We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best spot in cinque terre”
Review of Hotel Mary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mary
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
782 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
“Best spot in cinque terre”
Reviewed 9 October 2011

All of the hotels in the 5 towns of cinque terre are up hill or a lot of steps and not close to train station. We did not want to carry our bags up a hundred steps a half mile potentially in the rain. This hotel is a 5-10 min train ride to all the cities. Leave your platform take the left stairway and the hotel is th first thing you see when you walk outside

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BethlehemPaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    125
    94
    36
    14
See reviews for
57
99
52
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This is a really well located hotel directly opposite the station and only a 5 minute walk to the town centre. The room has everything you need like a safe, air conditioning and TV. The staff is friendly and very helpful. They gave us an explanation of how the Cinque Terre Card works and showed us where to go to take the bus and ferries. I would recommend this for people who like no frills but this is not basic accommodation at all!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bliksimstrale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaJolla
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed here with my children, aged 10 and 14, the night before we visited CinqueTerre. This was probably our least favorite hotel of the entire trip, but it was very easy to get to the train station which was right across the street. The room was very small (with four beds in and pictures of Disney characters on the walls), but clean. We were able to walk a few blocks to a nice plaza with sidewalk cafes and restaurants. There are also bakeries and grocery stores within blocks of this hotel. The staff was very helpful and let us store our luggage during our trip up the coast.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SS1LaJolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

This hotel is right across the street from the Train Station in La Spezia. It has Wi-Fi, and an adequate breakfast. rooms are large and comfortable. Good value for the price if you are visiting this area and Cinque Terra.

Room Tip: none that I can think of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank x666dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flushing, New York
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

The hotel is conveniently located on the bottom level right across the La Spezia Central Station. When you walk out of the station, look straight for the big 'MARY' sign on the roof top across the station. Take the stairs down the fort and the hotel is in the middle of the block. The staff were friendly, bed was comfy, breakfast was great (cereal, homemade yogurt-YUMMY!, eggs, cold cut, croissants, rolls, cheese, juice, coffee, milk, water, cake, fruit and dried bread) They allowed us to leave our luggages in the room by the front desk after we checked out. Close to Cinque Terre..bought a whole day train pass and admission pass to Cinque Terre for 10 euros each person. MAKE SURE YOU VALIDATE YOUR TICKET with the YELLOW MACHINE for we've seen many visitors being ticketed and fined...and would not listen to any excuses whatsoever! Will recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gln126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

After a long train ride from Rome, the Hotel Mary was a nice place to begin our vacation in La Spezia. Just across from the train station, it turned out to be the easiest place to locate in our entire trip through Italy (Venice was another story....)
Comfortable, clean and quiet, our room had a nice view of the hills to the west. The staff was the best part of our experience there, always patient with our very poor Italian and very generous with an excellent breakfast every day we were there.

Room Tip: The elevator is quite tiny, but considering how much we ate we got quite a bit of exercise on the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dbsfca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmyra, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

This hotel is the basics, but it's right near the train station and it is soooo easy to get on and off while visiting Cinque Terre without spending an arm and leg in those lovely five villages. I loved the staff at Hotel Mary. I promised them I would come back to the US and write a review because they bent over backwards to give us maps, give us time tables for trains and buses, helped us get our laundry taken care of, tell us where to eat, what times were good for the 5 Terre for each village and what to see, where the post office was, how to mail cards, where to buy clothing - they have to be the nicest and most patient staff at a hotel ever! It's not the Ritz Carlton, but it was perfect for the price - clean room, quiet room, soundproof windows (so not bothered by the train) - it's the basics.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnJ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
0.8 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 21 in La Spezia
1,075 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 21 in La Spezia
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#4 of 21 in La Spezia
563 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Ghironi
Hotel Ghironi
#9 of 21 in La Spezia
422 reviews
0.6 mi away
Albergo delle Spezie
Albergo delle Spezie
#7 of 21 in La Spezia
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mary

Property: Hotel Mary
Address: Via Fiume 177, 19122, La Spezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mary 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to La Spezia Central Train Station, the family-run Hotel Mary offers easy access to the city’s attractions and surrounding areas. It comes with comfortable rooms and free Wi-Fi. Rooms are comfortable and fully-equipped, ideal to unwind after an active day. They come with air conditioning, a private bathroom with shower, and TV. The breakfast buffet is served every morning in the breakfast room. This morning treat includes hot and cold drinks, homemade yogurt, and cakes. Hotel Mary also offers a 24-hour reception, where you can get information on the major tourist attractions. Guests can take trip boats to the Cinque Terre villages at the harbour located a 20-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary La Spezia
Mary Hotel La Spezia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing