We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A MUST STAY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

Great location to base yourself to travel to visit the Cinque Terre and Porto Venere.
The hotel is only 1 minute walk from the train station and you can't hear the trains at night due to the rooms being located at the back of the hotel. It is only a 5 minute train ride to Riomaggiore the 1st village & then 5 min to each of the other 4 villages of the Cinque Terra and a 20 min bus ride to beautiful Porto Venere an absolute must see if you are going to visit The Cinque Terra villages. La Spetzia is a great place to stay as the hotel is right near the main square with its terrific shops & restaurants. The rooms are beautiful neat & tidy with modern bathrooms. The hotel is quite plush and stylish. The buffet breakfast was the best we had on our trip around Italy on the top floor over looking the beautiful mountains. The staff are so helpful & friendly & Arianne made our trip so enjoyable. Hotel Fiori La Spetzia so close to the Cinque Terra was the highlight of our trip to Italy.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hart4_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabri08, Manager at Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia, responded to this review, 24 January 2011
HI I am Gabriella, the General Manager of the Hotel Firenze &Continentale in La Spezia.
First of all thanks a lot for your amazing review.
Your comment are so important for us becouse is the best advertising that we can recieved.
Everyday we try to do our best in orther fulfil the expectation of our clients, however the competition are high and it is not easy.
Thanks to clients like yopu, we are able to give a value to our efforts.
best regards
Gabriellla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    305
    127
    31
    10
See reviews for
105
346
26
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gilgandra, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2010

Close to the railway station and very quiet. It was an easy walk to all the resteraunts. The room was a good size and breakfast was very good. The wi-Fi was expensive , 4 euros for 30 mins but overall a good base for Cinque Terra.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

As I write this review I must warn, it is tainted by our love for the restaurant across the street, which is the best mother-f-ood in the entire world. We went back two nights in a row because of it, and if there was more to do in La Spezia, you can bet that we would have eaten there again and again. Called Ristorante Roma, looks like a dive, but man, the freshest, simplest, most marvellous food ever.

Okay the hotel, we had lucked out as we did not make reservations and the few other hotels that we knew about were booked. This hotel ended up giving us a pretty good deal (the lady at the counter was sweet on my cute hubby). The room was huge, decent shower (good pressure, just small), and excellent balcony. The worst part was that they only had two single beds, but that was no big deal in the end as we were only there two nights. The bus station is directly behind, but because of the special blinds, you never heard anything. The only noise was from the others who stayed there when they shut their doors loudly. The breakfast was okay, nothing too great, but also not horrible. Besides, I was saving up for Ristorante Roma. The owner/chef was incredible, speak with him, ask him about his food, he will share recipes and his OMG olive oil!
We loved La Spezia although there was not much to do, take the boat to a "beach" (all rocks), go to the fruit market (really cheap and incredible), but the people everywhere were really kind here. Would go back in a second. Have to pay for internet use in the lobby, free parking.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank re_gftr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

This hotel was difficult to find by the road directions, it is off a round-about, through a set of boom gates and opposite the train station. Once inside is a little gem. We had pre-booked a car space in the hotel carpark (8 Euro) which was a great thing to do as they are limited. Breakfast was good value. The hotel had internet access. There is a supermarket across the road and other shops within 5 mins walk.

We stayed in La Spezia and caught the train to Le Cinque Terre. If walking is a problem this was the way to go as car access is restricted to the 5 towns and they are either full of steps or hills, so at least you can pick and choose which towns to visit as the train is cheap and stops and all on a regular basis, the furtherest Monterosso is about 12 minutes away by train. La Spezia itself is worth a look around as well.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BTS_29er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2010

Extremely near central train station but not noisy. Clean room and bathroom. Only one step up into hotel lobby, but 4 half flights without elevator service to breakfast room. Elevator to bedrooms. Internet service was exorbitantly priced - use reasonable internet cafe in nearby Piazza Garibaldi. Great place for Terre Cinque visiting.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spry13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
293 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

My husband and I stayed here in April 09. As we were driving around Italy, we found this hotel hard to find even with a GPS. The hotel is across from the train station, so access to catching the train to the Cinque Terra was great, but it is located off a roundabout behind boom gates and the street looks like a dead end...very deceiving.
The room was clean and nicley decorated with a comfortable bed (we chose a superior room). The rooms din't have air conditioning, but this was ok for April. Bathroom was clean, good shower with hot water, a decent hair dryer and friendly staff. We sat in the bar one night, had a night cap and talked to the young bar attendee for hours. She was very polite, friendly and talkative - a great way to pass a few hours before bed. Parking was on the street which catered for about 3 to 4 cars which costs 8 euro. Breakfast was good and included eggs, but you need to get there early as they are not often replenished. The ponly nbad thing about this hotel was finding it and soem noise from other rooms early in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny0401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2010

Nice hotel with nice lobby. Hard to find even with GPS. Front entrance located behind a parking gate. No where to park. We had to park on city streets. For train travelers it's right across the street. Nice rooms, nice breakfast views from top floor. Large marble tile bath. Our room had a weird layout at the end of a hall #118. We entered to a hall that had bath on one side and room on the other. Not a suite but not a regular room either. Nice lighting. Bad shower door design. Lots of one-way streets. Street noise. Busy area. Good for a night or two.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tadtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.3 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 22 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#3 of 22 in La Spezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#4 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#8 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ghironi
Hotel Ghironi
#9 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Property: Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
Address: Via Pietro Paleocapa 7, 19122, La Spezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Hotel Firenze and Continentale in La Spezia dates back to the beginning of the last century and is today one of the premier luxury accommodations in this historical city that sits just at the foot of the Cinque Terre National Park.The elegant building's aristocratic feel is accentuated with quality decor, furnishings and other thoughtful complements including Carrara marble floors, Trompe l'Oeil murals, Mogano boiseries and hand beaten iron and brass lamps.A top quality 3 star hotel located in the historical city centre of La Spezia, the Hotel Firenze and Continentale is just a few short steps from the newly pedestrianized heart of the town and close to La Spezia Centrale train station, making for quick and easy connections to the Cinque Terre in a couple of minutes.Having undergone regular renovation since the first part of the 20th century, the Firenze and Continentale La Spezia is now regarded as one of the finest accommodations in the city while still maintaining the building's original architectural identity - typified by that liberty style grandeur of the pre-WWI era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firenze e Continentale Hotel
Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing