We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best option for Cinque Terra”
Review of Zorba The Cat

Zorba The Cat
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zorba The Cat
Ranked #92 of 152 La Spezia B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My friend and I still lovingly refer to the owner of this lovely B&B as our "Italian Mom". She was the most hospital and most helpful host we had during the entirety of our European travels. The rooms were clean and beautiful and our private bathroom was immaculate. The price and location can not be beat, it is much cheaper than any hostel actually in Cinque Terra and it is mere steps away from the train station. You can hop right on and be to Cinque Terra in no time flat!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

We only slept here one night between a day trip to Cinque Terre and a weekend in Florence, but we loved it! After a day filled with encounters with rude Italian waiters and gelato servers, we were almost in tears at how nice the landlady was who checked us in. She had communicated with me by text during the day, making sure she'd be around when we wanted to check in (which was fairly late in the evening). She flooded us with information about the city and gave us our free included breakfast tickets, which were an unexpected perk! The room and bathroom were great and the building was neat and located conveniently near the train station and the main La Spezia street. My only complaint was that the room was not convincingly clean - it looked to me like my pillowcases hadn't been washed since the last guest and I opted to sleep with a towel under my head.

Room Tip: For a small group of students, opt for a 4 person private room with ensuite bathroom - private and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veronicaguardabascio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Really nice rooms just a minute away from the train station. The staff was very helpfull, she gave us info about the area and the cinque terre. They provided breakfast that it wasn't mentioned on our reservation! The only problem for me was that they don't change the towels every day, but after 3days of stay. Of course when i asked ti give me a clean one they did. Overall i thing it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nasia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

I travelled with a good friend and we found the room the day before on the Internet. Very good price and total comfort. Everything was there, from the welcome pastries to the hairdryer and terribly good shower. Beds were very comfortable as well. Decoration is nice, modern and colorful. The location is also great, as it is just next to the station and allows you to jump in the train to the Cinque Terre. Many free parking lots around town or the paying station parking lot that is underground.
I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarionElise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

thank you for everythins wonderful recomendations and the room was lovely best nights slept yes.
mass end laura

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mass o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

On arrival to the Cinque Terre region, I decided to make La Spezia my home base and take day trips to the villages. I definitely think that's the way to see the area. From La Spezia you can easily take a train to the Cinque Terre and also ferry or bus to Porto Venere.

I stayed here for 4 nights at the end of April, and it was my favourite place that I stayed in Italy.  I'm sure that the beauty of the region had something to do with that, but the room itself was equally beautiful - brightly decorated, with an incredible stone and marble balcony (I think only room four has a balcony, so ask for this room). The B&B is in a charming building that is over one hundred years old, but the rooms have modern fixtures. It's a nice mix of old and new.  

Patricia is a great host, and is more than happy to help you plan your daily itinerary, including great restaurant recommendations or where to buy food cheaply if you're on a budget.  

Finally - and most importantly after a long day of hiking - the bed was extremely comfortable!

Pros: 1 minute walk from train station, room fridge, great shower and bed, awesome balcony, room smelled nice even when full of my stinky hiking clothes 

Cons: I didn't want to leave 

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fife43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elenarossi82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
0.6 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#4 of 21 in La Spezia
1,131 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ostello Tramonti
Ostello Tramonti
#6 of 76 in La Spezia
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#10 of 21 in La Spezia
335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#3 of 21 in La Spezia
582 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Nella
Hotel Nella
#6 of 21 in La Spezia
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zorba The Cat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zorba The Cat

Address: Via Pietro Paleocapa 4, 19122, La Spezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in La Spezia
Price Range: £54 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
our property is located in an historical building just a few minutes walk from the train stationAll rooms have ensuite bathroom,tv,fridge hairdryer and AC,a parking-lot is at walk distance.The forniture is new and the windows have double glazing.It is tastefull decorated to make you feel home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Zorba The Cat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing