We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base camp for the Cinque Terre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great base camp for the Cinque Terre”
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I stayed at the Hotel Firenze e Continentale for a recent trip to the Cinque Terre, and it served as a perfect base camp. The hotel is about a two minute walk from the La Spezia train station, which is about an eight minute ride from the first Cinque Terre village of Riomaggiore.

The hotel itself was very nice, with good-sized rooms, free Wi-Fi in the downstairs lobby/lounge area, and a decent continental breakfast. The air conditioning worked well in our room, and it was pretty quiet at night.

All in all a great place to stay if you're exploring the surrounding region.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDawgTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    331
    131
    32
    10
See reviews for
113
373
26
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed here for one night in July, at our most expensive hotel for our entire trip we were very disappointed in value for money.

The rooms were small and they had given us two single beds which we pushed together. Nice new bathroom with a fantastic shower. Breakfast started at 7am ( i think) but there is not point getting there early to start your day as the hot items were not layed out until half an hour later, causing a late start to our only day in the Cinque Terre.

Staff were pleasant and it was a great location right next to the train station. There was a supermarket and laundry-mat just round the corner.

Overall a nice stay but priced at $70 more per night then our other hotels, you are paying for pure location, with a little service.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Europe_July_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed for three nights in early August and spend the time exploring the town as well as the famous Cinque Terre. The hotel is located just across from the train station and the staff are very helpfull in explaning train times etc. to get out there. We enjoyed the stay very much and the staff at reception, in the bar or at breakfast were excellent! - We would come back here!!
(You can park right outside the hotel for a fee of 8 EUR/night)

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor where the rooms have a small balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed here for just one night before we headed up to Cinque Terre. The hotel is right next to the train station, so great location. Because the hotel is so central, the drive in is not for the faint hearted!

La Spezia itself is quite an industrial town, and possibly not as nice as the touristy costal areas.

The hotel itself was clean and friendly. The rooms were pretty basic and i (personally) think they could do with a safe in each room for security.

One thing that we found was that we had a room right next to the lift and were constantly woken up by other guests, getting out of the lift door and smashing the lift door against the wall (which was the other side of where we were trying to sleep).

Breakfast was pretty good and had a good selection too.

Good value for money.

Room Tip: dont get a room by the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahL1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Close to the train, wonderful service, incredible
breakfast, a hidden gem! The room was outstanding and wonderful staff.

Reserved the room online and there were no problems when we arrived.

A two minute walk to the train station. Really easy to gett to Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billwalker54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We went here as a home-base to visit Cinque Terra as it is more affordable and easier to get to (we were coming from Paris and the 9-hour train ride meant we arrived too late to go into Cinque Terra that night).
This is probably the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in. Although it was super convenient and right beside the train station - which is what we wanted - staying beside a train station is never really nice. But WOW inside was amazing.
Big, plush rooms, huge bathrooms with either claw-foot tubs or cascading luxury showers, excellent staff, old-world style sitting lounges, nice restaurant (although we didn't eat there, it looked nice).
But the best part: The free breakfast blew me away. There is a skylight looking onto the rolling hills (there was a thunderstorm one morning and it was spectacular!!) and the food? Different cheeses, rich granola with hot or cold milk, fresh juices, eggs, breads, fruit, fresh cappuccino (of course) etc etc etc. I still think about it and wish I was there. SIGH!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadian09876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

I booked this well in advance direct on thier website, it was very reasonable rates, I request a room with balcony as we were travelling lots and wanted somewhere to wash and dry some clothing. They were so accomodating and gave us a huge room with this massive balcony, talbe and chairs as well. The room had a fridge and we found it an excellent position for the train station to do the railway trips to the chinque terra which was magic. The rooms were clean and beds comfy with plenty of space. Breakfast was included in the rate, which was good and had enough to get you started on the day for anyone. The hotel while being close to the station, we heard no noise at all due to double glazing. Plenty of hot water. Located 10 min walk from the town centre and 15 mins walk to the waterfront where you get the ferries to portovenere. Would deffinately use again and can reccommend this will not dent your budget and like us you will be pleasantly supprised with this hotel. To the management and staff a well run hotel and a big thank you for accomodating me with the balcony, it was much appreciated. If we come from Aussie again will stay once more.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lassie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.7 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 21 in La Spezia
1,053 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 21 in La Spezia
308 reviews
0.5 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#4 of 21 in La Spezia
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#3 of 21 in La Spezia
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#9 of 21 in La Spezia
308 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ghironi
Hotel Ghironi
#8 of 21 in La Spezia
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Property: Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
Address: Via Pietro Paleocapa 7, 19122, La Spezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Hotel Firenze and Continentale in La Spezia dates back to the beginning of the last century and is today one of the premier luxury accommodations in this historical city that sits just at the foot of the Cinque Terre National Park.The elegant building's aristocratic feel is accentuated with quality decor, furnishings and other thoughtful complements including Carrara marble floors, Trompe l'Oeil murals, Mogano boiseries and hand beaten iron and brass lamps.A top quality 3 star hotel located in the historical city centre of La Spezia, the Hotel Firenze and Continentale is just a few short steps from the newly pedestrianized heart of the town and close to La Spezia Centrale train station, making for quick and easy connections to the Cinque Terre in a couple of minutes.Having undergone regular renovation since the first part of the 20th century, the Firenze and Continentale La Spezia is now regarded as one of the finest accommodations in the city while still maintaining the building's original architectural identity - typified by that liberty style grandeur of the pre-WWI era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firenze e Continentale Hotel
Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing