We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed by the location and the limited shuttle service”
Review of Hotel Ghironi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ghironi
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Shropshire UK
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Disappointed by the location and the limited shuttle service”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We read the reviews on Trip Advisor before booking but were still unaware of how limited the shuttle bus service was. We telephoned ahead to say when we would arrive at the station. The next shuttle was a couple of hours after our arrival and was fully booked, another one was available a half an hour later. We were tired after a long journey and took the bus. Outside the station the L to Lerici (or the S). Fare was 1.90 each and the bus driver put us off at the right stop (Orgia Vecchia). But it was Sunday there was nothing open and no-one about and no sign to the hotel so it took a long time to find it with cases. The next day we wanted to visit the Cinque Terre and tried to book the shuttle bus - the times we wanted were already booked so we had to go a little later. We didn't get tickets for the Cinque Terre from the hotel - it is best to go to the Cinque Terre info office at the station because there are lots of options with tickets - walking only, or walking with the trains and electric buses and you can get 1 day or 2 day tickets. We had a 2 day ticket so we could hop on and hop off the trains and walk some of the trails between the villages. The hotel - it is quite a distance from the staton and in the middle of a quite built up area - part residential, a college next door and bounded by a busy road - virtually a motorway on another side. It was quite noisy with lots of scooters around early morning. There is a nice seafood restaurant nearby which was recommended by the hotel Il Mitili where the bus drops off. This is on the seafront but it is not possible to see any of the sea, because this is the big container port with big fences. Breakfast was OK choice of hot and cold plates and fruit. First morning when we had a slightly later start the fruit was all gone as was all the hot food. I personally couldn't drink the black tea - it was quite bitter tasting, but had fortunately taken my own tea bags. (Not something I expect to have to do in a 4 star hotel). It was not as nice or friendly as the 3 star, where we had stayed in Florence - the Hotel Machiavelli. Our room at Ghironi was quite small. There are just a few (3 I think) shuttle slots in the morning and a few in the evening to/from the station or the port. So beware of booking the hotel and expecting the shuttle to be available when you arrive or to be convenient for your departure. As it happened we wanted to catch the 9.35 train to Pisa on departure and so booked the 9.10 shuttle the first one for that day - which was perfect - but we had to book it a few days in advance. If you need to catch a train any earlier you would have to have a taxi. The shuttle bus takes just 7 people at a time. This hotel is better for guests with cars.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    183
    109
    33
    16
See reviews for
90
147
12
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Stayed at Ghironi at end of August (very hot) with 2 teenage children. Easy to find and convenient for getting on off main routes to other destinations. Staff excellent. Gave excellent advice about Cinque Terre for at least 15 mins on arrival. Unfortunately we had just missed last free shuttle but they gave directions to nearby bus stop and we paid 1 euro for ticket to train station which was 10/15 mins ride away. They provide a free shuttle to pick-up in evenings from near the train station as well, which we took advantage of. Rooms large, clean with air-con. Good continental breakfast with hot options - lots to choose from. Very good price for area. Would fully recommend. Don't forget to validate your Cinque Terre train ticket at the station otherwise you get fined!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tijjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We liked the hotel. The room and bathroom were quite large. Very quiet. Nice garden. Good breaksfast. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucciia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

The front desk lady was fantastic. She knew everything we asked her, very good English, and had many excellent recommendations. The room was very large, very clean. Free internet stations on the main floor. Excellent breakfast. The hotel is easy to find from the highway with lots of parking available.

I would stay in La Spezia if you plan on going to Cinque Terre. Don't do what we did and stay in Cinque Terre. There is a bus that goes from La Spezia to Cinque Terre and it is a 15 minute ride. From there you can go to any Cinque Terre town by train.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canadatraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2011

The first remembrance is of the semi-formal breakfast served there. Very unexpected quality. They even gave us leftovers that we had for lunch which we ate in Cinque Terre nearby. A nearby restaurant, Sole Mio, was a wonderful treat, very downhome and excellent food with an amiable host. We looked for gelato, but the only gelateria we found was at a local church where a local Scout fundraiser was in full bore. Nice local flavor! The hotel was a little hard to find by bus. Better to take a cab from the train station unless you don't mind a 20 minute bus ride and a little walk!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

There are more perks to this hotel than downfalls. It is quaint, the service is superb, the free breakfast is appreciated on a tight budget, and the rooms and bathrooms are large and clean. Really the only con is that it is not very conveniently located to the train station, BUT it does offer a complimentary shuttle (something unheard of practically anywhere else).

We loved our stay here and would recommend to other thrify travelers.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mel3202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2010

We had walked the Cinque Terre in the past and had one night to revisit the park, and did not want to spend a lot of money. The Ghironi was perfect for us. They have a shuttle bus (which you have to reserve ahead of time) that will take you to the train station and pick you up. There is also a public bus, which we never found. We took a cab. We had thought the hotel was closer to the train station and the port. Anyhow, the hotel is not new and in a not so great area. But rooms are large and clean, reception was friendly, helpful, and the breakfast was great, parking secure and free. We got a good price on Hotels.com. We visited Monterosso,Vernazza and Corniglia by train, taking the boat back to Riomaggiore at sunset, with the sun low in the southwest, making it perfect for photos of the small towns. We then took the train back to La Spezia.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woolly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
1.1 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 21 in La Spezia
1,055 reviews
1.4 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#3 of 21 in La Spezia
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 21 in La Spezia
308 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#9 of 21 in La Spezia
308 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#4 of 21 in La Spezia
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ghironi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ghironi

Property: Hotel Ghironi
Address: Via del Tino 62, 19126, La Spezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ghironi 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel staff are available 24 hours a day to assist you and can provide you with tourist information. There is also a free shuttle service that can bring you to the train station or the La Spezia harbour where you can take a boat to Cinque Terre, one of Italy’s most famous coastlines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ghironi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ghironi Hotel La Spezia
Ghironi La Spezia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing