We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base for Cinque Terre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Manchester, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent base for Cinque Terre”
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Let's face it - La Spezia in itself is a bland and uninteresting town, so you won't likely be staying here because of it. However, this hotel is right next to the train station, and thus on the beautiful, scenic Cinque Terre rail line - you can be in Riomaggiore in 5 minutes, and access to the other villages in the CT is also straightforward.

The Firenze e Continentale is a very good hotel - it's traditional without being dated. I particularly liked the modern bathroom, and hope that future renovations will bring the already pleasant rooms up to the same standards. Service was efficient and friendly, and breakfast was served in a rooftop restaurant overlooking the mountains.

Two minor negatives - the air conditioning is unbearably loud when switched on, and I didn't find a safe in my room (though genuinely could have missed it).

All in all, I don't think you could find a better base for visiting this region of Italy, and would strongly recommend this hotel on that basis.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acf90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabri08, Direttore at Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
I’m happy you liked our hotel and had a good stay here in La Spezia! As you told, Firenze & Continentale is a traditional hotel but every year we renovate it, trying to satisfy the guest's exigencies and to make their stay as comfortable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    333
    132
    32
    11
See reviews for
114
376
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Great stay! Big and clean rooms! Great breakfast and close to train station. Perfect to explore the villages. Wifi in bar area free of charge

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bthomas_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit area
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We, like many others, stayed here because every hotel in Cinque Terre was booked solid. We had not heard many nice things about La Spezia, but were actually pleasantly surprised and the drive to Cinque Terre was easy.

The hotel was insanely expensive for what it was. The room was ok- clean and comfortable. The shower was just a stand up shower and the shower head was as big as the shower- so I had to turn off the water in order to lather up.

Most of the staff was friendly. We missed breakfast, but asked for coffee twice in the morning and never got it. Parking is around the block. You can pay 8euro for outside parking or 18euro for covered parking. In order to park though, you have to call the desk to have them open the gate- so you better have an international plan! Both times we called- we had to wait a while before they opened the gate. the second time we had to call twice. The parking issue could have been because it is under construction.

The hotel was fine- but for about the money we paid for the night, I was annoyed by many little items.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DetroitareaKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We stayed here only as an access point to the Cinque Terre, which was incredibly easy.
Good points: Excellent breakfast with heaps of choice. Close to train station. Laundry mat just behind the hotel also. Much cheaper than paying to have your washing done at the hotel (over $100 difference for us). Bad point: Rooms were a bit drab but did the job.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twistyli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We tried to book something in one of the Cinque Terre towns but nothing was available so this looked like the next best option. It was fantastic because it was literally a moments walk to the train station but that did not negatively impact the stay (noise, crowds etc). Nice room, great staff, no negatives, and it was a breeze to hop on the train each day and pop over to whichever town we wanted to go to. Definitely recommend it as a starting point for the Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelownatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medstead Hants UK
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We were concerned that as this hotel was in the town of La Spezia and near to the station it would be noisy. Not so! It is a gem of a hotel. The staff are very friendly. It is well positioned to get the train into the Cinque Terra and no distance back to the hotel from the station after a long day of walking. The rooms have all the amenities and are very comfortable and there is an enormous buffet breakfast. Our only downside was that having booked spaces for two cars for the 4 days we were there the cost was more than we had expected at 18 euros per day per car, we thought that rather steep. We had not been advised of this when booking. Other than that we would happily stay here again but maybe not use the parking!

Room Tip: We had rooms at the back which were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Medstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

This hotel has spotless , comfortable rooms , a quirky breakfast room ( entry from 2 levels ) with great views and friendly helpful staff.
With the station only 50 m away ( but remarkably with zero train noises ) we found that 'doing' the Cinque Terra was a pleasure we spread over 3 days.
Buying the daily pass meant we caught trains to various CT stations ( usually only 10 -20 mins) to walk / explore / eat / enjoy.
Having a daily pass meant we could return to the hotel for shower / pre dinner drinks ( thanks to the delightful Jennifer ) , and then if we so desired return to one or other of the CT towns for evening meals.
A relaxed way to see a beautiful part of Italy.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillMonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.7 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 21 in La Spezia
1,075 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 21 in La Spezia
309 reviews
0.5 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#4 of 21 in La Spezia
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#8 of 21 in La Spezia
311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#3 of 21 in La Spezia
562 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ghironi
Hotel Ghironi
#9 of 21 in La Spezia
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Property: Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
Address: Via Pietro Paleocapa 7, 19122, La Spezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Hotel Firenze and Continentale in La Spezia dates back to the beginning of the last century and is today one of the premier luxury accommodations in this historical city that sits just at the foot of the Cinque Terre National Park.The elegant building's aristocratic feel is accentuated with quality decor, furnishings and other thoughtful complements including Carrara marble floors, Trompe l'Oeil murals, Mogano boiseries and hand beaten iron and brass lamps.A top quality 3 star hotel located in the historical city centre of La Spezia, the Hotel Firenze and Continentale is just a few short steps from the newly pedestrianized heart of the town and close to La Spezia Centrale train station, making for quick and easy connections to the Cinque Terre in a couple of minutes.Having undergone regular renovation since the first part of the 20th century, the Firenze and Continentale La Spezia is now regarded as one of the finest accommodations in the city while still maintaining the building's original architectural identity - typified by that liberty style grandeur of the pre-WWI era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firenze e Continentale Hotel
Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing