We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean, nice location and excellent Price!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel il Gabbiano La Spezia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2012

A nice super-extra clean impecable room with a modern bathroom plus a good filling breakfast for a very decent price!!! You can not ask for more! Well located, you can walk everywhere, the neighborhood is safe and there is plenty of restauants around that are open until very late.
I asked why were nuns around... the answer, there is a consession between the nuns and someone else did I understood? noooo but I did not care, they were not on my business, they were just making sure everything was on place around breakfast time and that the hotel in general run smoothly. I will recommend this place to everybody, I was there with my family and kids plus parking was FREE :)
Ah... just one downsize the reception clerk (an old guy) was very rude and picky and asked us to live our passaports there while he could tape names and etc. That's a No No at anytime! the other clerck in the morning ( a young lady) was very nice and helpful!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cf0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2012

I think the other reviews of this hotel are missing the fact that its a budget hotel in a city.

Having covered France, Italy, Slovenia & Croatia, I looked back and realised that although it is a strange place (heavily religious undertone slash conference centre) to stay, I must give it full marks for being very clean at an affordable price.

The 4 of us could have been lucky but we turned up to La Spezia late on Easter Bank holiday with nowhere to stay. With little understanding of the language and surrounding area, we only wanted to pass through to the Cinque terre.

We found this place, it looks Ok, good location, good price and so booked it. I was even more impressed by the free buffet included as most other hotels in the area were more with no breakfast. If you assume most hotels add on €10 pp for breakfast we had already saved €40.

We were given rooms at the very top and next to our rooms was a nice little balcony so we bought some wine and gazed out at the view towards the bay watching the sunset.

In conclusion, I can't fault this place as it was everything we needed. Safe, clean, location, price.

If you're looking for a holiday hotel this may not suit however.

Hats off to the management & owners for a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Get a room at the top, it has great views from the balconies out in the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank henryboyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

This hotel is located in the harbor area of La Spezia. It is in the main business area. The best of this hotel is the free parking lot, and the nearby streets also have lots space for parking, which was very convinient for us as we drove a rental car. The hotel room was quite large, clean and the price was very reasonable (100 euros for 4 compared 180 euros in Rome and Venice). Walking from the hotel to the train station was about 25 minutes, and was easy as they were main streets. The train from La Spezia to Cinque Terre was about 10 minutes. Trains before 8:30am or after 10:30am were more frequent. But we missed the 8:30 one so we had to wait 1 hour to get on the 10:34 one. The hotel people were friendly and helpful. They spoke quite good English. In one word, this is a business hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lifetraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

I travelled to La Spezia by train, and i should say, this place would be difficult to find if i didn't take a taxi (9 euro for a ride), it's far from the central station. The place itself is very strange - isolated from places like shops, cafes or whatever, it has complicated automatic system for the gates to enter the hotel (if noone's at the reception), very small room, the lights in your room fade out in 5 min if you put the card in the wrong way, no mini bar, no computer, no wifi, the breakfast is poor, it left a hard impression. The check-out is early - you should leave the hotel around 10 am the latest. I think it's no good value for money, and wouldn't really recommend it to anyone. The only thing that is good is its close location to the embankment and the boat station (from there you can go to 4Terra).

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OlyaKotik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Not sure how we came to book this accommodation or how we found it. Quite an unusual experience to stay here - almost like a ghost town. Very very clean, pleasant if stark room but with a lovely view of the harbour. Very patchy service, good on first day but after that not so good - Were they trainees? Expected to do too much? Dinner in the restaurant was tasty, filling and cheap. No one to help at breakfast on 2nd day - didn't look like it had been restocked from previous day. A long from train station if catching train to Cinque Terre but OK. Security gates and system a bit intimidating. Noise transference from rooms and corridors was very bad - take ear plugs.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RhondaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Danilo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Folco F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Spezia
0.2 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#3 of 21 in La Spezia
1,143 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#5 of 21 in La Spezia
583 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ghironi
Hotel Ghironi
#7 of 21 in La Spezia
435 reviews
4.6 mi away
Albergo Serena
Albergo Serena
#1 of 1 in Cerri di Arcola
436 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#10 of 21 in La Spezia
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel il Gabbiano La Spezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel il Gabbiano La Spezia

Address: Piazzale Giovanni XXIII 1, 19121, La Spezia, Italy (Formerly Casa Per Ferie Il Gabbiano)
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 76 Speciality Lodging in La Spezia
Price Range: £56 - £425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel il Gabbiano La Spezia 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel il Gabbiano La Spezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing