We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for visiting the Cinque Terre”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ghironi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ghironi
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great for visiting the Cinque Terre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2008

We were a little concerned about staying at this hotel after reading some of the reviews, however we can only say how much we enjoyed staying there. Although the hotel was a fair way from the centre of town, there was a regular hotel shuttle bus to the train station, which was only a short walk from the town centre. The staff were all pleasant and extremely helpful not just with regard to the hotel and facilities but also in advising where to go and how to get there. They also recommended nearby places to eat. There is an excellent fish restaurant near to the hotel, although the staff there were a litlle surly, however the food made up for it! Also nearby is 'Il Gargantua', where both the food and the staff are excellent. All in all a great place to stay if you want to explore the Cinque Terre. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Pleasant staff, cleanliness and relaxed atmosphere
  • Disliked — Location - a little far out of town.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MrsB30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    173
    104
    33
    16
See reviews for
86
137
12
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nürnberg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2007

We stayed there for two nights on our way from Northern Italy to Tuscany by car.
The hotel room was very spacious and well furnished (also the bathroom). The breakfast was excellent, with great choice of food.
The hotel's shuttle bus (to train station and port) goes only at fixed times in the morning and evening and you have to register one day in advance. We used it to get to the boat for an outing to the Cinque Terre and it worked out perfectly. The receptionist was very kind and gave us lots of information (although her English was hard to understand) and leaflets about the region.
The hotel is located about 25-30 minutes walking distance from downtown. We walked there and took a taxi back to the hotel in the evening (about 8 EUR - a good deal as hotels downtown were more expensive). We would really recommend this hotel if you travel by car (Parking available, easy to find from the autostrada).

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tango145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2007

Spent four days at this hotel at end of July. Useful base for visiting the area. Good value, clean, efficient, and functional (got good rate via Booking.com). Staff very helpful. Car parking available at hotel. Hire car advisable for trips to Portovenere, Lerici, etc. but parking in La Spezia can be very difficult. Hotel a bit out-of-the-way in a rather ordinary part of town near docks (but easy to get to from autostrada). Therefore, courtesy shuttle service to/from station and marina very useful for trips to Cinque Terre.

  • Liked — Good value for b and b, nice room, helpful staff
  • Disliked — Location itself nothing to write home about, and no restaurant.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horganism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Aust
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2006

We couldn't agree more with "Sorely Disappointed"'s comments.
We stayed here for two nights in Sept 2006 and we also had to request a double room, after getting the small twin beds, with the smell of smoke, ( and by the way, all rooms are smoking rooms), which is quite unpleasant, if you don't smoke.
Reception staff were not very friendly at all. The shuttle bus does not operate within any timeframes of trying to catch early trains for the Cinque Terra , and the position of the hotel is too far out, and if you catch the bus, you must walk up back lanes to even find the hotel.
We would not stay here again, however, the locals of La Spezia did restore our faith when we got completely lost on the bus to the train station and missed our connecting train to Cinque Terra...some friendly locals helped us to find our way back, and we had all the locals on the bus making sure we knew how to get to train station (once our tears had stopped flowing).... You must see the Cinque Terra, even if don't stay here... go and see it.

  • Liked — It did have air conditioning
  • Disliked — Too much for one line
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay closer to town, or stay in the CT area
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lara19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Spezia hotels

Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2006

This hotel claimed to be a 3 star by Italian hotel standards, but was no where close to the other 3 star hotels we stayed in during our 6 months in Italy.
We requested a 2 bedroom suite. One room had two twin beds with a lamp and a phone that were inoperable. The other room had the air conditioning.
This hotel was also in an area that appeared to be very seedy. None of us were comfortable walking around the area.. especially trying to get to the main downtown area.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The set up was not what was promised. Very low class by american standards.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lcsluben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2006

We've stayed at Ghironi mid September for one night and we paid 69 euro by reserving the hotel by internet.
The hotel was the nicest one we’ve in our Italy tour (we’ve visited Rome, Venice, Milan, La Spezia and Firenze). It has a very convenient location for any one arriving by car (it has also its own free parking area) still you do not hear any noise due to the fact that the hotel is surrounded by beautiful vegetation. It was the only hotel that had a balcony and that served fresh fruits at breakfast. The room had very nice traditional furniture and was spacious and clean. The same for the bathroom. The bus that stops 150m away will take you to the train station in about 15 minutes and from there you can easily reach Cinque Terre. I would stay there again without hesitation .

  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ioanina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2006

Worst 4 stars I have ever seen. Not even worth 2 stars. Rooms are ok and maybe slightly bigger than the average 3 stars hotels in Europe but that's as good as it gets.

They do not even have a safe which most of the 1 star hotels have in Europe. You may get something that looks like a balcony but with view on uninteresting and noisy things and no chairs.

The hotel is located in the middle of nowhere and the only advantage is that it is close to the highway. It is far from the city centre as well as the train station and the best view you get is on the cranes of the industrial port close by.

The staff is mediocre and do not expect any service from them.

They offer a free shuttle to the train station but it does not run on schedule therefore you will either miss your train or they will leave you at the train station (which is miles away from the hotel).

By the way, when you book do not forget to mention that you want to sleep in the same bed than your wife because chances are that your room will have to tiny beds. Believe it or not this is what happened to us during what we hoped was going to be a romantic trip. We had to sleep in two separate tiny beds.

Reason given by the staff for getting such a room (even though we had booked our stay months in advance) was that we did not mention we wanted one bed. Not to mention that their booking site does not even allow selecting the bed type you would like.

It is the first time I write a review on this site but I really want to warn you on what to expect if you decide to go ahead and book a stay there.

  • Liked — Leaving it.
  • Disliked — Having two tiny beds in the room and the useless staff!
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid!
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Roaming_user
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
1.1 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#3 of 22 in La Spezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#4 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 22 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#8 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ghironi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ghironi

Property: Hotel Ghironi
Address: Via del Tino 62, 19126, La Spezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ghironi 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel staff are available 24 hours a day to assist you and can provide you with tourist information. There is also a free shuttle service that can bring you to the train station or the La Spezia harbour where you can take a boat to Cinque Terre, one of Italy’s most famous coastlines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ghironi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ghironi Hotel La Spezia
Ghironi La Spezia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing