We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy location for 5 terre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Easy location for 5 terre”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

It was lovely to get off the train and find that the hotel was just a few steps away (saw it as the train was arriving). It was very easy to walk in to town and to catch the train to 5 terre again later on and the next day, hugely convenient not being there with a car. The hotel was nice and comfortable, friendly staff and clean.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elina53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabri08, Direttore at Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
We thank you for you nice review and we’re happy you think our hotel has a good location. About the car, we’re glad to inform you we have a new parking area where you can leave your vehicle all day. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    333
    132
    32
    11
See reviews for
114
376
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Rather than arrive in Cinque Terra at night we stayed at this hotel, just steps away from the train station. Our room was modern and spacious with a balcony that accommodated a table and two chairs. Breakfast (with better than average cold offerings) was included and served in a bright and classy top floor room. The staff was responsive and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabri08, Direttore at Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We always try to do our best to make your holiday as comfortable as possible and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Hotel is just steps away from the train station - an ideal
location. (We were supposed to go to Cinque Terre and stay
in Riomaggiore, but because of the floods and mud, we
changed our plans - trains at that time were canceled to
Riomaggiore - and booked this hotel.)

Hotel is three star in a converted townhouse. Room was clean
and spacious, and had one of the best showers we had found
in Italy. (Other reviewers said the shower was small - not
sure if there are different sized showers in different
rooms, but ours was more than ample. Shower was roomy, and
water pressure the best on our trip to Italy.)

Hotel says they offer the best breakfast in La Spezia and
they are right on the mark. The spread was great, in a room
on the fifth floor (access able from the third floor),
overlooking the city.

Reception staff was very helpful, spoke English, answering
our questions for directions, places to go, restaurants to
eat in, etc.

Only complaints are there was no refrigerator in the room
and WiFi was only free in the hotel lobby and bar area. We
were able to connect in the lobby, the bar and the beautiful
side lounge-reading room.

We had an enjoyable two days in La Spezia - it is both a
stepping off point for those going to the Cinque Terre, but
is much more. This was Italy as it is for Italians - this is
a working city in which there are not throngs of tourists -
at least not while we were there. With a population of
around 100,000 this is a sizable city, and one of the major
ports. The harbor is beautiful, next to the harbor is
beautiful Salvador Allende Park, filled with palms trees and
succulent gardens. Walking to the harbor, to the city center
or any of the city museums is a short walk from the hotel.
We found great restaurants here, and spent a day in the
beautiful city of Portovenere, also a UNESCO World Heritage
landmark. The bus ride from La Spezia to Portovenere is
about half-hour, and buses run every fifteen minutes.

We would definitely stay here again, and highly recommend
this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jaynyc59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabri08, Direttore at Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
Thank you so much for your nice review, we’re so glad you had a good time in our hotel and you liked La Spezia’s surrounding areas. In our hotel there are different types and levels of rooms (comfort, superior, suite and junior suite) and the refrigerator is only in Superior rooms. Hoping to see you soon, we’ll be happy to make your stay even more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

The best thing the hotel offers is that it's opposite to the train station to Cinque Terra, therefore you do not waste time, on a quick visit. The hotel has an expensive decor and looks a bit fancy, but the room is of average size. The bathroom was new. The breakfast was probably better than others in our Italian trip, but the coffee was the worst.

I am not sure what is the normal price for such a room (off season!), but we booked it in the last minute, and received a special deal (still not cheap). Then we had to argue a bit with the guy in the reception, that that was really what we have paid and only after a couple of minutes we received our room. Other stuff members were nicer.
Parking is super-expensive (18E), so if you are ok with it park on the street. We paid 4E for 12 hours.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kangarooInAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

A good location within 5 minutes of the railway station. There are frequent trains to the Cinque Terre towns. What is not so well publicised is that you can take a bus (E1.90) to Porto Venere, which is a fantastic waterfront town, not on the railway line - well worth a visit. In addition, you can walk down to the harbour and catch the boat which visits Porto Venere and all the Cinque Terre towns. The view from the water is splendid.
The hotel is Ok for the purpose, the the staff are helpful and the breakfast on the top floor is good value. There are several restaurants in town within an easy walk.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellerofold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowen Island, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Not sure how this got the number one rating in the city....rooms are ok....no Internet except in the bar...no fridges in the room...there is an in room safe, however and for the first time in a month, we were able to get the BBC and Blomberg tv in English. Staff are very friendly. The included breakfast is very plentiful served by a wonderful young lady.
The rooms are quite basic....the smallest shower we had...even compared to the one on a cruise ship....plentiful hot water. The pillows were also the hardest we slept on in a month.
The off-season room rate was very affordable though and it did seem that the hotel was quite busy.
If you are staying in La Spezia, do NOT miss out on having an amazing dinner at the Osteria dela Corte. It is rated as the #1restaurant in the city and definitely lives up to the rating!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

I stayed here for one night, on my way from the south of Italy to Cinque Terre. This hotel has a nice, high class look to it, but they missed the mark by not following up with attention to detail. Firstly, there was an overwhelming scent of carpet cleaner or some other pervasive heavy chemical smell throughout. Also, the elevator was on the fritz (yikes) and my room was dusty. I know it sounds picky, but since when in the hospitality industry is excessive dust on furniture OK? Again, the decor is expensive looking and the bathroom design/ decor was impressive and upscale. I did not appreciate that the room I was given after traveling 12 hours was in a stairwell, overlooking the train station. I slept with my earplugs. The breakfast offered was nice and presented well. The nightly rate matched the decor, but not the overall experience. I felt overcharged for one night of rest.

Room Tip: Just hope you don't get a room in a stairwell, facing the train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennifromtheblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.7 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 21 in La Spezia
1,075 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 21 in La Spezia
309 reviews
0.5 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#4 of 21 in La Spezia
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#8 of 21 in La Spezia
311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#3 of 21 in La Spezia
561 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ghironi
Hotel Ghironi
#9 of 21 in La Spezia
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Property: Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
Address: Via Pietro Paleocapa 7, 19122, La Spezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Hotel Firenze and Continentale in La Spezia dates back to the beginning of the last century and is today one of the premier luxury accommodations in this historical city that sits just at the foot of the Cinque Terre National Park.The elegant building's aristocratic feel is accentuated with quality decor, furnishings and other thoughtful complements including Carrara marble floors, Trompe l'Oeil murals, Mogano boiseries and hand beaten iron and brass lamps.A top quality 3 star hotel located in the historical city centre of La Spezia, the Hotel Firenze and Continentale is just a few short steps from the newly pedestrianized heart of the town and close to La Spezia Centrale train station, making for quick and easy connections to the Cinque Terre in a couple of minutes.Having undergone regular renovation since the first part of the 20th century, the Firenze and Continentale La Spezia is now regarded as one of the finest accommodations in the city while still maintaining the building's original architectural identity - typified by that liberty style grandeur of the pre-WWI era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firenze e Continentale Hotel
Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing