We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't get overexcited, this is not a palace!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
CDH Hotel La Spezia
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Don't get overexcited, this is not a palace!”
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Yes, I agree with other reviews that the hotel is well located if you are exploring Cinque Terre but it's just a practical place, nothing else. It looks good on the pictures but it's rather basic although modern. The soundproofing is the most annoying feature of this hotel, so take your ear plugs if you are sensitive. We could actually hear the neighbours zip their suitcase, let alone their conversation (in German)... I am not sure what else there is in La Spezia so difficult to be critical but after spending 2 nights in Florence in a lovely hotel for the same price, we were disappointed. Just as well, we have only one night here.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YseultPonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    301
    156
    53
    28
See reviews for
118
316
20
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

We spent several nights at this hotel while visiting the Cinque Terre. We found the hotel fairly quickly after our arrival but it was located a considerate distance from the train station. The location of the hotel was fairly quiet considering the hotel is located right next to a large apartment complex. We found the staff were excellent and extremely helpful. Our room was clean and it was quite spacious. The breakfast they served was also very good with a large selection of things to eat. The only complaint that I had was in regards to the last morning we were at the hotel. I think they had a few more guests than usual and the hotel dining area seemed to be slightly under-staffed. The ladies in the tiny kitchen were unable to keep up with cooking breakfast for everyone and we had a bit of a delay. Otherwise, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelcrazygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

The hotel is good value for money. It's a bit of a walk from the station though with you have luggage. It's close to restaurants and provide good access for exploring cinque terra.

Accomodation in cinque terra is usually small B&Bs in steep hills in narrow streets, so La Spezia (in my humble opinion) is the best option for exploring Cinque Terra as it's a good size town with restaurants, stores and hotels.

If you are looking for something posh, elegant and gourmet food, you better look for another hotel. But if you are looking for good value, clean and confortable accomodation close to restaurants and easy reach for exploring Cinque Terra then I highly recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lfrancois55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2010

This hotel was very nice and a great value. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlwtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

When booking, seemed a little pricey, but as it turned out its in the exact center of older town. Hotel was nice, staff a bit icy as they are in italy.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aixxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

This hotel was for us a pleasant surprise, given the difficulty of finding really good accomodation in central La Spezia. We found the desk staff helpful (English speaking was a bonus for us), the distance to the train station a comfortable 15min walk and the breakfast OK e.g. they had scrambled eggs as an option above the usual "continental" style of breakfast.
The rooms were spacious enough and clean (although someone forgot to remove one old towel) a minor oversight. The hotel was on the expensive side for what it was, but no more so than other nearby hotels in this city.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cobpen4146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

After spending one week in various hotels around italy on a tour, this hotel was a VERY nice change to the other hotels! It is a great base to explore the cinque terre region, as it is only short 5-10 min walk to train station that takes you straight to the towns of cinque terre. The hotel has maps so you can't get lost. Also, right off main st of la spezia, so lots of restaurants and cafes in nearby area and 10 min walk to beachfront.

The rooms were very modern and clean and good design. Very spacious, with big bathrooms and big room overall. Lots of room for luggage as well. View was really just to next door's building, but you won't be in hotel for very long anyways so it doesn't matter, just keep the curtains shut or you'll get peeping toms staring into room!

Breakfast was incredible! I would come back here just for the breakfast, it was amazing! After having bread and juice for one week, this was a good change, with eggs, bacon, toast, juice, fruit (very nice!!) like nectarines, oranges, apples, croissants, cakes, pastrys, a number of cereals.... the list goes on. The main thing was the eggs and bacon and sausage! yummy! Good value hotel for this quality breakfast and room. Definately recommend for la spezia.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snad1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.3 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 21 in La Spezia
1,054 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
0.2 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 21 in La Spezia
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#4 of 21 in La Spezia
561 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ghironi
Hotel Ghironi
#8 of 21 in La Spezia
417 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#9 of 21 in La Spezia
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CDH Hotel La Spezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CDH Hotel La Spezia

Property: CDH Hotel La Spezia
Address: Via Venti Settembre 81, 19122, La Spezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — CDH Hotel La Spezia 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CDH Hotel La Spezia is located 3 km from the highway exit "La Spezia", 2,5 km from the La Spezia Port and from 80 km from the G. Galilei International Airport of Pisa. Hotel has a free outdoor parking for a quick stop for luggages and a covered garage, reserved for hotel Guests. The railway station is just 3 minutes walk, to visit Cinque Terre. CDH Hotel La Spezia, located on one of the most beautiful cost of Italy, in the city center of La Spezia and Guests can visit the city, can go shopping walking. Free wi-fi internet connection throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your CDH Hotel La Spezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
My 1 Hotel La Spezia
My One La Spezia
La Spezia My One

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing