We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Reviewed 21 May 2011

This hotel is walking distance from the train station to Cinque Terre. In front of the hotel are charming orange trees. The breakfast here was very nice. The hotel had one tiny elevator to the rooms and rooftop restaurant. It could only fit one person and their luggage at a time. The bathroom in the room has been completely renovated and very modern. Yet there was no mirror in the bedroom which is odd for a hotel.

Stayed: May 2011
1  Thank edgycoolness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 744 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2011

On our initial check-in the desk clerk informed us that they had attempted to run our credit card twice and it had come back with a negative authorization . He then informed us he had held our reservation but would now have to charge us a significantly higher rate. We knew our credit card was good because we had just used it the day before to pay a hotel bill. He said he had run it 5 days prior to that. After much discussion and our insistance on speaking to the hotel manager, he agreed to run our card with the original contracted amount and of course it went right through as we knew it would. The next day we were told that our original contract was good and everything was now OK. The rest of the staff we dealt with were very nice and helpful. The computer they had for general use was never operational and it didn't appear that they were going to do anything about getting it working. I also had to ask for shampoo everyday as the housekeeping staff never resupplied it, a small thing ,but annoying. All of these issues and we had booked their superior deluxe rooms. . .

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank acraw42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabri08, Direttore at Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2011

Dear tripadvisor community;

I have decided to answer to this review because I believe that me and my colleague have done the best we can to give to these Clients the best, services and hospitality.

The first complain was related with the booking cancellation policy. We check if the credit card number is correct 5 days before the clientes arrival .
Then because we found that your card was not correct, we have contacted them at your e-mail however we have not received any answer. For this reason the reservation was cancel and we do not have assigned any rooms. For this reason when they arrived at the hotel only few rooms were available so the price was different but to avoid any problems we have kept the same price.

The second complain war related to the PC in the lobby, but to be correct was related with the internet receipts printing machine. In order to use internet in a public place we need to track the internet user for unti-terrorism law.
Since we understood the complaint of them , we have borrow to them our private lap top, that is connected with our internal WI-FI network, for free.

The third and last complaint of them was related with the Shampoo and other toilette products. Our policy is to add shampoo and body lotion and other products for each person every day, because we use" mono use" products so we keep attention to refill them on the bathroom tray.
Moreover these clients have asked for more shampoo and soap and our housekeper have readily furnished them.

We believe that the reviews are so important to us to improve our services and to provide a good advices to world travelers, however I fell worried if it is used as non constructive way to stigmatize.
best regards
Maria Gabriella Liconti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

The lobby looked great- our room not so great- The staff was very accomodating- breakfast was very imaginative and extensive- the bathroom was tiny but worked.The room was in need of renovation. OVerall it was a good chocie due to its proximity to the station. We were facing the train station and it was noisy. Cab drivers talked loudly outside as well. The hotel was very hard to find and altho we had a reservation we stumbled across it

Room Tip: pay more
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eduardo5060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We stayed here for two nights, and used it as a base for the Cinque Terre. Literally 30 second walk to the train station, and no, we didn't hear the trains.

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The room was large, but in need of a renovation. The bathroom was huge and beautifully renovated. The bathroom could have been in a 5 star hotel, so it was a shame the beedroom was of the same high standard. Unfortunately, our room was under the breakfast room, so both mornings we were woken by the scraping chairs at 7.30am.

Breakfast was nice, but I must say, it was the only hotel in all of Italy that did not offer espresso, only the filtered coffee (we are coffee addicts, so were disappointed).

Overall, a fine hotel, not fantastic, but certainly not bad. Considering we were only there in the evenings, it served its purpose.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burmese12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Staff at front desk very friendly and helpful. Very close to train station to catch train to Cinque Terra .Room was quiet and comfortable. We had a bit of a problem finding the parking (road to front of Hotel was closed due to road works) But once we parked all was great.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulinebarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Our room was spacious, clean and had air-conditioning. Just steps from the train station (which made it convenient for traveling with luggage) and yet we got a good nights sleep - very well insulated and quiet rooms. The breakfast was a large spread and the view of the mountains every morning from our table was amazing! We had to pay for internet, but it worked without problems. Comfortable bedding, a nice close walk to restaurants, and easy travel to/from Cinque Terre (just an 8 minute train ride away). While there, be sure to visit the "parco" and harbor (about a 10 minute walk from the hotel) to see local fishermen repairing their nets and children playing soccer. We also enjoyed a bus ride to Porto Venere to see the sunset at Saint Peters...very beautiful & romantic! We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MirabellaFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

It is literally 1/2 a block from the train station, so it's a great jumping point for seeing the Cinque Terre towns. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The hotel was quiet. They had a lovely breakfast that is included in your stay.

The only bad part of my experience was the concierge when we checked in was distinctly grouchy. Everyone else was very nice.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamss22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.7 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#4 of 21 in La Spezia
1,115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 21 in La Spezia
322 reviews
0.5 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#5 of 21 in La Spezia
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#10 of 21 in La Spezia
331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#3 of 21 in La Spezia
580 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ghironi
Hotel Ghironi
#8 of 21 in La Spezia
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Address: Via Pietro Paleocapa 7, 19122, La Spezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range: £71 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Hotel Firenze and Continentale in La Spezia dates back to the beginning of the last century and is today one of the premier luxury accommodations in this historical city that sits just at the foot of the Cinque Terre National Park.The elegant building's aristocratic feel is accentuated with quality decor, furnishings and other thoughtful complements including Carrara marble floors, Trompe l'Oeil murals, Mogano boiseries and hand beaten iron and brass lamps.A top quality 3 star hotel located in the historical city centre of La Spezia, the Hotel Firenze and Continentale is just a few short steps from the newly pedestrianized heart of the town and close to La Spezia Centrale train station, making for quick and easy connections to the Cinque Terre in a couple of minutes.Having undergone regular renovation since the first part of the 20th century, the Firenze and Continentale La Spezia is now regarded as one of the finest accommodations in the city while still maintaining the building's original architectural identity - typified by that liberty style grandeur of the pre-WWI era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firenze e Continentale Hotel
Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing