We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is an awesome spot - good value and well situated!”
Review of Hotel Nella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Nella
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This is an awesome spot - good value and well situated!”
Reviewed 11 July 2010

The air conditioning is great! The rooms are clean and have everything you might need.
The included breakfast is more than adequate.
The staff are super friendly and helpful - and speak excellent English.
The hotel is way up the mountains, yet a short drive into La Spezia, Cinque Terre and Porto Venere.
The restaurant is lovely - partly outdoors and you are up in the peaceful mountains, so it is very relaxing.
There is free internet access - really, I can't think of any complaints - we would stay there again in a heart beat!! Free and easy access parking too.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaTravelBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    91
    36
    5
    2
See reviews for
34
98
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

The pictures don't do this place justice. It's located in the hills above La Spezia rather than in the town. Personally we loved that about it; it was quiet and beautiful, and just a short drive down the hill to the Cinque Terre train. The room was spacious and had a balcony. The bathroom had a fabulous shower with body jets. The restaurant was excellent - my husband said the lamb was the best he'd ever had - and there's another wonderful restaurant just across the road with an amazing view. There are hiking trails just up the road from the hotel, and even in the height of the tourist season, I didn't come across anyone else on them. If you're looking for a quiet spot with easy access to Cinque Terre, this fits the bill.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElynnToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2009

The hotel is extremely clean, rooms are simple, but nice. Although far from the city, we didn't mind as we had a car and we didn't need to go to La Spezia. The hotel restaurant is ok, too. My kids liked the breakfast and the sheep in the parking lot :)

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomfor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 April 2006

Well we had no idea we would be so far out of town, we had no transport of our own, so had to fork out for a taxi ride to the hotel. Was about 10 minutes and 15 euro in the taxi from the main train station. There is very little close to the hotel, a small shop that sold very basic items (drinks and coffee!) a couple of places to eat (one very expensive but very nice). Rooms were adequate but small. Breakfast was great. Bus stop reasonably handy for a ride into town. Staff were pretty friendly, most did not speak English, some spoke it well enough to help us get places. Overall an ok stay, not bad, just not the best place we've stayed for the money.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
2.4 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 21 in La Spezia
1,055 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 21 in La Spezia
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#9 of 21 in La Spezia
308 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Ghironi
Hotel Ghironi
#8 of 21 in La Spezia
417 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#3 of 21 in La Spezia
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nella

Property: Hotel Nella
Address: Via Genova 591, 19134, La Spezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nella 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1921 and run by the same family ever since, Hotel Nella is nestled in the green hills overlooking the Gulf of La Spezia, just a few kilometers from the city center, in a quiet, peaceful environment. Its strategic location makes it easy to reach downtown La Spezia and all of the area's major tourist sites, while also offering a favored position for visiting the picturesque villages of Liguria's hinterland. Featuring a dedicated and personalized service, it is the ideal destination for planning your stay to discover the "Cinque Terre National Park", a UNESCO World Heritage site, and Portovenere and its islands, or to spend a quiet day at the sea on the sandy beaches of Lerici and San Terenzo.- All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, Sky TV, and free Wi-Fi- Large, free, private parking available, also for tour buses- 5 km from the ferry boat boarding pier with services to the Cinque Terre and Portofino- 4 km from the La Spezia train station, with trains to the Cinque Terre, Genoa, Pisa, and Florence ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Nella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nella Hotel La Spezia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing