Birillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing