We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place, home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arianna Hill House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arianna Hill House
Ranked #14 of 121 La Spezia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great place, home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

We travelled in Italy on our vacation for 11 days and Arianna`s hill house was definitely the best place we stayed in our entire trip and also compared to previous trips in Italy this place is unbeatable.
The rooms are spacious and clean with beautiful furniture comfortable beds and a terrace with ocean view. You have a lot of privacy, there are 3 other rooms in the premises but each with its own enterance in a different part of the house.
Alessia and Fernando really make you feel at home. They advise you regarding day trips and restaurants with deep caring. Their behaviour and this beautiful and comfortable place makes you want to stay and live there! If you come with a car they advise of a free parking space near the train station of La Spezia. There was a couple there with out a car and I know that Fernando drove them to the train station every day. The train station is about 2.4 km from the house. The house is situated on a hill with a breathtaking view. We are planning on coming back to the house and staying for at least a week. You are close to all the attractions yet a place to relax away from all the crowded touristic villages of cinque terre, and a great base to explore Cinque terre and the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank danandmaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    27
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
75
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

We stayed two nights at Arianna Hill House. Our room was very clean and comfortable with a large terrace with an amazing view! The hosts were very welcoming and helpful. They suggested places to visit, how to get there, where to park, etc. On their suggestion we visited Porto Venere, the first night which was beautiful. Arianna Hill House is the perfect spot to stay when visiting Cinque Terre. It is a fairly short drive up a hill to get to the hotel but once you get there it is totally worth it - much nicer than staying right in La Spezia. We would love to return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PRK_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

If you want a quiet place to stay this is the place for you.

We enjoyed our stay at the B & B, Fernado goes way above customer service, we didn't have a car so Fernado made sure we got down to the train station daily.

There is a lovely restaurant in walking distance that is a must try.

Room Tip: The view from the patio is outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColleenMaitland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

I've come to rely on trip advisor reviews to book our holiday accommodation, so have decided to post one too. Our room was clean, modern and we had an amazing view from our private balcony. We were travelling with our 9 month old daughter and the owners were wonderful to her which was important to us. It was a relaxed atmosphere and they went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. Following a nice continental breakfast, I asked if I could use their kitchen to wash baby bottles & dishes - and when I returned to do so, it was already done for me. There wasn't a baby highchair available, which is always helpful.
Arianna Hill House is a perfect base for visiting Cinque Terre. I should mention that it's up on a hill and most easily accessed by car. We were passing through this region for one night only, but would have stayed longer if we hadn't had other plans booked - it was a short but excellent experience and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolyn024_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

I am one of those people who take advantage of Trip Advisor by using it as a tool without ever contributing to the content in the form of a review. This is the only review I am going to take the time to write with good reason. This was simply the best experience I've had staying over seas. I had read in another review about Arianna Hill House that it is an itinerary killer. Its true. As soon as we got there we booked an extra night.

We arrived on May 16 and were instantly greeted by the kindest people we had the honor of meeting during our 2 weeks in Italy. The hospitality is simply second to none. Alessia and Fernando (husband and wife) welcomed us with open arms and took the time to answer any questions we had with patience. I could not have thought any higher of these wonderful people......and then I broke my foot 5 hours later....ouch....they treated me like I was a member of the family. They offered to cook us a home made dinner so we wouldn't have to go get food and then the next morning drove down to the hospital in front of us so we wouldn't get lost (we didn't ask this of them, they simply offered). I could write another thousand words of the kindness we recieved, from them checking in on us to helping me get ice to offering to give me the needles (circulation) the hospital sent me home with!

Breaking bones in foreign country can be a very scary experience but thankfully we felt like we had help if and when we needed it and that we could ask for anything guilt free.

Aside from all of that. The bed and breakfast is brand new and the rooms are simply perfect and the view brought tears to my eyes as soon as we pulled up. It is almost all the way up a mountain. The view is spectacular. It is also very close to the train station which made it a perfect home base for Cinque Terre.

This is a perfectly lovely and affordable bed and breakfast . Also, they have right down the street from them (walking distance) the BEST restaurant we had been to in all of Italy. Alessia referred it and we ate there twice (well once in the room as take-out because I was broken). Here's the best part - it was 25 euros each and they just kept bringing more incredible food!

If you are reading this Alessia and Fernando. Thank you. I can't say it enough and I wish you all the success and happiness in the world!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAURAMSCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

Fernando and his family made our introduction to Italy a warm and pleasant experience. They could not have been more helpful. This is a lovely property with a magnificient view. The only drawback is the location which is a little out of the city and on a steep hill. There is local bus service to the driveway, but the last 100 meters are a tough slug on foot, so if you are not in reasonable shape or require walking aids you should choose another hotel. There is only one nearby restaurant (walking distance), but it is superb and reasonably priced. If you don't mind the uphill walk, this is a great base to explore the Cinque Terre region.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KootenayTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

Stayed here for three nights September 15 - 18, 2010. This was an absolutely beautiful spot. Our hosts Fernando and Alessia were absolutely amazing. Whatever you needed, they provided. The rooms were very nice and we even sat outside under the canopy one afternoon when it was pouring rain. The view was fantastic. The breakfast was very good. You can go and get coffee anytime of the day or night which is nice. You don't have to disturb anyone to get a coffee. The machine is in the breakfast room. Just help yourself. They recommended two great restaurants for us. One down by the water - a takeout place was fantastic. I never had calamari like that before. I could have eaten another plate. We also had a baked fish with spices on it. That too was excellent. We drove around a bit at first trying to find it, but once there, we had no further problems. We went to Cinque Terre from there and it was very convenient.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2tarbolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#3 of 22 in La Spezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
1.8 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#2 of 22 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
1.5 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#4 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
1.5 mi away
Agriturismo Locanda del Papa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arianna Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arianna Hill House

Property: Arianna Hill House
Address: Via Vecchiora 37/c, 19133, La Spezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arianna Hill House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B Arianna Hill House has of 5 nice rooms with sea view and is situated in a hill in front of our beautiful "Golfo dei Poeti", in an ideal position to reach destinations of national and international tourism, such as Lerici, Cinque Terre, Portovenere and Sarzana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Arianna Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing