We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Gateway to Cinque Terre” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Urban Chic House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Urban Chic House
Ranked #26 of 121 La Spezia B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Gateway to Cinque Terre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We visited Cinque Terre in mid-November, and used La Spezia and Urban Chic House as our gateway. The proprietor was a lovely lady who gave us great dinner suggestions (the best pesto linguine I've ever had), and pointed us to Portovenere for more scenic sightseeing. The rooms were large and in good condition, very modern. My only complaint is that the lights in the building stairwell were very dim or non-existent at night. A big dangerous to maneuver down stairs at night.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    31
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
52
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
henderson.nv
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

This was our first time visiting Cinque Terre and we had heard horror stories about not being able to drive to hotels, so we chose to stay in La Spezia. We really lucked out! This small bed and breakfast was wonderful! The owner is so nice and helpful. She suggested taking the train to the end of Cinque Terre and then the boat back-stopping in each town on the way. What a great way to see everything. Once back, we were able to walk to any number of bars/restaurants. The only small problem was parking...we had to park in the lot that was a 15 minute walk away-but it was free, so we really couldn't complain. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wifeofb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Great location, the parking is a bit far however. The room was great but the air conditioner seemed too weak to provide the cool air we needed during the month of July. A bit noisy at night and in the morning, but since it is in the city, it is to be expected. The breakfast was very good and the staff were very helpful, giving us all kinds of tips on what to visit and where to go to get tickets, etc... We made a side trip to Cinq Terre, a must see, just a 20 minute train ride from the city. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JediPierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

The outside look is a bit deceiving. Once we rang the bell and got to the second floor, we are very nicely surprised by the clean, morden and spacious room. After talking to the friendly owners (husband and wife I think), we got a really good feeling we made the right choice. The bed was comfortable and big, place is very quite at night. Honestly, I think we made best choice staying here instead some hotels inside cinque terre. We saw many people dragging their heavy luggage up and down hills and steep stairs. The price of this hotel is more than reasonable! Great value!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yc32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
493 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

This B&B was ideal for us. The location was great, just a small walk to the train station or down to the port. Plenty of restaurants in the surrounding area. We were lucky to have a small balcony although there were no chairs or a table there. There wasn't a lot of space but perhaps folding chairs would be an idea. The room had a fridge too which was handy. Breakfast was just okay, not great. Very clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Aileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
171 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

This hotel is quite new and at very good location. The staff are friendly and helpful to introduce you nice restaurant where local people go. Also they suggest you the best schedule according to the season and weather you should take, which is not completely the same with travel book.
This kind of hotel has real hospotality of Italy.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beenleigh
Level Contributor
202 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed here for 1 night whilst visiting the Cinque Terra - should have stayed more. We had a little trouble finding it, with only a small sign on the building wall amongst many other signs, and right opposite the busy markets. The building appears a little old from the outside and when going into the building foyer and lifts you start to think you made a mistake coming here. But when going through the door to the B&B what a tremendous surprise!! Ultra modern!! Our room, on a corner of the building was very large, spacious, had a queen bed and another day bed, beautiful bathroom, large windows opening up to the markets, and when shut nearly soundproof. Everything fantastic! The fridge had a sign "help yourself - everything in the fridge is complimentary", with 2 fruit juices, water and snacks. Only place in Italy with that! Only place in Italy where we could watch TV in English also. We had a great night, with takeaway kebabs watching English TV till midnight. Breakfast was great, and we met Crystal, the owner's little dog sitting in her handbag on a stool - we nearly dog-napped her. The lady owner was very friendly and helpful with parking the car and catching the train to the Cinque Terra. We had a great time, and wished we could have stayed longer. Dont miss it if going to the Cinque Terra.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamJBeenleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.1 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 22 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Genova
Hotel Genova
#13 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Affittacamere I Remi del Prione
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Foresteria Del Pescatore
Foresteria Del Pescatore
#45 of 121 in La Spezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Affittacamere Del Prione
Affittacamere Del Prione
#16 of 121 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Affittacamere il Viaggiatore
Affittacamere il Viaggiatore
#13 of 121 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urban Chic House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Chic House

Property: Urban Chic House
Address: Via Fratelli Rosselli 54, 19121, La Spezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Urban Chic House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic centre of La Spezia, Urban Chic House is equipped with all comforts to satisfy the needs of those travelling for either pleasure or business.Just a few steps from the station and a short distance from the jetty for ferries, it is an excellent starting base for visits to the Eastern Riviera. The famous towns of Cinque Terre (Riomaggiore, Manarola, Corniglia, Vernazza, Monterosso) are easily reachable by sea and by land, as well as two gems in the Gulf of Poets, Portovenere and Lerici. central position in the pedestrian area, with a wealth of shops and restaurants, also lets you enjoy a moment of culture and entertainment by visiting the important city museums and taking part in the numerous activities that are offered, especially in summer. Our management, ensuring you kindness and a warm welcome, will always be available and pleased to supply you with useful information and invaluable advice, responding promptly to your demands and requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Urban Chic House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing