We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”
Review of Hotel Mary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mary
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
San Rafael, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
Reviewed 23 August 2011

After a long train ride from Rome, the Hotel Mary was a nice place to begin our vacation in La Spezia. Just across from the train station, it turned out to be the easiest place to locate in our entire trip through Italy (Venice was another story....)
Comfortable, clean and quiet, our room had a nice view of the hills to the west. The staff was the best part of our experience there, always patient with our very poor Italian and very generous with an excellent breakfast every day we were there.

Room Tip: The elevator is quite tiny, but considering how much we ate we got quite a bit of exercise on the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dbsfca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    124
    94
    36
    14
See reviews for
57
98
52
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palmyra, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

This hotel is the basics, but it's right near the train station and it is soooo easy to get on and off while visiting Cinque Terre without spending an arm and leg in those lovely five villages. I loved the staff at Hotel Mary. I promised them I would come back to the US and write a review because they bent over backwards to give us maps, give us time tables for trains and buses, helped us get our laundry taken care of, tell us where to eat, what times were good for the 5 Terre for each village and what to see, where the post office was, how to mail cards, where to buy clothing - they have to be the nicest and most patient staff at a hotel ever! It's not the Ritz Carlton, but it was perfect for the price - clean room, quiet room, soundproof windows (so not bothered by the train) - it's the basics.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnJ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

f you need a budget place to stay outside of Cinque Terra this works. Air conditioning worked well; the room was clean and basic. Breakfast was good with lots of breads, croissants, fruit, and ham. I would stay there again if I needed to be in La Spezia but really regretted not staying right in Cinque Terra. I saw so many open rooms when I got there and it would have been much better ( although maybe more expensive) to have been right in one of the villages. Overall a very basic hotel right by train station.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SashaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

This hotell is very noicy, but close to train station. My singelroom was very small but had evry thing you need.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curt_Olsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Spezia hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

On first impression, we were preparing ourselves for a noisy night. The Hotel is nothing flash from the outside and close to the train station, however we were pleasantly surprised with how quiet the location was and we had a lovely view over rooftops to the mountains behind La Spezia. Staff were friendly and, when I had an initial problem accessing the free wifi, they were very helpful. Cinque Terre is less than 10 mins by train. Breakfast was basic but adequate for our needs.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunchie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

We used Hotel Mary in La Spezia for one night as a jumping off point to visit Cinque Terre for half a day and be able to take off for a long trip to Assisi the next day. It served its purpose because it was across the street from the train station. A buffet breakfast and free WiFi were included in the price. There is an adequate room and bath (dated), nice personnel and a good breakfast.

The owners are very helpful and nice and I'm glad he gave me the train times for Cinque Terre because we never would have been able to plan our travel between the five towns and get the most our of our time since we were only planning to walk one stretch between Riomaggiore and Manarola.

The buffet breakfast was good (I liked it because it included fresh fruit and a boiled egg as well as the usual fare of yogurt, cereal, bread, cheese, croissants, etc.). My husband missed the meat (ham and salami) that he's had at other hotels.

Our room was huge because it had four beds. It is dated but the windows appeared double paned. Unfortunately, that didn't help because we heard a weird high-pitched sound every now and then outside our window which interrupted our sleep. It was off-season so I don't know how noisy it would be in the summer.

If I was coming back here, I'd probably stay in Cinque Terre in the late spring or summer but at this time in November when Cinque Terre was mostly closed for the season, Hotel Mary served our purpose.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank careymfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2010

I just finished traveling Italy for the past 30 days. Stayed in all 3 star Hotels. This hotel, which claims to be 3 star, is the only nasty, depressing, dirty hotel I stayed in the entire time. I got up to the room to find a very small, very dark dingy hotel room with broken cabinets and a broken shower faucet. The person in the room above was going to the bathroom and it sounded like he was urinating right on the ceiling above the bed. This hotel room looks exactly what you expect to find in a sad suicide movie. Guests were walking around afraid to touch anything. Stay anywhere else. Any good review of this hotel must have been made by the hotel management.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan_LVNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
0.8 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 21 in La Spezia
1,075 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 21 in La Spezia
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#4 of 21 in La Spezia
561 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Ghironi
Hotel Ghironi
#8 of 21 in La Spezia
421 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Nella
Hotel Nella
#6 of 21 in La Spezia
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mary

Property: Hotel Mary
Address: Via Fiume 177, 19122, La Spezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mary 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to La Spezia Central Train Station, the family-run Hotel Mary offers easy access to the city’s attractions and surrounding areas. It comes with comfortable rooms and free Wi-Fi. Rooms are comfortable and fully-equipped, ideal to unwind after an active day. They come with air conditioning, a private bathroom with shower, and TV. The breakfast buffet is served every morning in the breakfast room. This morning treat includes hot and cold drinks, homemade yogurt, and cakes. Hotel Mary also offers a 24-hour reception, where you can get information on the major tourist attractions. Guests can take trip boats to the Cinque Terre villages at the harbour located a 20-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary La Spezia
Mary Hotel La Spezia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing