We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Birillo
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
NH La Spezia(La Spezia)
NH Hotels
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Ghironi(La Spezia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crismar Hotel(La Spezia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Nella(La Spezia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Corallo(La Spezia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Genova(La Spezia)
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Mary(La Spezia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Locanda Tramonti(La Spezia)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (593)
Filter reviews
593 results
Traveller rating
216
275
67
22
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
216
275
67
22
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall bathroomcinque terrehome madeperfect stopoverfresh homemade cakestrain stationno liftstar hoteltwo nightsbreakfast buffeteasy walking distanceour honeymoonthe room was nicecoffee machineshort staysarahmultilingual
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 593 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Very good location for train and boat to cinque terre. Very friendly staff. Speak good English. Free parking around the corner. Sweet breakfast and clean just renovated rooms. Small bathroom but nice hot shower. Highly recommended if you don't want to stay in one of the 5 cinque terre places.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sabine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you so much, not enough words to thank you, we are working to make things better everyday, but in the meantime, we 're happy that you like what we offer, because we put all of our hearts in what we do, and it's a great satisfation when people are so nice to us back
Thank you
See you again maybe =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I have been travelling for four and a half months through Europe so far and have not found better accommodation that has such excellent service nor value for money. We were always greeted with a warm smile and hello. The rooms were always clean and fresh. The location was great! In a quiet area right near the markets and a few minutes walk to the train station and also the harbour. The breakfast too was the best I have had in Europe- the food was fresh and there was varied choice as well each morning we were asked if we wanted a hot drink as well and this was made fresh for us! I could not recommend this place highly enough. We stayed here for six nights with not a single issue or worry. I would suggest to stay here for sure on your stay in la spezia or the cinque terre! It will not disappoint.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaclyn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Hello =)
Thank you verymuch for what you wrote, we have you in our hearts.
I think you are the sweetest people we met,so smiling and caring, so beautiful but simple...you too had a big smile and ciao everytime, trying to make things simple for us and it's so sweet that you appreciate every single thing we did.
When I read your review I was about to cry :)
We feel so sad when people like you leave because you have a pure and happy heart and it shows in everything you do, and happyness iscontagious! =)
Best wishes for everything I really would like to see you again.
All the staff with love

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The Birillo Hotel is located in town, not far from either the train station or the marina where one can catch the train to Cinque Terre and/or catch the boat to one of the five towns. It was kind of hard to find at first but that was due to incorrect information from the GPS we purchased. La Spezia is a great little town and staying at the Birillo was convenient for everything we wanted to do. The city square is about three blocks away and there are restaurants and shops galore, all by the way were within walking distance. We parked our rental car in the reserved spot right in front of the hotel and that was in itself priceless. You have to reserve the spot so do that in advance if you plan on having a car in LA Spezia.
Our English speaking hoteliers, Sarah and Domingo were absolutely wonderful to us during our stay. Domingo carried our large bags up to the second floor for us as there is no lift in this hotel.
When we asked either Sarah or Domingo for directions, or what restaurants to visit, or where the laundry could be done, or to chill a bottle of wine for us, both were extremely accommodating. The breakfast was delightful and plentiful and offered fresh pastries, eggs, cereal, toast, breakfast meats, fruit, yogurt and our hosts made cappuccino for the three of us every morning and would happy to make more than one cup for you if you requested it!
The hotel room was small but then again there were three adults in the same room so that was not a concern. The bathroom was totally functional with a walk in shower with everything one needed.
All told, we three travelers from California had a very pleasant five day stay at the Hotel Birillo in La Spezia.

Room Tip: You have to reserve the hotels parking space in advance if you plan to have a car in La Spezia.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimibob115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Direttore generale at Hotel Birillo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Hi ! How are you?
Despite sometimes gps systems have problems with us, we are located in a very good position ( near the center, station dock...) and we're happy that even if the room was not too big for 3 people, your stay was nice anyway.
Of course we go as far as we can to please you and make your stay comfortable.
We always like to do a second cappuccino, this means you liked the first :)
And so, thank you for your nice words for us
We wait for you here again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The service is outstanding - Sarah is very friendly and helpful (she always had a free spot for our car out front). The breakfast was the best that we had through a month in Europe - fresh ingredients over a variety of foods. The location is very good, located near to the town centre and wharf.

Room Tip: The rooms are very clean. The washroom/shower is small but the staff set our expectations up front.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Enjoy-the-outdoors-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Direttore at Hotel Birillo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Wow the best in one month in Europe! Thank you =)
Couldn't expect so much kindness, you and your family were such nice happy people, everbody should face the life with the joy you have inside.
Whenever it's possible, we always keep a parking spot for our guests.
Thank you for talking about the fresh ingredients because it's always hard to explain to people, that what we use to prepare our homemade products, come directly from the countryside, fresh and genuine, that's why they're so different
As you said, you can feel love and passion inside every piece of cake
Hope to see you again really
Thanks a lot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Hotel Birillo was very central and easy to find. We stayed there five nights. The recently renovated room was charming and comfortable.The breakfast was plentiful and nicely presented.The best thing of all was the warmth and friendliness of the staff.They were always available for help and advice.It felt as if we were staying with friends. We were sorry to leave.

Room Tip: Wifi was available downstairs. Rooms on the street side have some traffic noise, but this is reduced by closing the window and turning on the A/C
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Direttore at Hotel Birillo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Hii,
I was sorry the same that you were leaving, it was fantastic, and staying with you and Leslie all together it seemed like to be in Family ( a family of teachers ).
Well it was great and I was happy that the room assigned to you was in your favourite colours.
Someone suggested to call it the marine room or sea room.
Anyway, whenever you'd like to come back, I'll be here with open arms
Grazie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews