We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very special”
Review of Piccolo Blu

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Spezia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Piccolo Blu
Ranked #99 of 144 La Spezia B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very very special”
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Campiglia is a beautiful part of the world, and Piccolo Blu Rooms is that special place that you really must see and stay in to appreciate. We stayed for five days. The drive up to Campiglia is via an extremely winding road with breathtaking views and care needs to be taken as the road is very narrow and filled with hairpin bends which, in our case, made for a bit of a stressful drive up the mountain - more for the passenger than the driver! We've since heard that the drivers seem to love this winding road. It's the typical Italian road that you've see in all the movies - always looks so romantic when James Bond is screaming his car around the hairpin bends! Once you've reached the top of the mountain you can go no further - and you wouldn't want to, the views are just spectacular - the sunset over the Ligurian Sea is just sensational!. When we arrived we wished that time would stand still, we were in love with Campiglia and we' d been there five minutes! We found our host - Paolo - who is the loveliest person you could ever meet, he gave us the best Italian coffee, and information about our room and the Cinque Terre area, talked about the local food and wine, and basically spent time with us to answer all the questions we asked. You pick up the keys to your room from Paolo at Piccolo Blu bistro which is behind the church square at the top of the mountain (and he has the most delicious home made lasagne in his bistro). Although we had a little bit of a walk to our room - as car parking in the main village of Campiglia is restricted to private residences only, so you need to park on the street, which is very safe - once we got to our accommodation we were thrilled. Our room was perfect. It was larger than we expected, clean, very well set up, and our dining patio overlooked the sea - what more could we ask for?! Our room was serviced every day, and a very adequate breakfast supplied daily. When we settled in we walked into the village (which takes all of five minutes), and had a drink at the only bar/cafe/shop in the village. The owners were the loveliest people and everything about this gorgeous village is so relaxed and inviting. If your plan is to walk all of the Cinque Terre walking trails Campiglia is a good place to base yourself, but be aware that the village is a bit of a way away from the main Cinque Terre villages. We had hoped the villages were all within walking distance, but for us only one was - Riomaggiore. Depending on what time you set out for your walk, and how fit you are, you could probably walk to Manarola, the next village from Riomaggiore, but we found getting to Riomaggiore was enough for us. It took us three hours - but we did stop quite a number of times to take photos and drink in the scenery (which was just spectacular) - we found out if you didn't waste time you could do the walk to Riomaggiore from Campiglia in two hours. If you love walking, are fit enought, and you get started early there is no reason at all that you couldn't walk to Manarola after stopping in Riomaggiore for a little while. We ended up catching the train back from Rionaggiore to La Spezia, then the bus up the mountain to Campiglia. The next day we drove from Piccolo Blu to Vernazza then walked from Vernazza to Manarola - a wonderful, very memorable walk. The scenery along the Cinque Terre is just sensational. We also drove to Lucca and Pisa from Piccolo Blu one day. We loved our time at Piccolo Blu. Paolo is just lovely and the people in the village are the most welcoming and friendly you could hope to meet. And you can't beat the view from your room! We wish we could wake up to that view every day.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodandChez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    6
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
5
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

The location is amazing. The views from our room were fantastic. We were able to hike down to a beach that only had two other people on it and swim in crystal clear water. The restaurant from Piccolo Blu has fantastic fresh food made daily, and the owners are extremely kind, open and helpful. This place is not for people looking for a fancy hotel, but rather those looking to be lost in nature and the views. The only way to reach Cinque Terre is to drive there, take the bus which comes every few hours or hike, which is what we did and was great.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frabey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

My husband and I spent two days at Piccolo Blu and we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was delightful and was spotlessly clean. We certainly enjoyed having our breakfast on the terrace and looking out at the Mediterranean Sea. The hosts of the B & B were delightful and extremely helpful. Perched on the top of a very long hill, it was a quiet and very peaceful place to return to after a full day of walking the Cinque Terra. Unfortuneately, the restaurant was booked for private functions for the 2 nights that we were there, but from what we saw, the food looked to be very good. We would certainly stay at Piccolo Blu again and would recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoLady46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2008

Beware! The rooms are modern and clean but the they are located in an extremely isolated area - 40 minutes by car from the nearest town - more than an hour and a half difficult hike. There is one restaurant in the area. No telephones in the room and no way of contacting anyone once the sun sets. Breakfast consists of crackers and jam left in a shared area outside your room. Would not recommend this place unless you would like an experience slightly more comfortable than camping. After staying one night we advised the owner that we were leaving because we the place was isolated and there were no services and the owner tried to charge us for three extra nights as a penalty.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank keithtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2008

Piccolo Blu is an enchanting place to stay. The rooms are pretty, clean and cozy. The views are gorgeous from anywhere you look in Campiglia! Most people traveling to Cinque Terre do not know about this mountain top town so it is more quiet and quaint than the 5 villages most travelers stay in. All of the hiking trails in the park are breathtaking. I definitely recommend staying here because the rooms are outstanding and the staff is friendly and will go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. I can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — The people and the views
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cathardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2008

Piccolo Blu has few amazing rooms just at the entry to Cinque Terre National Park. The rooms have a view on the Mediterranean Sea.

Each room has a name of a Constellation - Cassiopeia etc.
Just a perfect place to let your head drift and dream :)

The rooms are well sized, are very clean and tastefully decorated.
We have had a peaceful stay in relaxing environment. The only noise you hear is that of the sea and birds! And you are just on the hiking trails of the Cinque Terre. Grab wine cheese backpack and indulge the area where people don rush and take time to enjoy themselves.

The Piccolo Blu restaurant has delicious local food.
The easy to go finger food, salads, sweets were a great and healthy treat for us coming to Campiglia from San Francisco

Beatrice and Daniel

  • Liked — location, room, staff, athmosphere
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madeinSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston-Salem, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2008

If you are looking for a quiet mountain top B&B retreat in a certuries old quaint italian village in the Tuscan region, at the uppermost part of Cinque Terre (Italy's National Park), with graduated walking trails through the mountains and down to the beach, views overlooking the Mediterranean ocean with Corsica and the French Alps across the horizon, with updated amenities and fabulous local cuisine, you MUST visit Piccoloblu. Privately owned by local family, they make it their goal to cater to your every need in true Italian warmth and style. This would make a fabulous honeymoon destination, as well as a place where you can loose yourself and become one with the ambiance and living the life of another time and place.

  • Liked — quaint and clean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ziggy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Spezia
1.8 mi away
Due Gemelli
Due Gemelli
#8 of 11 in Riomaggiore
235 reviews
1.8 mi away
Il Nettare
Il Nettare
#11 of 32 in Riomaggiore
30 reviews
2.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Verdemare & Verdementa
Verdemare & Verdementa
#1 of 2 in Le Grazie
51 reviews
2.5 mi away
Affittacamere L'Oblo
Affittacamere L'Oblo
#9 of 19 in Porto Venere
11 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ostello Tramonti
Ostello Tramonti
#6 of 73 in La Spezia
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piccolo Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccolo Blu

Property: Piccolo Blu
Address: Piazza della Chiesa 4 | Campiglia, 19132, La Spezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Piccoloblu_food & rooms is small and romantic structure sheer to the sea, offering at-home food and 4 rooms with ensuite bathroom in Tramonti di Campiglia (SP). Fully dipped in the nature at the top of Italy's Cinque Terre National Park and Portovenere Regional Park, our small microsm is ideal for nature lovers, hikers and daytrippers who wants to discover wide sites in a impressive World Heritage area (UNESCO). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing