We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Base for the Cinque Terre”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Tauranga
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Base for the Cinque Terre”
Reviewed 23 June 2009

If you're looking to walk the Cinque Terre we'd happily recommend that you stay in La Spezia at the Hotel Astoria. The staff are friendly and the rooms are comfortable- which is just as well if you intend on nailing all 5 villages in one go. The hotel is only an 8 min walk from the train station, which can take you out of town or to the start of the Cinque Terre. Better still the hotel is about 2 mins walk from a variety of Piazza's where good food and wine can be found. Throw in the fact that the breakfasts are great and i can't speak highly enough of this place given its value for money.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieRey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    24
    41
    26
    25
See reviews for
18
55
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisa Benuel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2009

Positive:

-location (near center and central rail station)
-very clean and quite rooms
-good breakfast (good coffee)

Negotive:

-no WiFi connection at all

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaBenuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2008

I was unexpectedly in La Spezia and needed a hotel for the night. Found this in my Rick Steves guidebook and it was reasonable priced and about 2 blocks from the train station.
We checked in after midnight and the staff was still very friendly. Got a room for two people with a private bathroom. Room had cool tile floors and a balcony with a great view. Although the room was rather plain it was clean with comfy beds. Breakfast was included but we slept though it and they even let us have a late check out.

  • Liked — Very friendly, near train station, and near Cinque Terre and coast.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2006

My girlfriends and I found this hotel off a website we had been using on our Europe Holiday. From the pictures on this website is looked fantastic - white, clean and beautfully presented. Unfortunately the room we got was a tad old and needed a refurbishment. It was clean and the beds were rather comfortable but the bathroom is definitely in a need of fixing. Water pressure was just a dribble and the toilet made a very strange and loud sound when you flushed it. BUT would have to say that the breakfast was impressive - loads of choice and freshly made coffee. Staff seemed friendly at first but got the 'cold-shoulder' not long after. This hotel was definitely an experience and we can have a laugh about it now!

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — bathroom
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holiday04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2006

The rooms have not been decorated since the 1950s, or so it appears, they are in a very poor state and I assume that a few of the rooms have already been refurbished and hence the difference between the photos and reality! The rooms are large and cool, but the bathrooms are tiny and although clean, the water pressure for the shower is non-existent.
However, what the hotel lacked in decor the staff more than made up for. Recommending restaurants, booking restaurants, providing information, they could not have been more helpful or friendly and willing.
Once the rest of the rooms are renovated we would go again as the location could not have been better!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dsbfjW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
0.9 mi away
Villa Nina
Villa Nina
#13 of 22 in La Spezia
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 22 in La Spezia
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#4 of 22 in La Spezia
558 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 22 in La Spezia
1,031 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo delle Spezie
Albergo delle Spezie
#6 of 22 in La Spezia
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Property: Hotel Astoria
Address: Via Roma 139, 19122, La Spezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Astoria 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld and HRS so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel La Spezia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing