We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Italian cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of A Ca Do Leo

A Ca Do Leo
Ranked #21 of 414 Restaurants in La Spezia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$27 - US$38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic, View, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This local restaurant was recommended by our hotelier who also made the reservations on our behalf. The restaurant does not offer a set menu. Instead we had to tell them beforehand if there is anything we wouldn't eat. When you arrive it's a surprise what you will be served. We had a terrific evening and enjoyed a beautiful 10 course seafood meal, that ended with a complimentary limoncello. Our meal consisted among other things of fried anchovies, mussels, pasta with seafood, mackerel in filo pastry and a fish mousse. For dessert we were given a chocolate and coconut mousse with panna. The restaurant was filled with locals, which is always a good sign. Towards the end of the evening the chef appeared from the kitchen to greet the diners. Staff, although rushed, was alert and attentive. This was a great evening and for a party of four we paid less than 120 euro including drinks.

Helpful?
Thank funkyfiorella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    102
    33
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We called there pretty late, but they still fixed a table and the whole menu for us. Staff was very friendly and the food was simply amazing!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SHPeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
“Spectacular!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

There's an Italian saying; ''La vita e troppo breve per mangiare male...'', Alessandro, his father and staff have well understood this and have applied it to their menu!

Great view on La Spezia, delicious dishes and a perfect wine card! I must to go to when visiting the area!

D & D (guests from Arianna Hill BnB)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DinaDanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alessandro d, Proprietario at A Ca Do Leo, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Google Translation
grazie infinitamente a voi!! ci ha fatto molto piacere ospitarvi e siate stati molto gentili e simpatici!!! grazie ancora!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect food in a great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

visited this place after calling to book a table, and they opened especially for us! very experienced chef cooked for us and the food represented his experience, flawless. every bight was delicious. restaurant was purched high over looking the whole la spezia marina, great venue. it will be of the best meals of my life.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steffen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Absolutely phenomenal food. We rang for a reservation and when we turned up, we were the only customers - they had opened specifically for us. A huge range of excellently prepared food - 10 fixed courses plus wine. We paid 35eur per head including a tip and it was worth every penny. A must visit if you are in the vicinity

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Ca Do Leo also viewed

La Spezia, Province of La Spezia
La Spezia, Province of La Spezia
 
La Spezia, Province of La Spezia
La Spezia, Province of La Spezia
 

Been to A Ca Do Leo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing