We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”
Review of NH La Spezia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH La Spezia
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We had booked as part of a Cinque Terra package, breakfas, dinner train and walking pass. At that time reviews had us wondering a little about what we were in for.
Not to worry, wonderful staff, including them finding me a replacement cell phone charger for one left in Florence, (no charge), excellent breakfast and patio dinner each evening (with wine) beyond our expectation. Room and bathroom spotless, spacious and well serviced. Thank you N H for a great time with you. Ray and Jen, New Zealand

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

270 - 276 of 1,160 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2012

Well, after reading all the reviews on tripadvisor, we were a bit hesitant to stay at this hotel, but needless to say, had two rooms, and neither of them had any issues. First off, the rooms we recently renovated, and everything was brand new. Floors, bathroom, walls, beds, mattresses, etc... All brand new. Even the hallways. The wifi was kind of slow, but the stay was very good. It seems that the hotel has really stepped up their game. The breakfast was incredible, with many options, including gluten free celiac choices.. Juices, yogurts, breads, cheeses and a whole lot more. It's the perfect base for Cinqa terra since the hotel is a 10euro cab from the train station, which will get you to riomaggiore (the first of the 5 terras) in about 10 minutes. Also, there are many restaurants on the pietonnaire, which is the pedestrian only section right next to the train station. Only gripe is that the hotel did not have a parking lot, but for 10 euros a day for street parking right next to the hotel, it's not so bad. I suppose that's the price to pay when you stay at a hotel right on the seashore. (great views, definitely not swimmable. If you want to swim, Cinqa terra is incredible for that)

In any case, definitely recommend. I did not see any better hotels around la spezia. Enjoy.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank skorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I had a room on the second floor and experienced an electricity black-out for all rooms on my floor at around 10pm. The hotel staff did not know about the black-out. Luckily a handyman was around to fix the broken door lock for my room. It took them almost an hour to get the lights back on in the room. I am surprised the hotel does not have back-up generator for this kind of situation.

My room is small - the bed blocks access to the cabinet door so the cabinet can only be opened half-way. I had a tiny shower cubicle, probably 2 by 2 feet. The room across from me has a full bath and unobstructed access to a full length cabinet. I stayed in an "adjoining room" but could not lock the door connecting to the other room. The hotel handyman could not fix it. Luckily I know the party staying next door, otherwise it would be unnerving.

The receptionist seems overwhelmed with guests' request, but polite enough. The best thing I like about this hotel is free WIFI throughout the property and the bathroom amenity pack. This hotel would be much better if the rooms could be refurbished.

Location wise, the hotel is not that close to the train station for Cinque Terre, but close enough to the "lake".

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank HappyhkTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

As a very loyal customer of NH, this was one of the worst I've stayed in. We were there for a 4 day stay to visit Liguria and this was a very good alternative for Cinque Terre, Pisa and Camoglia. Only issue is that the hotel wasn't that clean, we didn't get new towels when we placed them on the ground to get replaced. They didn't really clean the room as it should and breakfast was a major disappointment. It took quite some time before things would get replaced which weren't there anymore. Juice was most of the time not there, the GOOD coffee came out of the kitchen only for Italians and not for other people. Too bad for us!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hoteles
1  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I stayed here with my mother and 7 year old son, the hotel was very welcoming and children are treated very well. We booked a double room with an extra bed for my son and the room was clean and modern with a nice view of the harbour. The best thing about this hotel is the location, we explored the area by boat visiting la cinque terre and Lerici as well as La Spezia and eating some great food.

There is a fantastic little tent near the harbour that serves up fresh mussles for 6 Euro and wine for 1 Euro and it was amazing with a variety of focaccia the best freshest food ever for a very reasonable price....

The breakfasts are great with lots of variety for the day which is just what you need when you are out exploring.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We booked a ackage Cinque terra package which included this hotel for 2 nights, two dinners and breakfast. We were fortunate enough to get a top floor room overlooking the harbor which was extremely pleasant.

Some observations:-

Staff were friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was very good.
Dinner package (with wine) was outstanding. Excellent waiters, very good food and wine and wonderful,outdoor terrace.
Very good location as a base for all of the areas attractions

Very happy with this hotel and certainly pleasantly surprised on what was delivered.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank James_Melbourne02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

NH Hoteles is a great base for Cinque Terre but a little pricey for basic rooms, although we booked late as Cinque Terre was a last minute stop. Service is good - room was clean and well serviced. Breakfast was a standard inclusion in the price but simple and coffee was very disappointing for Italy. Bed seemed new and very comfortable for Italy - especially since we have been duped before with two single mattresses pushed together and sold as a 'matrimoniale!'

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canberra2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
0.3 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#3 of 21 in La Spezia
761 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#5 of 21 in La Spezia
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#2 of 21 in La Spezia
323 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ghironi
Hotel Ghironi
#7 of 21 in La Spezia
438 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#10 of 21 in La Spezia
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH La Spezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH La Spezia

Address: Via Venti Settembre 2, 19124, La Spezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range: £70 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH La Spezia 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the sea and located only a five-minute walk from the main pier, NH La Spezia is the ideal base for discovering the enchanting Cinque Terre, one of the main attractions of the Italian Riviera and La Spezia in Liguria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, NHHotels, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your NH La Spezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh La Spezia Hotel La Spezia
Jolly La Spezia
La Spezia Jolly Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing