We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With half board, it was the evening meal that made our stay memorable.”
Review of NH La Spezia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH La Spezia
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“With half board, it was the evening meal that made our stay memorable.”
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel as part of a three day Cinque Terre package. As a base for this package, the hotel was more than adequate. The most impressive part of the package was dinner, which was served on the terrace. We enjoyed the meal, finding it refreshing after a long day walking through the stunning scenery that is Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Les101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    411
    269
    110
    53
See reviews for
166
433
31
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Location is good, rooms are clean, staff is great and free wifi in hotel lobby.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Opiemagnum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

This is a nice hotel- clean, good breakfast.
Staff OK when asked for information. Hotel could have been more helpful with bus and train timetales.
A bit far from the station although there is a bus nearby.
Wifi awkward. Free half hour in the lobby per day, but other than that expensive.
Restaurant meals average.
La Spezia is a lovely town but for visiting Cinque Terre there was a lot of waiting for buses and trains.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the port have a pleasant outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annerasmussen2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, AL
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Checked in here late on a Friday night. Found the staff to be very friendly and were able to give a good recommendation for a hotel that was still serving food late. They were also nice when holding our luggage or giving directions for how to get to Portovenere. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the train station. The room okay, only real complaint is the water pressure is terrible. Breakfast was a little better than average for Italian hotels. Also the internet was 15 Euros for 24 hours, which is very high, in my experience most hotels of this quality have free wireless internet.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We used La Spezia as a base to do the Cinque Terra walk and stayed at NH La Spezia. I think the hotel is in the process of chaning ownership and they've tried to tick all the boxes to get a start rating - but have fallen well short. The room was not clean, and the bathroom was really poor. Hotel staff were good and the breakfast was great, but overall I'd give this place a skip.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hurfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Spezia hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

We'd heard about the NH chain from a friend, a straightforward business-style hotel. And that's what NH La Spezia is.

When we arrived, we were a bit confused - it seems the hotel has only just joined the NH chain, and still had the old 'Jolly Hotel' signs outside. Hotel parking was only on the street, and the under-cover affiliated parking lot is several blocks away.

The service is nice enough (depending on who's at the front desk; sometimes it was a bit off-hand to be honest). Our booking inclued breakfasts, and these too were nice enough.

The rooms were okay - overall the decor was tired, though. There is apparently a renovation in the works, so things may get better.

The 'free' internet service was rather disappointing - wifi only in the lobby, and only for a limited time.

Overall, the stay was okay. Just okay. Nothing to complain about, but nothing to write home about either.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissAnd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2010

I have been vacationing in La Spezia since I was a child (my mother being a native of the town) and whenever we had out of town guests we would always recommend The Jolly Hotel , it is a landmark in town and has always enjoyed the best reputation.. last year I took my mother in law there who still speaks of the prawns she enjoyed in their dining room. The rooms are somewhat small but the cleanliness and accomodating staff more than make up for it.. The location is fabulous, within walking distance of the ferries to the Cinque Terre and Portovenere... This is the only place to stay in La Spezia!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciotti3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
0.3 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#3 of 21 in La Spezia
719 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 21 in La Spezia
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#4 of 21 in La Spezia
563 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ghironi
Hotel Ghironi
#9 of 21 in La Spezia
422 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#8 of 21 in La Spezia
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH La Spezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH La Spezia

Property: NH La Spezia
Address: Via Venti Settembre 2, 19124, La Spezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH La Spezia 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the sea and located only a five-minute walk from the main pier, NH La Spezia is the ideal base for discovering the enchanting Cinque Terre, one of the main attractions of the Italian Riviera and La Spezia in Liguria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, NHHotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH La Spezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh La Spezia Hotel La Spezia
Jolly La Spezia
La Spezia Jolly Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing