We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your dog might like it”
Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Aurora
Ranked #113 of 139 La Spezia B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Your dog might like it”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Previously known as Albergo Parma hotel (look it up on trip advisor), it seems nothing has changed but the name and that in itself is a bit suspicious. Having stayed at quite a number of budget hotels, I have encountered many unpleasant ones but this is the worst I've seen. The condition of this hotel could almost be described as squalor.

We were given a reasonable sized room at first. While the bathroom had some hair in the sink and the floor of the room wasn't quite clean, it was okay. However, as we were settling in and preparing for bed the ceiling started to leak, making the bed wet. Lucky we hadn't gone to bed yet. While the Chinese owners couldn't speak much English, they managed to find us another room. Still, we had to pack our bags and move everything. The replacement room was much smaller, with a smaller bed as well. While the first room had a musty smell in the bathroom, the second one smelt horribly of mould. Enough to make you feel sick. Like the first room, the floor wasn't clean and our bags ended up dirty.

While the Italian man who first greeted us was friendly and helpful on arrival, he offered no apology for the problems and refused any compensation.

Do yourself a favour and find somewhere else to stay. If you want somewhere near the station, Hotel Mary looks much better than this one (I haven't stayed there so it may or may not be great either, but from the outside looks much better than this one). This hotel isn't worth the money they're charging or any for that matter. The floors need to be well scrubbed, the bathrooms eradicated of mould and the leaks fixed. Until then this place should be shut down.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeremyMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    1
    21
    18
    49
See reviews for
4
43
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The smell of the old furniture, the noisy, the walls were in a bad condition. the hotel needs urgent a restauration.
The position, close to the train station is the only quality.
It was clean but in a bad condition.
It was better in a camping, than in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliceR72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Spezia hotels

Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Key things are: GREAT location, right next to train station. BAD place to stay more than a night.

Pros
- Great location
- Cheap

Cons
- Old fashioned room with furniture seemingly from an old hospital
- SHARED bathrooms. 2 per floor for 6(?) rooms. In the morning we found puke next to a toilet...
- Receptionist knew little English but was eager to help
- No breakfast. Places available nearby, though.
- "Free" Parking available far away. Only ~15Euro/night parking available right in front of hotel.

Bottom-line, only choose this hotel if you care much about being close to the train station. I'm sure there are better hotels in the area with better conditions only a few mins away.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raduu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Hotel was literally across the street from the La Spezia train station so it made it easy to get into and out of the Cinque Terre. We had a double-bed room and had to share a bathroom with 3 other rooms. Although we were never waiting for anyone, it was only a single-stall, single-shower, restroom that was incredibly small. It is an old building so it may never "sparkle," but it was "clean." Germophobes who really freak out over cleanliness may want to search elsewhere - my wife said it was OK. For what we were paying it worked although we still left feeling like we overpaid a little. No AC which made for a warm night when travelling in the middle of the summer but we were ok. Street and train noise was definitely audible but was able to sleep OK. Good place to stay if looking to go to the Cinque Terre on a budget. Hotel was safe and staff was friendly. Would not pay more than 45 Euros/night for 2 people.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We found alot to like in our humble surroundings. The location is excellent, it is a block from the train station in a cobbled section of town. Our room was very clean with daily maid service. Although the weather was hot every day of our stay, and there was no AC, our simple room with its high ceilings was cool and comfortable. If you require an in-room bath you will be disappointed, but the bagno was across the hall, accessible, ample and immaculate. The desk is very friendly, and were able to direct us to less touristed destinations--like the ferries, islands and beaches of the Gulf of Poets which was beautiful (he told us Cinque Terra is a nightmare in September and was absolutely right). We were very happy with our stay. The price was certainly right.
The down side is that it is on the intersection of two busy streets and we kept the shutters closed at night, as well as the glass, to reduce noise, but we slept well; the hotel itself is very quiet. You are in a basic albergio, in a lovely little sea town, open up a little.

Room Tip: Request an off street room;there is also no lift/elevator, request 1st or 2nd floor accomodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judi070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

very near the station but there is no elevator, dirty bathroom...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mayet47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We booked this hotel in La spezia and it was the most bad thing we could do. The room was dirty, all around was so old and dusty that you could not believe that it can have 2 stars for a rating. The bathroom was so small, that one people hardly can fit there. It was like the room of hell. It does not worth 70 eur which we paid for one night. I will not stay there for free. I think it is better to sleep in the car. There was no air conditioning, all was in dust and seemed very dirty. Moreover, the bathroom door does not closed because it was damaged. Also there was only one window and it was in a direction to the most trafficed la spezia street, so the constant noise disturbed our rest and we could not sleep at all. The only good thing about the hotel is that it is located near the train station. But I do not think that it is worth the price, except if you like dirty, noisy and awful room.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank progys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.1 mi away
Albergo Venezia
Albergo Venezia
#17 of 22 in La Spezia
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#8 of 22 in La Spezia
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Siesta B&B
La Siesta B&B
#105 of 139 in La Spezia
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Levante Blu B&B
Levante Blu B&B
#12 of 139 in La Spezia
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Branda affittacamere
La Branda affittacamere
#48 of 139 in La Spezia
53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Affittacamere Sapore Di Mare
Affittacamere Sapore Di Mare
#85 of 139 in La Spezia
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Property: Hotel Aurora
Address: Via Fiume 143, 19122, La Spezia, Italy (Formerly Albergo Parma)
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aurora 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing