We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location (close to train station)”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location (close to train station)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

We stayed here for three nights in September 2010 because it is close Cinque Terre, where we couldn't find any available rooms through online booking services. It turned out to be a good decision in terms of convenience, since Hotel Astoria is located very close to the train station, where we could train into Cinque Terre every day. It was a little pricey for what we got (~$150/night), but we had no serious complaints or issues and just used it as a place to sleep and shower. DH describes the hotel as feeling "deserted".

Pretty easy check-in. We asked for help with our lost luggage and they pointed us to the pay phone in the lobby. We had to call the Florence airport every day to check the status, struggling with some language difficulties. We definitely would have appreciated some help with this issue.

Lobby felt tired, and our room was a bit spartan but had what we needed. The bathroom was okay, except there was some grotty stuff on the shower walls. I really really liked their microfibre towels, and have since purchased one at home.

The breakfast room was more spacious, but the complimentary breakfast left us desiring "real" food. There were packaged pastries that would horrify any European. I would recommend having some coffee and eating breakfast elsewhere.

We only explored La Spezia on the last day and found that the hotel is actually close to an open-air market (flowers, foods, clothing) that opens up in their shopping area (including a Zara, etc.). There are also some nearby tiny convenience stores where you can pick up 1.5L bottled water for €0.60.

It has the potential to be a nice hotel, but lacks energy and needs some sprucing up.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    24
    41
    26
    24
See reviews for
18
54
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

Needed a last minute stay as the other hotel booked fell through and it ws late. My sat nav found me this one.. thanks Hertz !!. The lobby looked OK, Marbled floors but slightly tired. The room however was awfull. Tiny bathroom and the shower curtain fell out of the wall on gentle closure, the toilet seat fell off and would not be replaced, towels provided had the absorbency and texture of concrete. A shower rendered the whole bathroom a flood zone of biblical proportion. Beds on the lumpy and squeaky side. TV was minute and only seemed to show Miss Italy contests in a blurry haze ( not that we watched it much) Breakfast provided was fine and the receptionist did give me a slight discount due to above issues. I understand there are some newer rooms but as the hotel was desserted when we stayed it is hard to understand why we did not get one. Position was OK near the station but parking is a nightmare. Overall as enjoyable as a weekend in BAgdad.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flyingkiwipoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Spezia hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

There are two sides to this hotel: one is neglected and terrible and the other is very comfortable and clean. I'm rating this hotel based on the better side because I try to be a merciful person. On the first night, I stayed in one of their cheaper rooms. It was terrible: the room was dark, had no air conditioning, the furniture was worn, there was dirt on the sink and a smell in the bathroom. That night was unbearable so on the second night, I paid 20 euros more for the better room. Was it worth it? Every penny because the room was clean, looked nice, and had an air conditioner and attractive bathroom.

The thing that bothers me is that the hotel website gives you no idea of what the cheap rooms look like. If I had known that the room would be that terrible, I would never have booked it. I would not have come to this hotel because the better rooms are much more expensive.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellosophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2010

Friendly staff, a nice variety for breakfast, spotlessly clean room. I had the "deluxe" room which was newly renovated, had a clean fresh bathroom, air conditioning, desk and large bed. Very comfortable. I think the standard rooms are slightly less expensive, a bit older and have no A/C. Easy 7 minute walk to the train station. Would stay there again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2010

Upon arrival we were greeted by a very nice receptionist that was very willing to answer any questions and give us directions. Our room was very large and had a large sun filled balcony.
Breakfast was basic, location was quite good. Overall very pleased and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2010

The external and lobby of the hotel seem okay, bright, airy and had a jovial atmosphere about it. The front desk ladies were very friendly and helpful and the location of the hotel serves as an excellent base to explore Cinque Terre. Wait till you squeeze yourself into the four-person lift and squeak and rattle your way to the second floor, the stale air, the worn carpet, the wobbly doors, the rusted shower doors and vinegar-y smell towels had all the hallmarks of year 1952 but none the charm. Paid 80 euros a night here and one night was enough.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Navitimer1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

If you're looking to walk the Cinque Terre we'd happily recommend that you stay in La Spezia at the Hotel Astoria. The staff are friendly and the rooms are comfortable- which is just as well if you intend on nailing all 5 villages in one go. The hotel is only an 8 min walk from the train station, which can take you out of town or to the start of the Cinque Terre. Better still the hotel is about 2 mins walk from a variety of Piazza's where good food and wine can be found. Throw in the fact that the breakfasts are great and i can't speak highly enough of this place given its value for money.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieRey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
0.2 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 22 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#3 of 22 in La Spezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo delle Spezie
Albergo delle Spezie
#6 of 22 in La Spezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#8 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Property: Hotel Astoria
Address: Via Roma 139, 19122, La Spezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Astoria 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel La Spezia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing