We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Review - Safe Bet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel il Gabbiano La Spezia
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mixed Review - Safe Bet”
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Clean! The room was very clean. And after a week of sharing bathrooms, having my own in the room was a luxury.

Hard to find the first time, without a taxi. Not in the heart of things, but not inconvenient, either. Seemed a bit off the tourist track.

Wi-fi only available in the lobby, which is inconvenient for us late-night Internet check-in-with-the -office guys.

Staff was a mixed bag. One guy was phenomenal, and went above and beyond the call of duty to get us situated. Others were less helpful, and made it seem like we weren't a priority.

Odd gate entry system from the outside of the hotel, which is not enjoyable, because the entry is on a street that seems less than secure. If they labelled it better, or if the front desk monitored it better, it wouldn't be an issue.

Lacks charm. But has a great view from the top floor balcony. But there weren't chairs on the balcony.

This place has potential, but needs to grow into it. It doesn't cut it for business trips because of the Wi-fi issues, service issues, etc. and doesn't add to the romance of vacation travel. But it's clean and well priced.

Near Cinque Terra - a must see!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the bay. Upper floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    67
    34
    7
    5
See reviews for
35
61
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
121 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

A nice super-extra clean impecable room with a modern bathroom plus a good filling breakfast for a very decent price!!! You can not ask for more! Well located, you can walk everywhere, the neighborhood is safe and there is plenty of restauants around that are open until very late.
I asked why were nuns around... the answer, there is a consession between the nuns and someone else did I understood? noooo but I did not care, they were not on my business, they were just making sure everything was on place around breakfast time and that the hotel in general run smoothly. I will recommend this place to everybody, I was there with my family and kids plus parking was FREE :)
Ah... just one downsize the reception clerk (an old guy) was very rude and picky and asked us to live our passaports there while he could tape names and etc. That's a No No at anytime! the other clerck in the morning ( a young lady) was very nice and helpful!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cf0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henryboyson
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I think the other reviews of this hotel are missing the fact that its a budget hotel in a city.

Having covered France, Italy, Slovenia & Croatia, I looked back and realised that although it is a strange place (heavily religious undertone slash conference centre) to stay, I must give it full marks for being very clean at an affordable price.

The 4 of us could have been lucky but we turned up to La Spezia late on Easter Bank holiday with nowhere to stay. With little understanding of the language and surrounding area, we only wanted to pass through to the Cinque terre.

We found this place, it looks Ok, good location, good price and so booked it. I was even more impressed by the free buffet included as most other hotels in the area were more with no breakfast. If you assume most hotels add on €10 pp for breakfast we had already saved €40.

We were given rooms at the very top and next to our rooms was a nice little balcony so we bought some wine and gazed out at the view towards the bay watching the sunset.

In conclusion, I can't fault this place as it was everything we needed. Safe, clean, location, price.

If you're looking for a holiday hotel this may not suit however.

Hats off to the management & owners for a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Get a room at the top, it has great views from the balconies out in the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henryboyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

This hotel is located in the harbor area of La Spezia. It is in the main business area. The best of this hotel is the free parking lot, and the nearby streets also have lots space for parking, which was very convinient for us as we drove a rental car. The hotel room was quite large, clean and the price was very reasonable (100 euros for 4 compared 180 euros in Rome and Venice). Walking from the hotel to the train station was about 25 minutes, and was easy as they were main streets. The train from La Spezia to Cinque Terre was about 10 minutes. Trains before 8:30am or after 10:30am were more frequent. But we missed the 8:30 one so we had to wait 1 hour to get on the 10:34 one. The hotel people were friendly and helpful. They spoke quite good English. In one word, this is a business hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lifetraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

I travelled to La Spezia by train, and i should say, this place would be difficult to find if i didn't take a taxi (9 euro for a ride), it's far from the central station. The place itself is very strange - isolated from places like shops, cafes or whatever, it has complicated automatic system for the gates to enter the hotel (if noone's at the reception), very small room, the lights in your room fade out in 5 min if you put the card in the wrong way, no mini bar, no computer, no wifi, the breakfast is poor, it left a hard impression. The check-out is early - you should leave the hotel around 10 am the latest. I think it's no good value for money, and wouldn't really recommend it to anyone. The only thing that is good is its close location to the embankment and the boat station (from there you can go to 4Terra).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlyaKotik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Not sure how we came to book this accommodation or how we found it. Quite an unusual experience to stay here - almost like a ghost town. Very very clean, pleasant if stark room but with a lovely view of the harbour. Very patchy service, good on first day but after that not so good - Were they trainees? Expected to do too much? Dinner in the restaurant was tasty, filling and cheap. No one to help at breakfast on 2nd day - didn't look like it had been restocked from previous day. A long from train station if catching train to Cinque Terre but OK. Security gates and system a bit intimidating. Noise transference from rooms and corridors was very bad - take ear plugs.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RhondaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.2 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 22 in La Spezia
1,033 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
0.4 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 22 in La Spezia
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#3 of 22 in La Spezia
698 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ghironi
Hotel Ghironi
#9 of 22 in La Spezia
412 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#8 of 22 in La Spezia
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel il Gabbiano La Spezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel il Gabbiano La Spezia

Property: Hotel il Gabbiano La Spezia
Address: Piazzale Giovanni XXIII 1, 19121, La Spezia, Italy (Formerly Casa Per Ferie Il Gabbiano)
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 68 Speciality Lodging in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel il Gabbiano La Spezia 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel il Gabbiano La Spezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing