We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We traveled to La Spezia by train on visit to Cinque terre. It was an easy walk from train station. The rooms were comfortable and rather modern with good bathrooms. The downstairs reception rooms were comfortable and welcoming. The breakfast room is on an upper floor with a great view and the breakfast buffet was very nice. The wifi was good, an added bonus and the staff was ver obliging. There are bicycles available therefor touring the town

Room Tip: Rooms are updated and comfortable. Superior or less expensive doubles are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharkdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    333
    132
    32
    11
See reviews for
114
376
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was a great hotel and conveniently located to the train station. The hotel itself was nice and charming. The bathrooms have recently been renovated and done very nicely.

Avoid the rooms facing the train station as it is very noisy. If you keep the windows closed you should be fine. We stayed in room 35 and were there for two nights. The first night we made the mistake of sleeping with the windows open. Again, if you want to sleep with the windows open avoid the side of the hotel facing the train station.

Jennifer was absolutely amazing! She provided several restaurant suggestion and tended the bar. Great breakfast in the morning with very friendly and accommodating staff.

I would definitely go back. Keep in mind that it is a short trip to Cinque Terre. It is definitely worth the trip.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms facing the train station unless you sleep with the windows closed. Can be a bit nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gandy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The Hotel Firenze E Continentale in La Spezia is in the perfect location, right next to the railway station, and to stay here is to walk back in time to the era of genteel downtown small hotels offering service and charm. Like in an old time movie, you turn in the paper weight size key at the front reception each time you go out, and ask for it when you return. The marble stairs are from the local quarries in the Apuan Alps. Turning the heavy key around twice to lock or unlock adds to the unhurried ambiance. There are several very elegant seating areas in the lobby, making coming and going a pleasant experience. The room was very small, but nicely upgraded. The window was shuttered, making it quiet, but very dark, almost like an inside room in a cruise ship. There was no comfortable seating, only a wooden task chair at the desk. The huge rain shower head provides a soothing end to the day. Your first breakfast will be breathtaking, as the breakfast room is in the penthouse, with a spectacular view of the surrounding mountains in every direction. The spread was also quite impressive, and attentive staff serve your choice of coffee. The train station location is particularly beneficial, as you can take an awe-inspiring trip to the Cinque Terre just a short train ride away, which combined with high level walking trails and a scenic ferry ride, is a jaw-dropping experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heikermeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My family (myself, wife, and 22 year old daughter) absolutely loved the Hotel Firenze, in La Spezia.

Location: As other reviewers have noted, so convenient near the train station. An easy 3 minute walk. Obviously, the train station takes you to all of the Cinque Terre towns in just a few mins for 1.50 Euro each way. Or you can get a Cinque Terre day pass for $12 which lets you hop on / hop off, as well as go on the various hikes between villages, some of which cost $5. Back to the review. It's an easy 15 minute walk into the town of La Spezia for shopping, or the outdoor farmer's market for cheap fruit on the go, or to the marina. At the marina, you can take a ferry (a bit pricey ~ 20 euros each) which can take you to most of the 5 villages -- although rough waters didn't allow it to run while we were there.

Staff: Super friendly, nice, and helpful. All spoke English.

Rooms: We loved our Superior Triple. It was a beautiful room, plenty large, with an extra single bed for our daughter. Bathroom was huge. It had a beautiful balcony, which overlooked the train station and the scenic hillside beyond. Even though we faced the station, it was not noisy at all. Trains don't run in the middle of the night, so maybe that was part of it. We've read complaints about the Wi-Fi, but we had no trouble. I believe the Superior rooms are in the newer/renovated part of the building where the Wi-Fi works much better. For only a small incremental cost, you can upgrade from normal to Superior -- definitely go with the Superior. it's still MUCH cheaper than staying IN one of the Cinque Terre villages.

Breakfast: While I've read a few negative reviews, we all thought it was one of the best breakfasts of any hotel we'd been at. In a beautiful room with a great view over the city, tons of hot and cold selections. Plenty of seating. Delicious and plentiful. Only negative is that it's a bit hidden in the hotel, but we had no trouble finding it.

Overall, the only minor negative was the tiny elevator. But who cares -- it's comically small, but functional, and our family of 3 was able to squeeze into it with our luggage. Not a big deal.

If you visit Cinque Terre, definitely consider staying at Hotel Firenze!

Room Tip: Choose a Superior Room. Only a small amount more, and you get a larger room. Plus, we believe all Su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SD-Traveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Having travelled a lot in Italy we booked in advance and whilst it was clean and well located, given the price we found at nearly 200 euros for a suite was a lot given the standard when compared to others during our trip. Slightly faded glory on the interior and rooms compared to others in the vicinity. Breakfast is served on 5th floor which wasnt ideal with pushchairs. I would say this is more of a couples hotel looking to be in a good location. Plus apart from the wifi, cots and parking are all chargeable extras.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suttons Bay, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

In keeping with the thread of reviews the Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia is located steps away from the train station. You'd think being by the train station would make it noisy, but no...not any more so than any city hotel. The staff is very friendly & helpful. Rooms are clean. Restaurants are within walking distance, as is a laundromat and the lovely marina and park area.. There is a happy hour at the lobby bar, with snacks (though you do pay for the drinks). And, the breakfast that is included in the room rate is huge and delicious! .We recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sllaing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We spent 3 nights in this centrally located hotel using it as our home base as we went sight-seeing in the area. The train station was only steps away, yet our room was quiet. The reception staff, expecially Arianna, were friendly and helpful as was the young woman working in the breakfast room. Our room was very clean, spacious and nicely updated....although we found our beds quite hard.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank platzyVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.7 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 21 in La Spezia
1,075 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 21 in La Spezia
310 reviews
0.5 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#4 of 21 in La Spezia
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#8 of 21 in La Spezia
311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#3 of 21 in La Spezia
562 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ghironi
Hotel Ghironi
#9 of 21 in La Spezia
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Property: Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
Address: Via Pietro Paleocapa 7, 19122, La Spezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Hotel Firenze and Continentale in La Spezia dates back to the beginning of the last century and is today one of the premier luxury accommodations in this historical city that sits just at the foot of the Cinque Terre National Park.The elegant building's aristocratic feel is accentuated with quality decor, furnishings and other thoughtful complements including Carrara marble floors, Trompe l'Oeil murals, Mogano boiseries and hand beaten iron and brass lamps.A top quality 3 star hotel located in the historical city centre of La Spezia, the Hotel Firenze and Continentale is just a few short steps from the newly pedestrianized heart of the town and close to La Spezia Centrale train station, making for quick and easy connections to the Cinque Terre in a couple of minutes.Having undergone regular renovation since the first part of the 20th century, the Firenze and Continentale La Spezia is now regarded as one of the finest accommodations in the city while still maintaining the building's original architectural identity - typified by that liberty style grandeur of the pre-WWI era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firenze e Continentale Hotel
Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing