We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational Sara”
Review of Hotel Birillo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Birillo
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Penguin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sensational Sara”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The hotel itself is quite old,but is very reasonably priced,clean,quiet and has well appointed rooms.
La Spezia is a great location for exploring Cinque Terre and the MUST SEE Porto Venere. Birillo is in a great location in the centre of town and no more than 15 minutes walk to the station and the Port,where all ferries leave from.The breakfast at Birillo is excellent and varied.The front desk girl,Sara,makes the stay at this hotel very memorable,nothing is too much trouble,she is very capable and efficient and always has a smile on her face,and never seems to go home. She also has excellent eating recommendations.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TassieNoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Wow thank you very nice
Well, let me say that everything is so easy when people are so easy ( I was not the one always witha smile on my face =) )
A smile and a positive attitude makes the difference for us too
A very pleasant experience
Don't go changing :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    267
    63
    20
    10
See reviews for
82
241
61
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

This very friendly and welcoming hotel is an ideal place to stay if visiting La Cinqu Terra. About 5 minutes from the city centre and 11 minutes from the train station, Sarah and Dominca were a mind of information and helpfulness. Car parking might be an issue but we were lucky to get free parking about 4 to 6 minutes from the hotel. The rooms are adequate, bathroom very clean and wifi worked very well.
The carpet on the stairs leading up to the bedrooms needs to be replaced.
Breakfast was homemade and tasty.
La Spezia itself is a busy little city with lots of shops and restaurants.
We would return to this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JimJackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travellers!
We're doing our best to do rooms and bathrooms as comfortable as we can, and in a short time we'll do something for the carpet on the stairs =)
I'm sorry that I couldn't say goodbye the last day
Take care ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Birillo while visiting the Cinque Terre coast, since the location of the hotel is near to the ferries and trains that take you each of the villages. The hotel is definitely a bargain, meaning you get good value for what you are paying. Our room had good AC, a comfortable bed, was clean, and was quiet.

But the best part of our stay was undoubtedly our gracious and charming host, Sara, who served us breakfast in the morning, wished us well as we left for our day, and greeted us when we returned exhausted and ready to retire in the evening. I won't list all of the above and beyond services she provided to my wife and I, so as not to place unreasonable expectations on her by future guests who may read this review, but she was instrumental in putting to rest what could have been a very, very stressful problem for us (a problem related to transportation, not with the hotel) and, as a whole, provided us with exemplary service throughout our stay.

We were sad to go when it came time to check out, and unfortunately had to leave very early in the morning to catch our train. This meant that we would miss breakfast and would be departing before the morning shift host/concierge had even arrived. That morning, up before the sun and on our way out the door, we passed by an entryway table. There sat a plastic bag, neatly cinched closed, with breakfast items for each of us and a thank you/goodbye note from Sara. We were very touched that she was so thoughtful and once we were on the road, we were grateful for the meal!

We would absolutely stay here again upon returning to the region, if only to visit Sara again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Hello Mike & Kate =)
I don't have enough words to thank you and to tell you how I miss you!
Yes, your last night here the three of us, we were very busy but everything ended up well
And this Trenitalia account can be very useful...I can travel around Italy pretending to be you :)
I hope you enjoyed your take away breakfast, not everything was ready, but I gave you what I had..Thank you for replying to my note but...I didn't see the 100euros on the table I asked on my note for the take away breakfast =)))))
If you will be around one day, I will be happy to meet you again !
I will never forget you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We arrived with no booking and Sara was incredibly welcoming. We had a very comfortable room with pleasant decor. Our hosts were fairly new to the business and deserve to be well supported. The hotel had a good coffee machine and they served cold beer, which we enjoyed in the small patio area. Sara had an amazing smile from morning to night and was very helpful. She advised us on parking nearby and local restaurants. The breakfast buffet was delightful. The hotel was located within walking distance of the main shopping precinct and also the train station.

Room Tip: Rooms on front of building have small balcony overlooking the side road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Rob2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you so much for the support!
You were so kind and nice as well, so It's so easy to stay with people like you!
We're so happy that you appreciated all of our services, it's what we eork for, first of all, you're happyness, I would really love to have you here again
Thank you very very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Very good location for train and boat to cinque terre. Very friendly staff. Speak good English. Free parking around the corner. Sweet breakfast and clean just renovated rooms. Small bathroom but nice hot shower. Highly recommended if you don't want to stay in one of the 5 cinque terre places.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sabine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you so much, not enough words to thank you, we are working to make things better everyday, but in the meantime, we 're happy that you like what we offer, because we put all of our hearts in what we do, and it's a great satisfation when people are so nice to us back
Thank you
See you again maybe =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I have been travelling for four and a half months through Europe so far and have not found better accommodation that has such excellent service nor value for money. We were always greeted with a warm smile and hello. The rooms were always clean and fresh. The location was great! In a quiet area right near the markets and a few minutes walk to the train station and also the harbour. The breakfast too was the best I have had in Europe- the food was fresh and there was varied choice as well each morning we were asked if we wanted a hot drink as well and this was made fresh for us! I could not recommend this place highly enough. We stayed here for six nights with not a single issue or worry. I would suggest to stay here for sure on your stay in la spezia or the cinque terre! It will not disappoint.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaclyn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hello =)
Thank you verymuch for what you wrote, we have you in our hearts.
I think you are the sweetest people we met,so smiling and caring, so beautiful but simple...you too had a big smile and ciao everytime, trying to make things simple for us and it's so sweet that you appreciate every single thing we did.
When I read your review I was about to cry :)
We feel so sad when people like you leave because you have a pure and happy heart and it shows in everything you do, and happyness iscontagious! =)
Best wishes for everything I really would like to see you again.
All the staff with love
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The Birillo Hotel is located in town, not far from either the train station or the marina where one can catch the train to Cinque Terre and/or catch the boat to one of the five towns. It was kind of hard to find at first but that was due to incorrect information from the GPS we purchased. La Spezia is a great little town and staying at the Birillo was convenient for everything we wanted to do. The city square is about three blocks away and there are restaurants and shops galore, all by the way were within walking distance. We parked our rental car in the reserved spot right in front of the hotel and that was in itself priceless. You have to reserve the spot so do that in advance if you plan on having a car in LA Spezia.
Our English speaking hoteliers, Sarah and Domingo were absolutely wonderful to us during our stay. Domingo carried our large bags up to the second floor for us as there is no lift in this hotel.
When we asked either Sarah or Domingo for directions, or what restaurants to visit, or where the laundry could be done, or to chill a bottle of wine for us, both were extremely accommodating. The breakfast was delightful and plentiful and offered fresh pastries, eggs, cereal, toast, breakfast meats, fruit, yogurt and our hosts made cappuccino for the three of us every morning and would happy to make more than one cup for you if you requested it!
The hotel room was small but then again there were three adults in the same room so that was not a concern. The bathroom was totally functional with a walk in shower with everything one needed.
All told, we three travelers from California had a very pleasant five day stay at the Hotel Birillo in La Spezia.

Room Tip: You have to reserve the hotels parking space in advance if you plan to have a car in La Spezia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimibob115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Direttore generale at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Hi ! How are you?
Despite sometimes gps systems have problems with us, we are located in a very good position ( near the center, station dock...) and we're happy that even if the room was not too big for 3 people, your stay was nice anyway.
Of course we go as far as we can to please you and make your stay comfortable.
We always like to do a second cappuccino, this means you liked the first :)
And so, thank you for your nice words for us
We wait for you here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
0.2 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 22 in La Spezia
299 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 22 in La Spezia
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#4 of 22 in La Spezia
698 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#9 of 22 in La Spezia
303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo delle Spezie
Albergo delle Spezie
#7 of 22 in La Spezia
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Birillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Birillo

Property: Hotel Birillo
Address: Via Dei Mille 11-13, 19121, La Spezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Birillo 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Birillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing