We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great services, great rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ghironi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ghironi
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great services, great rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Honestly, the hotel is a bit old. But the front desk services is just great, since we arrive late and still want to go to cinque terre, even though we missed the original shuttle, one of the officers just add an additional shuttle to send us to the train station. Room is old but very big and cozy, great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garyocean3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    169
    102
    32
    16
See reviews for
86
137
11
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

although the hotel knew better days.. (you can tell that at the time it was considered as fancy one..) still it is very comfortable and great hotel.
the room was huge with a door and shutters (not only curtains, like the old version, but great to dark the room) a very big bathroom, very clean. The breakfast was very rich.
But the most nice about the hotel was the service of the desk front! the lady at the front desk gave us some tips about where to go and how to plan our day. The hotel has free shuttle from the train station and to the pier, till 22:15 at night. in case you wish to stay longer out side there is a bus stop near by.
the all service was very helpful and very kind!!
The only problem was with the internet , it should have been a free wifi but fortunately it was not stable at all so we hardly could use it
Generally speaking - it was a great choice

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tok1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Not really what we expected. The hotel is not in a great location and as long as you like looking at a container ship being loaded/unloaded 24 hours a day your ok. The hotel was very dated and simple things like the bath plug didn't work. Not somewhere I would recommend.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Spezia hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

it was the second time we stayed here, this time for 4 nights and we had a wonderfull time, the rooms are nice and clean with big balcony (try to get room at the top floors) the staff is VERY helpfull and friendly. the hotel is not in the center of La spezia but the hotel has free shuttle bus and the public bus is 100 meters away. Breakfast is typical italy. Only negative is there wifi system where you need to get new codes

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JetteHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
458 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 573 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights on our way South in Italy and can't recommend it highly enough!
From check-in to check-out, the staff couldn't do enough for us!
Our room was a great size, with a very very comfortable queen sized bed and lovely bathroom! Although we were facing a college, it was very quiet at night and the onsite car park was fine.
The buffet breakfast had all one could ask for and was continually replenished.
It's in a great location and is fantastic value for money - couldn't fault it on any count and can't recommend the Ghironi highly enough!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

When we sat down to write this review, the first thing that popped into our heads was Fawlty Towers. The hotel is almost a parody of a hotel, but not in the bad way.

When we checked in, the outspoken and very friendly receptionist filled us in on all the details about the hotel and the free shuttle service to the train station and ferry.

The interior of the hotel is decked out in the strangest assortment of furniture and decor. The lift is also tiny, but does the job.

Our room had a very strange smell to it — we suspect it was once a smoking room. Once you became used to the smell it wasn't a problem. The room is another ironic combination with the bathroom being brand new (due to a recent makeover), but the rest of the room being circa 1970 in terms of the styling.

Breakfast was great in the morning, as was the service from all of the staff. Free on site parking was also great.

If you're looking to stay somewhere near La Spezia that offers great services relating to the Cinque Terre, you can't go past this place for value.

While it's not a four star hotel (maybe not even a three star hotel), the staff and comic value of the joint more than make up for it.

Room Tip: If your room smells, ask for another one. It seems only the smoking rooms have the 'cover up'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pimptyltda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tualatin, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Hotel Ghironi is an excellent facility for those wishing to visit not only the Cinque Terre, but also other great sites such as Portovenere in the area. The Ghironi's and their staff offer excellent service and advice and are very welcoming hosts. The hotel offers free shuttle service to the train station, the harbor for ferry connections, and to restaurants. The rooms are very comfortable and the breakfasts are very good. There is very good free parking space and good wifi access. We highly recommend Hotel Ghrioni as a central base for exploring the region.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliverPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
1.7 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#3 of 22 in La Spezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
1.1 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#4 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 22 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#9 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ghironi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ghironi

Property: Hotel Ghironi
Address: Via del Tino 62, 19126, La Spezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ghironi 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel staff are available 24 hours a day to assist you and can provide you with tourist information. There is also a free shuttle service that can bring you to the train station or the La Spezia harbour where you can take a boat to Cinque Terre, one of Italy’s most famous coastlines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Ghironi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ghironi Hotel La Spezia
Ghironi La Spezia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing