We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying with friends”
Review of Hotel Birillo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Birillo
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Like staying with friends”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Hotel Birillo was very central and easy to find. We stayed there five nights. The recently renovated room was charming and comfortable.The breakfast was plentiful and nicely presented.The best thing of all was the warmth and friendliness of the staff.They were always available for help and advice.It felt as if we were staying with friends. We were sorry to leave.

Room Tip: Wifi was available downstairs. Rooms on the street side have some traffic noise, but this is reduce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Direttore at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Hii,
I was sorry the same that you were leaving, it was fantastic, and staying with you and Leslie all together it seemed like to be in Family ( a family of teachers ).
Well it was great and I was happy that the room assigned to you was in your favourite colours.
Someone suggested to call it the marine room or sea room.
Anyway, whenever you'd like to come back, I'll be here with open arms
Grazie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    267
    63
    20
    10
See reviews for
82
243
61
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights to explore Cinque Terre in July 2014. No complaints at all - great location, large room (except the bathroom), newly renovated, okay breakfast and helpful staff. Recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 2nd level as there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halftimeharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Direttore at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you
really happy that your stay here was nice
Hope that you really could come back
Wait for you
see you soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Hotel Birillo was a great place to stay to explore the Cinque Terre. The bonus was the lively, friendly and interesting port city of La Spezia. The staff were unfailingly pleasant and helpful, the rom was clean and modern, just refurbished. Breakfast was excellent and wen managed to park our car outside the hotel in one of their parks. Be sure to book this early. The short walk to the station for Cinque Terre adventures was easy and interesting. A terrific fresh market can be found on the way. Great value for money, we recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms are not air conditioned so ask for this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Angela217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Direttore at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you so much we spent a great time together.
Yes correct, it's important to book the parking in advance! In any case there's the free public parking area 300 meters from us always available.
And thank you for mentioning the market.
It's so fresh and cheap everyday and it's just 50 meters far, it's a great resource
Well, thank you for everything and hope to see you next time :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 3 nights whilst visiting cinque terra. The receptionist is definitely the interface to the hotel, she is there at 7am and leaves at midnight. She is friendly, helps with all enquiries.

The breakfast was a highlight, homemade pastries, coffee, cereals, juice, savouries were delicious!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mitchell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Direttore at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you so much Mitchell, I'm not really here all this time...but most of the time :)
It's important for us to do a great effort and make our best to give you the best service we can...and when we see it's so appreciate, every single step, every effort and every tear is repaid
Happy you liked breakfast
tahnk you sooo much
see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gros-de-Vaud
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

First impression: Good location in the city (ten minutes walk from La Spezia's train station). Then, nice welcome. My room is clean and recently refurbished. The bed is comfortable. Breakfast buffet offers variety (each day new things) and delicious homemade backery. Sara, at the desk, gives perfect tips for dinner and is always very helpful. Well, right, the street is noisy, but we are in the hearth of an Italian city. Do not forget your earplugs and you will sleep well (not many noise from inside the building). The price is surprisingly cheap for such good quality in the peak season (mid-July). No hesitation for my next stay: I will come back!

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished one, before they all are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paracelse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Direttore at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you so much
I'm happy that you had a beautiful stay and that you could share your experience with your friends.
It's the second time that friends who didn't see each other for a long time meet here, and that's erally something special, thank you for sharing all this with me also, and thank you for your smiling everyday, it's not so foregone
Hope to see you again really soon
Bye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Location perfect, 15 min walk from railway station. Free parking in front of hotel was great too. We arrived quite late in the evening but Sara our recepionist was absolutely lovely and also gave us recommendations to a popular trattoria as well as parking directions for the next day. Room was a bit small for 3 people, and the bathroom was cramped but everything was spotless and Sara did warn us about the small bathroom so it wasn't a big deal.

The best thing about this place (asides from Sara's friendliness and helpfulness) was its breakfast. This breakfast was worth way more than the hotel's 2-stars, with a bigger spread than other Italian hotels. The assorted homemade pastries were the highlight of the breakfast, as well as the fresh cappuccino that Sara made us. Overrall a very nice stay, recommended for people looking for a base to visit Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victoriasoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Direttore at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Hello!
Thank you very very much for what you said, you filled my heart.
Of course, we're open until midnight, so as late as I can I wait for youand why not with a smile :)
And thank you for mentioning the breakfast, there's a lady who works very hard for it to make all the cakes the most genuine and tasty she can.
But thank you for the cappuccino as well, glad you liked it .
You were very cheerful and nice to me and hope I can see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Hotel is within walking distance from the Train Station in La Spezia, perhaps 20 minutes? We wanted a place to stay so we can visit Cinque Terre, which its farthest town is only a 20 minute train ride away. We also walked to the Harbour as well. Amazing breakfast with fresh homemade cakes amongst a wide selection of other breakfast foods. Breakfast was not included in our room rate, but it was 5 euros in addition. No elevator, so we had to carry our bags up the stairs. Decor simple. TV in room. Bathroom narrow, but quite clean. Good WIFI service. Computer available in lobby for use as well. Very friendly and young staff. Cannot beat the price! They do ask that you pay the night before you check out. Also, you need to leave your keys when you leave the hotel. We did end up with double bed when we requested twin beds, but otherwise quite comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosyJaywalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Direttore at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Hello!
Thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers
Despite some little things, I understood you appreciate your experience
The distance from the train station is about 10/15 minutes, it can seem longer or harder if you have heavy luggage or sometimes people don't take the best way to come, but we're always available to give informations in advance if needed ;)
Thank you
Wait for you next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
0.6 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 21 in La Spezia
1,075 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 21 in La Spezia
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#3 of 21 in La Spezia
717 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#8 of 21 in La Spezia
310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo delle Spezie
Albergo delle Spezie
#7 of 21 in La Spezia
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Birillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Birillo

Property: Hotel Birillo
Address: Via Dei Mille 11-13, 19121, La Spezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Birillo 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Birillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing