We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fabulous B & B with a magnificent view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Piccolo Blu

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Spezia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Piccolo Blu
Ranked #92 of 123 La Spezia B&B and Inns
Toronto
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Fabulous B & B with a magnificent view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2009

My husband and I spent two days at Piccolo Blu and we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was delightful and was spotlessly clean. We certainly enjoyed having our breakfast on the terrace and looking out at the Mediterranean Sea. The hosts of the B & B were delightful and extremely helpful. Perched on the top of a very long hill, it was a quiet and very peaceful place to return to after a full day of walking the Cinque Terra. Unfortuneately, the restaurant was booked for private functions for the 2 nights that we were there, but from what we saw, the food looked to be very good. We would certainly stay at Piccolo Blu again and would recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoLady46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    3
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2008

Beware! The rooms are modern and clean but the they are located in an extremely isolated area - 40 minutes by car from the nearest town - more than an hour and a half difficult hike. There is one restaurant in the area. No telephones in the room and no way of contacting anyone once the sun sets. Breakfast consists of crackers and jam left in a shared area outside your room. Would not recommend this place unless you would like an experience slightly more comfortable than camping. After staying one night we advised the owner that we were leaving because we the place was isolated and there were no services and the owner tried to charge us for three extra nights as a penalty.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank keithtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2008

Piccolo Blu is an enchanting place to stay. The rooms are pretty, clean and cozy. The views are gorgeous from anywhere you look in Campiglia! Most people traveling to Cinque Terre do not know about this mountain top town so it is more quiet and quaint than the 5 villages most travelers stay in. All of the hiking trails in the park are breathtaking. I definitely recommend staying here because the rooms are outstanding and the staff is friendly and will go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. I can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — The people and the views
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cathardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2008

Piccolo Blu has few amazing rooms just at the entry to Cinque Terre National Park. The rooms have a view on the Mediterranean Sea.

Each room has a name of a Constellation - Cassiopeia etc.
Just a perfect place to let your head drift and dream :)

The rooms are well sized, are very clean and tastefully decorated.
We have had a peaceful stay in relaxing environment. The only noise you hear is that of the sea and birds! And you are just on the hiking trails of the Cinque Terre. Grab wine cheese backpack and indulge the area where people don rush and take time to enjoy themselves.

The Piccolo Blu restaurant has delicious local food.
The easy to go finger food, salads, sweets were a great and healthy treat for us coming to Campiglia from San Francisco

Beatrice and Daniel

  • Liked — location, room, staff, athmosphere
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madeinSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston-Salem, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2008

If you are looking for a quiet mountain top B&B retreat in a certuries old quaint italian village in the Tuscan region, at the uppermost part of Cinque Terre (Italy's National Park), with graduated walking trails through the mountains and down to the beach, views overlooking the Mediterranean ocean with Corsica and the French Alps across the horizon, with updated amenities and fabulous local cuisine, you MUST visit Piccoloblu. Privately owned by local family, they make it their goal to cater to your every need in true Italian warmth and style. This would make a fabulous honeymoon destination, as well as a place where you can loose yourself and become one with the ambiance and living the life of another time and place.

  • Liked — quaint and clean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ziggy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2007

We came upon Piccolo Blu during a walk to Portovenere from Riomaggiore. The setting is beautiful and the people who run it are absolutely charming - helpful, enthusiastic and friendly. Everything is very freshly renovated and sparkling. The food in the restaurant is lovely - simple, homemade with local ingredients. Very nice salads and a delicious spinach and ricotta tart. Ravioli also delicious according to another member of our party, although I didn't taste it. Particularly good coffee too. Not by the sea, but an hour and a half's walk to Portovenere and about 45 minutes to the bus for Riomaggiore - both walks through national park. At Piccolo Blu itself a good playground for children and the best hammocks I've ever been in. Very relaxing place to be with small children I would imagine.

  • Liked — Attitude of hotel owners
  • Disliked — Accessbility - although its remoteness also means it is quiet
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank horanszkykays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Spezia
0.1 mi away
Locanda Tramonti
Locanda Tramonti
#12 of 22 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ostello Tramonti
Ostello Tramonti
#5 of 61 in La Spezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
2.5 mi away
Affittacamere L'Ancora
Affittacamere L'Ancora
#2 of 19 in Porto Venere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Il Nettare
Il Nettare
#16 of 31 in Riomaggiore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
2.5 mi away
Affittacamere La Darsena
Affittacamere La Darsena
#12 of 19 in Porto Venere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
2.5 mi away
Affittacamere L'Oblo
Affittacamere L'Oblo
#8 of 19 in Porto Venere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piccolo Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccolo Blu

Property: Piccolo Blu
Address: Piazza della Chiesa 4 | Campiglia, 19132, La Spezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 123 B&Bs / Inns in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Piccoloblu_food & rooms is small and romantic structure sheer to the sea, offering at-home food and 4 rooms with ensuite bathroom in Tramonti di Campiglia (SP). Fully dipped in the nature at the top of Italy's Cinque Terre National Park and Portovenere Regional Park, our small microsm is ideal for nature lovers, hikers and daytrippers who wants to discover wide sites in a impressive World Heritage area (UNESCO). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing