We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and comfortable hotel close to train station for visiting Cinque Terre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed 3 nights solo in double-room in June 2013. Room on 3rd floor, with front view, was huge and had large integrated closet in entrance, big comfortable bed, table and chair, lovely and well-equipped bathroom, plenty amenities. Surprisingly, the walls of the room were bare, having no pictures or frames hung up, which gave a not-so-warm atmosphere to this otherwise elegant and comfortable space. Breakfast room was nice and cosy and gave access to a terrace which offered a great view of the surroundings. Buffet-style sweet and savoury breakfast was plentiful, offering fresh, local and quality food products. Eggs were offered scrambled or uncooked for guests to boil their own to their liking in a special boiled-egg cooker (Neet!). Likewise, a conveyor-toaster allowed them to toast their preferred type of bread. Coffee was ordinary. Other beverages were also offered. Specialty coffees (espresso, cappuccino, etc.) were available at bar in lobby. Well-functioning WiFi, though with different usernames and passwords for lobby and rooms, was available. Staff was professional, discreet, efficient and helpful. Within steps from and to the train station, this hotel is a plus whether one is arriving from a strenuous journey, wishes to visit the Cinque Terre or has to leave early; also, it is in La Spezia, which is all by itself a very nice place to spend a couple of days. Privilege location of hotel and lesser accommodations of the sort in this part of Italy probably justify its higher rates. I recommend this hotel and personally wouldn't mind staying there again.

Room Tip: ThIs hotel is set in two adjoined buildings. Make sure to have a room in first property as other gue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (769)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 769 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

It's a good choice if you want to visit Cinque Terre. It offers everything you need: nice and comfortable rooms, perfectly working shower, good variety of breakfast items. Even though next to railway, it was not too noisy. Would recommend this place to others and could imagine returning there anytime!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buesi85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The good: if you come to La Spezia by train, this will be the first hotel you find coming from the station...maybe 100 yards from the station. Good as well, you do not hear the trains at the hotel. We stayed two nights while we visited the Cinque Terre villages. The first morning we got up somewhat late (9 am). Breakfast is from 7 - 10, but at 9 o'clock, everything was pretty much picked over. When we asked if there was anything else available, we were told that was it. This morning before we left, we were down by 7:45 and there was a full breakfast buffet available. Rooms were fairly basic...no frills. Bathroom has recently be updated and were nice. Good water pressure which surprised me considering the age of the hotel.

Room Tip: Get to breakfast early. By 9 everything was pretty much picked over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tymbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We were able to check in early, to a nice room only a very short (1min) walk from the train station.
Best to ask for rooms away from the lift, but otherwise great. The breakfast was great with a wide variety on offer.
They had just upgraded the wifi which maybe why ours was bad, but they thanked us for letting them know so they could fix it. It's room by room connections.
Very handy for exploring the Cinque Terre without having lift suitcases up stairs...

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank JoykieOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Lovely old building right near the train station which gives you great access to the Cinque Terre. Bedroom was very nice and comfortable with nice beds and a nice bathroom. Breakfast was hard to find but once you did it was right at the top of the hotel with a nice view and good food to start the day. Staff where nice and helpful and overall was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jono O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed here three nights while we visited the Cinque Terre. It's located just a couple of minutes walk from the railway station, no noise from the trains in our room. Staff were very helpful and the building has retained its charm and character. Rooms were a good size and modern en Suite shower room. Our only criticism was that shower head was too big for the cubicle and there was nowhere to hide from the shower. Overall a great hotel to stay in while visiting the Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My wife and I were joined by our two adult daughters in a two night stay at this hotel. It was recommended and arranged by our travel agent as the gateway to Cinque Terre and leaving the area.
Located directly across the street from the train station, we had a one stop train trip to Cinque Terre, a convenient return spot after a long day touring (returned 11pm), then a one minute walk to get our train to Pisa the next morning.
As far as the hotel, it was really basic, the rooms were drab and the bathroom was retro-fitted into the room. It was clean.
We spent two nights because we arrived in the area late the first day, and left immediately the third morning.
We spent virtually no time in the hotel except with our eyes closed and asleep.
Note: Free Wi-fi is available in the lobby.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwoavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#5 of 21 in La Spezia
588 reviews
0.5 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#3 of 21 in La Spezia
761 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#4 of 21 in La Spezia
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#2 of 21 in La Spezia
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#10 of 21 in La Spezia
341 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ghironi
Hotel Ghironi
#7 of 21 in La Spezia
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Address: Via Pietro Paleocapa 7, 19122, La Spezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range: £69 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Hotel Firenze and Continentale in La Spezia dates back to the beginning of the last century and is today one of the premier luxury accommodations in this historical city that sits just at the foot of the Cinque Terre National Park.The elegant building's aristocratic feel is accentuated with quality decor, furnishings and other thoughtful complements including Carrara marble floors, Trompe l'Oeil murals, Mogano boiseries and hand beaten iron and brass lamps.A top quality 3 star hotel located in the historical city centre of La Spezia, the Hotel Firenze and Continentale is just a few short steps from the newly pedestrianized heart of the town and close to La Spezia Centrale train station, making for quick and easy connections to the Cinque Terre in a couple of minutes.Having undergone regular renovation since the first part of the 20th century, the Firenze and Continentale La Spezia is now regarded as one of the finest accommodations in the city while still maintaining the building's original architectural identity - typified by that liberty style grandeur of the pre-WWI era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Blastness , Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firenze e Continentale Hotel
Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing