We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rural in industrial area”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Locanda Dal Moccia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Locanda Dal Moccia
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rural in industrial area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

It's hard to tell this is a hotel - it's located in a narrow, hidden street. The entrance is a large wooden door and since we arrived after hours it was locked. Inside there is a large courtyard with pretty vines, very country like. The building is an old rural home converted into a trattoria and pension. Our room was clean and comfortable with a nice A/C system, the bathroom was newly renovated. Breakfast was included and consisted of coffee, juice, sweet bread, toast and butter but the fresh fruit salad was exceptional! Since we just wanted a place to sleep while visiting Cinque Terre, this locanda served the purpose.

Among the negatives, it is located in an industrial and quite rundown area of La Spezia, in between the port and the train station. Although parking is offered it's basically for small cars and difficult to access. The wifi is very poor.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inthelight5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    53
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
19
54
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reggio Emilia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

A beautiful traditional building with artisan wall paintings with wonderful Italian cuisine. The location is perfect to visit the "Cinque Terre" as it is close to the train station and the ferry harbor.
The rooms are somewhat basic but functionally and clean. Breakfast is served the Italian way, so don't expect too much. On request they serve died eggs, ham, cheese and so on.
We had a wonderful time and will come back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daniel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

La Spezia is not a great choice for Cinque Terre, quite industrial & rundown - if you can, stay in Portovenere, much more character. Locanda Dal Moccia is about 2kms from the train station - worst points: our room was in the attic so only window was in roof, room felt small & airless, walls as thin as paper so can hear conversation on both sides & place lacks atmosphere. Plus don't bother paying 9euros for breakfast. Good points: owner is helpful & chatty if you get him going, the food he can rustle up on a pouring rain night was fantastic & excellent value, & rooms very clean.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor, not attic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BornInScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

A welcoming manager and and a cozy hotel with beautiful wall-decorations. Bathroom newly refurbished. The room was on the top floor. Velux-windows provided air whitout mosquitos :-)
No soundproof between the rooms.....

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaldenNelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

The room was full of mosquitoes.
The acoustics were so bad we could hear snoring from upstairs.
And if it is not enough, the air conditioner worked for a minute and suspended for 5 minutes.
It was an unforgettable night, but not in a good way.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sapir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

The hotel had only a few rooms. We went as two couples, and wanted to stay somewhere where we could be close to the Cinque Terre region. This hotel came as a big pleasant surprise. We felt like we stayed in a friend's house. Owner/manager was extremely helpful and accommodating. Rooms were simple, understated. Bathrooms were remodeled, clean and comfortable. Our breakfast there in the morning was very nice. After we spent the whole day outside and came back to our hotel, we saw that there was a gathering there, which made it a whole lot more like a big family house, like in the movies. The city of La Spezia wasn't anything special, but this little hotel made it feel like we had been there before.
Oh, and it's about 15 mins walking distance to the train station. Not very near, not very far. If you don't have a car, this place might not be the best option for you.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GokceSezgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

A beautiful tratoria with a few rooms to let at a very reasonable price. A very authentic place with a nice terrace and comfortable rooms. The service was great and the food at the tratoria was delicious.
Be careful if you don't have a car, it is a bit far from the station (15 min walk on a busy road)

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are brighter but a bit noisier, on the second floor rooms only have skyligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#4 of 22 in La Spezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
0.8 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#2 of 22 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Ghironi
Hotel Ghironi
#9 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Nina
Villa Nina
#14 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.3 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Dal Moccia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Dal Moccia

Property: Locanda Dal Moccia
Address: Via Damiano Chiesa 30 | Loc. Pegazzano, 19123, La Spezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Locanda Dal Moccia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing