We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

If you are planning on spending a lot of time in Cinque Terre this hotel can not be beaten for location, within a few hundred meters of the main station and an easy walk into the rest of town. Like most hotels in Italy the room is fairly small but with a decent bathroom and a great selection for breakfast. Internet in the lobby is free to use with plenty of comfortable couches. Also have to say a big thank you to Cecilia at the front desk, she was extremely helpful in assisting me with printing and scanning documents for me when I needed to send a contract back home even during a busy part of her day.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    299
    127
    30
    10
See reviews for
104
339
26
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

The hotel is about 30m from the train station. The hotel rooms are typically small European rooms but clean. The decor is a little tired but we do not spend a lot of time in our rooms when travelling. The breakfast that is included is a real breakfast lots of variety and a generous buffet.The staff are helpful but not overly friendly.The hotel is also located close to extensive shopping in a pedestrian only area.

Room Tip: You can ask for delux rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark2016-57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarsota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

My comment will pertain only to the service we received at this hotel : Walter, the front desk attendant / night bartender was just awesome !! His service, knowledge and kindness was well appreciated after a long day at Cinque Terre !! Our party of 4 can't thank him enough and he should be commended on his representation of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoeSRQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabri08, Direttore at Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for you stay at Hotel Firenze e Continentale and for sharing your positive opinion with us! We are delighted to forward your nice words to Walter as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

The hotel has a perfect location, only few steps away from the train station. Great base if you are visiting cinque terre by train. Room was small and not as impressive as pictured. The bed was not so comfortable with dark blue bedcover, small shower but at least the room and shower were clean. Unfortunately this hotel as No free wifi inside the room, and no free parking. We stayed in this hotel for one night only, It was just good enough for transit after a whole day of hiking and tour of cinque terre. Staff were friendly and can speak English well. Breakfast was OK for Italian standard. I like the italian restaurant right in front of the hotel, it has great homemade pasta and ravioli.

Room Tip: Book the Superior room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rairliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabri08, Direttore at Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Dear Guest,
I really regret our hotel couldn’t satisfy all your expectations; the room you chose (you speak about a blue bedcover) was a standard room, so it was smaller than a superior one. Our hotel has got a free wifi connection in the common area and, like most of the hotels, has an internet connection in the room, but not free of charge. As I read, you stayed in our hotel in 2011 and since 2012 many changes there have been concerning our breakfast; now it’s more abundant and it has organic products, zero food miles. We truly hope to welcome you back to our hotel at any future occasions in order to let you see all our changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

This hotel is very well located - a couple of minutes from the train station, and handy to catching the train to Cinque Terre. The room we had was ok but the shower size was ridiculous. You had to wedge yourself in before you closed the doors, and bad luck if you dropped your soap, as you wonuldn't be able to bend to retrieve it!! The man at the front desk when we arrived had an attitude problem and was very unfriendly, however another man later that evening suggested we dine at the restaurant opposite called "Ristorante Roma" which we did and thoroughly enjoyed. The owner and waitress, who spoke not one word of english, explained the menu in italian and brought out an enormous tray of handmade mushroom ravioli and they were fabulous. We ate there the following night and weren't disappointed. For good food and an entertaining waitress, it was an extremely cheap meal.

The lift in this hotel is a little odd as it has 2 doors. The first one opens automatically and the second has a hand drawn on it, which I tried to slide, but take note, you need to push this second door. It is also related to the shower as it's tiny, fitting one bag and one person only. Breakfast was ok but the breakfast room at the top of the hotel was lovely, looking over the rooftops of La Spezia.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabri08, Direttore at Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Dear Yvonne,
thank you for choosing our hotel and writing on Tripadvisor about us. Our hotel has got different types of rooms, so the rooms and the bathrooms vary in size and shape. I’m sorry you found the shower and the lift so small, but, believe me, these are the Italian standards. If they didn’t respect the standards provided for by law, it wouldn’t be possible to have such a bathroom and lift. The outside door of our elevator is a fireproof door, provided for by law.
About the man at the front desk, please accept my sincerest apologies if he didn’t welcome you as he should have done; on the other hand I’m very pleased to read you really enjoyed the restaurant we suggested.
Apart these two inconvenients, I hope you enjoyed your stay and I wish to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

This hotel is located as close as you can possibly be to the train which takes you to Cinque Terre. Staff was both helpful and informative. They made a mistake in not noticing I had reserved a parking space, and gave me a premium space right up against the building for free. The breakfast was one of the better one's we have had in all of our trips to Italy. The room was comfortable, bed a little uncomfortable, and bathroom well kept. Convenienty located to the old town of Stressa and many eating establishments.If visiting the 5 Terre as main reason for stay in Stressa, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tgrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabri08, Direttore at Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for writing about us and have such a nice words about the staff, the hotel and its breakfast. We really appreciate it and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johns Creek, GA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

+ The best thing about this hotel is that is is literally 200 steps from the train station. It is VERY convenient if you plan to hike or spend time in the Cinque Terre.

+ No train noise in our rooms (4th floor)

- Our welcome was AWFUL. We arrived early and were treated so rudely by the man at the desk! It was unbelievable.

- We were able to leave our luggage - but in an unsecured room around the corner from Reception, in the lobby. After being pick pocketed in the Genoa train station, this did not make me feel comfortable).

- Our room was nothing like the pictures - we had three people sharing one room - it was very small - but it was clean

- We were never told anything about breakfast - and never found any indication in the hotel that breakfast was available (sign, note in room, etc.). When I went to ask, the woman at the desk was checking out another guest - and her answers were so curt that I decided we would skip the breakfast and eat elsewhere.

- The hotel has two elevators which take you to different buildings/room numbers. The one closest to the reception desk takes you to rooms with only two digits. The other, three digits. If you take the wrong one, you'll have to find your way back to the correct building (stairs are usually involved) - we learned this the hard way - don't expect reception to tell you.

- WiFi is only available in the lobby.

- I think that, due to the staff, I would not return to this hotel. I'd find another.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrayFamilyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#3 of 22 in La Spezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 22 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#4 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#9 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ghironi
Hotel Ghironi
#10 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Property: Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
Address: Via Pietro Paleocapa 7, 19122, La Spezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Hotel Firenze and Continentale in La Spezia dates back to the beginning of the last century and is today one of the premier luxury accommodations in this historical city that sits just at the foot of the Cinque Terre National Park.The elegant building's aristocratic feel is accentuated with quality decor, furnishings and other thoughtful complements including Carrara marble floors, Trompe l'Oeil murals, Mogano boiseries and hand beaten iron and brass lamps.A top quality 3 star hotel located in the historical city centre of La Spezia, the Hotel Firenze and Continentale is just a few short steps from the newly pedestrianized heart of the town and close to La Spezia Centrale train station, making for quick and easy connections to the Cinque Terre in a couple of minutes.Having undergone regular renovation since the first part of the 20th century, the Firenze and Continentale La Spezia is now regarded as one of the finest accommodations in the city while still maintaining the building's original architectural identity - typified by that liberty style grandeur of the pre-WWI era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firenze e Continentale Hotel
Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing