We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice!”
Review of La Fenice - CLOSED

La Fenice
Price range: US$19 - US$51
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: La Carne E' Solo Su Richiestameat Is Only On Request
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good choice!”
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We like the noodles and the prawn! If have a second chance to visit La Spezia, will go there again and try more?

Helpful?
Thank 800wenjiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    30
    7
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Feel badly for the "big joke" reviewer. Our experience lived up to expectations.”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We were in downtown La Spezia on Saturday night, looking for another ristorante, which we never found coincidentally. When we approached the host, she said that they were all booked for the night. When we said we'd wait for a table to open up, she said that they only have one seating a night. The packed dining room, the good TA reviews, the great smells, and the one seating a night thing got our attention. We made reservations for the next night. We knew it was a good sign when, while taking our reservation they asked if we ate fish, because if we preferred meat, they'd have to go buy it. Seafood obviously being their specialty, we went with that and it didn't disappoint. The chef, who speaks pretty good English, came out and advised on what to order and what not to order (helping us to avoid ordering too much food, which is easy to do in Italy with the multi-course menu formats). Taking her recommendation, we order the zuppa de pesce and it was incredible. The large bowl in the middle of the table, by the time we finished was piled high with the remnants of delicious mollusks and crustaceans. I love to cook, and I fear I could never make a seafood broth that tasty.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregcarrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overrated ! A big joke !”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Following Trip Advisor's good ranking, we went to eat at the restaurant "La Fenice" on a Saturday evening.
We were very surprised because the restaurant was nearly empty (we had tried the same evening to go to an other restaurant of La Spezia with similar ranking on TripAdvisor and it was full !): only 1 other table with 4 customers, and they seemed to be some friends of the owners.
While we started to read the menu, I realized that I had a dead mosquito in my presentation plate : in addition to this deadly atmosphere, it didn't put us in good conditions...
Then the chef came to explain us what she would cook for us tonight, she said we had to have the same thing because she was cooking for the 2 of us in the same bowl.
So we had no choice but to take the 25€ menu (appetizer, 1st, 2nd course) and had no choice on any of the dishes.
The chef was wearing a large black tee-shirt, and was sweating like you can imagine in a hot kitchen, so although she was trying to be nice, it was not very attractive, and she didn't look as clean as a traditional chef with a white apron.
Anyway, we did not wait long and got the appetizer. It was not so great, but in the end, it was the best dish among the menu : 1 shrimp on top of black rice.
Then the waitress brought the 1st course : some green pasta (made of spinach) with crab meat and a full crab inside the pasta, but we had no tool (other than fork and knife) to break the crab legs and shelf and nothing to wipe our hands at the end. This is pitiful for a restaurant that pretends to be "gourmet".
The 2nd course was a local fish with a blueberry/mint sauce and some salad on the side. The fish was poorly drained so the plate was full of water. It was ok to eat that, but we could do the same at home, again nothing "gourmet" !
We did not always finish our plates, because we did not really like it, but then the chef was coming and asking why we didn't finish ! I really hate to have to justify myself in a restaurant. When we read the other comments on TripAdvisor, we really don't understand how people can say it was delicious. We guess the products were fresh, but the level of the cuisine is closer to a canteen than a 1-star rated Michelin restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe_the_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannut, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“to recommend”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

It was an amazing experience. Even if the restaurant was fully booked for the evening the owner did find us a table.
The menu of 25 euro was great. A variety of fresh food , prepared in a surprisingly original way. The combination of fish and fruits mixed with different spices was an extraordinary discovery.
The staff was friendly and the chef came to the table several times to make sure everything was ok.
I would certainly recommend this restaurant to friends visiting La spezia.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank belgiumtraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Was looking for it since it came highly recommended on tripadvisor and I am so glad o persisted
Amazing - ordered the set menu offer of 25 euros - entree first and second course plus wine and wAter and was in heaven
The entree was wonderful - corn with red current and calamari on it
Then came ravioli with crab and safran and the main course was local fish with blueberries
What a treat - chef came often to ask about the meal and explain
Recommend it to any one visiting la spezia
E n j o y

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherlockbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Fenice also viewed

La Spezia, Province of La Spezia
La Spezia, Province of La Spezia
 
La Spezia, Province of La Spezia
La Spezia, Province of La Spezia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing