We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a find!!!”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Well What can I say about this great Hotel. Loved La Spezia!!! Location perfect for those who want to visit the Cinque Terre, which by the way are now back to normal after the floods.People make the place special for you; Met the owner Gabriella, what a dynamo,enthusiastically greets guests, can't do enough for you. The biggest & best Bathroom in all of Italy. The breakfast which is included in room rate is exceptional, on the roof terrace overlooking the hills of La Spezia, just magicalcal..Breakfast includes locally sourced boutique produce, ogranically grown fruit, jams, honey, cheeses, yoghurts, breads tarts & pastries. Staff was very pleasant & helpful, The Concierge has a sister, who got me a hair appointment within 1/2 hr on a saturday morning, impossible to get. As an Australian I need my Tea & coffee making facilities in my Room. How happy was I when I saw that Kettle and array of goodies in my room.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angela a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabri08, Direttore at Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Dear Angela,
thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel, our staff and our breakfast on top of the building. We really appreciate it! Thank you also for informing the other people Cinque Terre area is now back to normal after the last October floods. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    331
    131
    32
    10
See reviews for
113
373
26
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

This is a comfortable hotel in an excellent location – just a few minutes from the station. We used La Spezia as a base for exploring the Cinqueterre and it was certainly much easier taking our luggage to the ‘Firenze’ than it would have been carrying it up the hills of the Cinqueterre towns. The room and bathroom were clean and with enough space. The buffet breakfast was extensive by European continental breakfast standards and it was served in a pleasant top floor room with views of the hills around La Spezia. Free wifi is available only in the ground floor bar area – a drawback which will need to change for the hotel to remain competitive.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lananarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

We made our choice due to the hotels location to the train station, 100 meters so very well positioned for backpackers. The spacious foyer and room was a welcome sight. The cleanliness was of a very high standard. The breakfast was diverse and catered to all tastes. It was presented in a lovey dining room on the 3 rd floor with an amazing view to the mountains. We were disappointed that there was no Bar fridge or Tea/coffee making facilities. We purchased Wi Fi for the bedroom but this never worked and there was no effort or apology given to rectify this. There was free WiFi in the lobby. We spoke to 3 others who had the same problem. We found the girls at reception very bright and cheerful but could not say the same for the gentleman who worked most afternoons we were there. We felt his customer service skill to be very poor. I feel this is a good 3 star hotel. It is comfortable, clean and spacious but provides no extras. We had an amazing time visiting the surrounds and this hotel was convenient.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jennine k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The Hotel Firenze e Continentale is an excellent place to stay in La Spezia. The room was spacious, bathroom large (except for the shower - no fatties would fit) and the breakfasts excellent. The staff were also very obliging and helpful particularly the breakfast lady who wished everyone 'bon giorgno' on arrival and the reception staff good. Location nearby the La Spezia Central also a big plus for train users.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabri08, Direttore at Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your kind review!I hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Getting to the hotel was an adventure since Garmin doesn't seem up to date with the one-way street directions, but after several detours we arrived and were greeting by a helpful, courteous staff. Rooms are nice sized and the bathroom we had was long and narrow but with nice tile and fixtures. The windows open and have shutters and the rooms are quiet. We were visiting Cinque Terre and the train station is directly across the street. There are several excellent restaurants in the streets around the hotel but don't miss the buffet breakfast, it's great! The food is fresh and varied and the coffee is the best I've ever had. If you drive a car be sure and tell them while checking in, they have several reserved spots in the covered parking and they have in-out privileges. It's a classy old fashion hotel where you leave you key at the desk when not in your room - and that's the only strange thing, the key must be used to lock/unlock the door from BOTH sides. If you are a couple in the room you better plan to leave at the same time or have whoever stays in the room lock you out. But we would definitely stay here again and recommend this jewel to all.

Room Tip: As in most hotels in old buildings the lift fits one person with luggage - get a room on a lower flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RM30139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabri08, Direttore at Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your so positive review of our hotel! I’m very pleased you enjoyed your stay and I thank you for your kind words about the hotel, the staff and our buffet breakfast! It’s typical in Italy to leave the keys in the front office; we have decided to do it also because we prefer to keep in touch with the guests every day and not only at check in and check out; that would be impossible with an anonymous magnetic key. Thanking you again, we really hope to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

A 4-star facility in a 3-star package! Beautifully appointed accommodation, friendly and helpful staff, excellent breakfast (included), extremely convenient location only steps from the train station. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: On a slightly picky note, we stayed in Room 145 on the fourth floor, and traffic on the street below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosebud814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabri08, Direttore at Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your nice review! I am really pleased to see that you have really enjoyed your stay and the staff thank you for your kind words! We look forward to welcoming you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Location is perfect for train connections either on Intercity trains or Regional to do the Cinque Terre walks or visit towns. The hotel is clean,the rooms good size for a short visit and the breakfast served on the top floor is very good for you to start the day.The staff were excellent and very helpful in all regards to recommending and making bookings.We would be very happy to return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flagsandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabri08, Direttore at Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Guest
thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and we do hope to welcome you back at the Hotel Firenze e Continentale!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.7 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 21 in La Spezia
1,055 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 21 in La Spezia
308 reviews
0.5 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#3 of 21 in La Spezia
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#4 of 21 in La Spezia
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#9 of 21 in La Spezia
308 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ghironi
Hotel Ghironi
#8 of 21 in La Spezia
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Property: Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
Address: Via Pietro Paleocapa 7, 19122, La Spezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Hotel Firenze and Continentale in La Spezia dates back to the beginning of the last century and is today one of the premier luxury accommodations in this historical city that sits just at the foot of the Cinque Terre National Park.The elegant building's aristocratic feel is accentuated with quality decor, furnishings and other thoughtful complements including Carrara marble floors, Trompe l'Oeil murals, Mogano boiseries and hand beaten iron and brass lamps.A top quality 3 star hotel located in the historical city centre of La Spezia, the Hotel Firenze and Continentale is just a few short steps from the newly pedestrianized heart of the town and close to La Spezia Centrale train station, making for quick and easy connections to the Cinque Terre in a couple of minutes.Having undergone regular renovation since the first part of the 20th century, the Firenze and Continentale La Spezia is now regarded as one of the finest accommodations in the city while still maintaining the building's original architectural identity - typified by that liberty style grandeur of the pre-WWI era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firenze e Continentale Hotel
Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing