We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life Saver”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We booked this Hotel after reading the reviews before we set off from Australia. Three of us girls stayed here before setting off to walk the Cinque Terre (a must do). This Hotel is basically 100 metres from the train station that you hop on to get to the Cinque Terres but saying that it was not noisy. It was a life saver as we were staying in a villa in Tuscany for 2 weeks and very unhappy with the villa. Everything at Hotel Firenze was lovely and clean, staff were very helpful and the breakfast was excellent which had lots of choices from museli, fresh eggs, bacon, lovely thick toast and juice. We wished we had booked for a couple of nights but the tour must go on. La Spezia is also a lovely town, had the best pizzas there (hmm, well one of the best). Would recommend this hotel to all travellers although my friend thought the bed was a bit too hard. Maybe i had more wine to drink than her as i did not think so.:)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pink60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabri08, Direttore at Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2012

Thank you for your nice review! It’s good to know our work was appreciated! We Look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (769)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 769 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2011

This hotel is overpriced for what it offers.  The rooms are very basic and the beds are old and uncomfortable.  The best feature is it's location, near the train station.  However, my family and I decided at the last minute to visit Cinque Terre by boat, so we should have stayed near the marina.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLaguna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabri08, Direttore at Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2012

We’re so sorry you didn’t have a good stay in our hotel. We have different types and levels of rooms and the rates depend on typology and availability, in high season the rates could be higher. We hope we'll welcome you again in the future and have the opportunity to show you the quality of our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Hotel Firenze is a perfect base camp for the cinque terre and was recommended to me by my family there in La Spezia because the location is perfect. The rooms are some of the best ive stayed in in Europe! I gave it a five star rating on all counts. I would recommended it and I have!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samserena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I stayed at the Hotel Firenze e Continentale for a recent trip to the Cinque Terre, and it served as a perfect base camp. The hotel is about a two minute walk from the La Spezia train station, which is about an eight minute ride from the first Cinque Terre village of Riomaggiore.

The hotel itself was very nice, with good-sized rooms, free Wi-Fi in the downstairs lobby/lounge area, and a decent continental breakfast. The air conditioning worked well in our room, and it was pretty quiet at night.

All in all a great place to stay if you're exploring the surrounding region.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDawgTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed here for one night in July, at our most expensive hotel for our entire trip we were very disappointed in value for money.

The rooms were small and they had given us two single beds which we pushed together. Nice new bathroom with a fantastic shower. Breakfast started at 7am ( i think) but there is not point getting there early to start your day as the hot items were not layed out until half an hour later, causing a late start to our only day in the Cinque Terre.

Staff were pleasant and it was a great location right next to the train station. There was a supermarket and laundry-mat just round the corner.

Overall a nice stay but priced at $70 more per night then our other hotels, you are paying for pure location, with a little service.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Europe_July_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed for three nights in early August and spend the time exploring the town as well as the famous Cinque Terre. The hotel is located just across from the train station and the staff are very helpfull in explaning train times etc. to get out there. We enjoyed the stay very much and the staff at reception, in the bar or at breakfast were excellent! - We would come back here!!
(You can park right outside the hotel for a fee of 8 EUR/night)

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor where the rooms have a small balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed here for just one night before we headed up to Cinque Terre. The hotel is right next to the train station, so great location. Because the hotel is so central, the drive in is not for the faint hearted!

La Spezia itself is quite an industrial town, and possibly not as nice as the touristy costal areas.

The hotel itself was clean and friendly. The rooms were pretty basic and i (personally) think they could do with a safe in each room for security.

One thing that we found was that we had a room right next to the lift and were constantly woken up by other guests, getting out of the lift door and smashing the lift door against the wall (which was the other side of where we were trying to sleep).

Breakfast was pretty good and had a good selection too.

Good value for money.

Room Tip: dont get a room by the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 75SLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#5 of 21 in La Spezia
588 reviews
0.5 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#3 of 21 in La Spezia
761 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#4 of 21 in La Spezia
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#2 of 21 in La Spezia
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#10 of 21 in La Spezia
341 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ghironi
Hotel Ghironi
#7 of 21 in La Spezia
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Address: Via Pietro Paleocapa 7, 19122, La Spezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range: £67 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Hotel Firenze and Continentale in La Spezia dates back to the beginning of the last century and is today one of the premier luxury accommodations in this historical city that sits just at the foot of the Cinque Terre National Park.The elegant building's aristocratic feel is accentuated with quality decor, furnishings and other thoughtful complements including Carrara marble floors, Trompe l'Oeil murals, Mogano boiseries and hand beaten iron and brass lamps.A top quality 3 star hotel located in the historical city centre of La Spezia, the Hotel Firenze and Continentale is just a few short steps from the newly pedestrianized heart of the town and close to La Spezia Centrale train station, making for quick and easy connections to the Cinque Terre in a couple of minutes.Having undergone regular renovation since the first part of the 20th century, the Firenze and Continentale La Spezia is now regarded as one of the finest accommodations in the city while still maintaining the building's original architectural identity - typified by that liberty style grandeur of the pre-WWI era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Blastness , Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firenze e Continentale Hotel
Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing