We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Convenient Location”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

If you are looking to stay in a place right outside of the Cinque Terre then this is a great hotel. It is just feet from the train station (walk out the train station and turn right- you can see the hotel sign from there). It is also convenient (about 10 minute walk) to the ferry that you can take the boat to see the region- if you want a different view than from the train. JUST NOTE- the wifi is not free in the room- you have to use the T3 line- but they do provide a line for you. The wifi is only free in the lobby. The wine tasting was great and the bartender was from America and she shared a lot of great tips!

Room Tip: There is a lot of shopping and restaurants just to the right of the hotel- venture out- La Spezia mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alwayslooking2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    333
    132
    32
    11
See reviews for
114
376
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was a lovely hotel. Very close to the station to get you to the Cinque Terre and also close enough to the shopping and eating area's. Rooms were clean and pleasant. The breakfast was also very nice. Would most definitely go back there!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

On our road trip in Italy, we wanted to visit Cinque Terre without bringing our car. This hotel was ideally located close to the railway station (15min to CinqueTerre) and could arrange private parking in a small garage. Good english speaking employees (not that common in Italy) who were friendly and helpful. Breakfast ok but not more than so. Clean room with good sanitary standard. We did not explore La Spezia at all, but as a base for exploring Cinque Terre this hotel worked well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scrambledeggslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I wanted to stay in la Spezia for one night to catch an early train after having been in Cinque Terre for a few days. The hotel is right next to the train station. The hotel is ok but the mattresses are hard and to top it off, the pillows were just as hard which makes it hard to get a good nights sleep. The showers were the smallest I have ever encountered. Here are the positives - breakfast and the pleasant girl who works at the bar.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Flodayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabri08, Direttore at Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Guest,
I regret you found the mattresses and pillows hard as a rock and you found it difficult to get a good nights sleep. We decided to buy this kind of mattresses after a long research and they are one of the best mattresses for hotels at the moment. If you told us, we would have given to you softer goose down pillow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I chose the hotel because of its proximity to the railway station as I had an early departure the next day. It is very close to the station and that connection worked well.
On the negative side - the room was not ready at the time indicated. OK I only waited 30 mins but it was poor., The whole ambiance of the hotel was old fashioned and a bit quirky, it could have come out of the 50s - maybe some like that. The facilities of the room were OK but nothing special. The breakfast room was a bit hard to find but at least started serving from 7am. A curiosity was the lift which regularly (3 times) took 5 minutes or more to arrive. I have no idea why, just another feature of this peculiar place.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front face towards the railway line so the back is best if you want a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at the Firenze Continental in May 2014 for 4 nights when visiting Cinque Terre. The hotel is very close to La Spezia station - 2 minutes walk. The hotel was charming and a little old worldy. The reception staff were excellent and very helpful. Our room was on the 4th floor with a view toward the hills. The room was spacious with a big bathroom. It was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Even though it was close to the station we had no problem sleeping at night. The breakfast room was delightful with beautiful views out the window. The staff were lovely. There was a huge variety of fresh food including fresh warm bread, cheese, meat, cereals, yogurt, jams, cakes and more. In the evening there is a happy hour and the hotel provided nibbles in the bar. In La Spezia there's plenty of cafes and restaurants as well as shops for supplies. This is a great place to base yourself for visiting Cinque Terre. We got a cinque terre card from the station and spent 3 days visiting the 5 villages which are all charming. Unfortunately only one walk was open while we were there from Monterosso to Vernazza. The walk takes around 2 to 3 hours depending on how fit you are and how many times to stop to admire the stunning views. There's also lots of steps involved. The other walks were closed due to land slip which was disappointing but we visited each village by train using our cinque terre card. All the villages were different and charming and we'd recommend seeing all. We'd definitely stay at the Hotel Firenze Continental at La Spezia if visiting the area again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Room was quite sizeable, guy at check in was excellent and informative and it somehow manages to be in a quiet location yet just a stone's throw from the station. But wifi was non-existent which was a bit frustrating in terms of planning the next stages of our journey, trainee who manned reception for most of our stay was next to useless, and somehow the previous occupants of our room had bequeathed us their toothbrushes in all their used glory. Key is unecessarily huge and heavy and it's difficult to get into the hotel after they've locked the outer door at 11pm. So that's probably a no from me then.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timabdelhadytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.7 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 21 in La Spezia
1,075 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 21 in La Spezia
309 reviews
0.5 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#4 of 21 in La Spezia
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#8 of 21 in La Spezia
311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#3 of 21 in La Spezia
561 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ghironi
Hotel Ghironi
#9 of 21 in La Spezia
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Property: Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
Address: Via Pietro Paleocapa 7, 19122, La Spezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Hotel Firenze and Continentale in La Spezia dates back to the beginning of the last century and is today one of the premier luxury accommodations in this historical city that sits just at the foot of the Cinque Terre National Park.The elegant building's aristocratic feel is accentuated with quality decor, furnishings and other thoughtful complements including Carrara marble floors, Trompe l'Oeil murals, Mogano boiseries and hand beaten iron and brass lamps.A top quality 3 star hotel located in the historical city centre of La Spezia, the Hotel Firenze and Continentale is just a few short steps from the newly pedestrianized heart of the town and close to La Spezia Centrale train station, making for quick and easy connections to the Cinque Terre in a couple of minutes.Having undergone regular renovation since the first part of the 20th century, the Firenze and Continentale La Spezia is now regarded as one of the finest accommodations in the city while still maintaining the building's original architectural identity - typified by that liberty style grandeur of the pre-WWI era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firenze e Continentale Hotel
Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing