We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment”
Review of Albergo Teatro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albergo Teatro
Ranked #14 of 148 La Spezia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2012

I was unsure whether to give this place two or three points, but considering the high price we paid I decided to give just two. You could expect more for that money but in summer hotels are expensive in La Spezia. The location is great in the city centre and close to harbour. However, you can hear everything from the street. Despite the yellow walls, the room was pretty dark with basic furniture. A better lightning is needed! In addition to this, TV wasn't working well. This hotel does not offer any breakfast but you can always find some bar to drink a coffee. Staff was friendly and spoke good English. No reception.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hannah4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbergoTeatro, Proprietario at Albergo Teatro, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Thank you for your comment. Since we are aware of the problems of noise we proceeded to change the fixtures. Now all the windows are double glazed. For any problem you've encountered (TV or otherwise) we might like if you had spoken there, we would proceeded to solve it. We do not have a traditional reception but you remember the office where you have been received and that, living us over the hotel, we are always available to meet any need. Maybe we will have occasion to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for Albergo Teatro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

This hotel is located approx. 10 minute walk from the train station and a 5 minute walk to the marina. The hotel is located in a typical Italian apartment style building with the owners living a floor above. There are many good restaurants, coffee shops, and wine bars right outside your door. The local market is also a short walk away. Good bang for your buck if you are looking for something that is clean and simple (shared bathrooms). We enjoyed it and will go back! La Spezia is a great location for a base if you are wanting to see Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sterlsum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbergoTeatro, Direttore at Albergo Teatro, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Many thanks, hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

this is a seven-room hotel rated one star but the experience is wonderful. The only drawback is that the bathroom is not in the room, minor inconvenience. It's clean, very safe (locked building for which you have a key) Great area near good restaurants, ferry to Cinque Terre, easy walk to the train station and good shopping streets. Antonio and Alice, the owners, are extremely helpful with recommendations, information, history and general friendliness. It's inexpensive but a rich experience. If we got back to La Spezia for another week, which I'm sure we will, we will definitely stay at Teatro. Joan S

Room Tip: Rooms down the hall from the bathroom are quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbergoTeatro, Proprietario at Albergo Teatro, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2012

Thanks so much, I hope to have news of your book published

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I recently stayed in this little hotel for 8 days with my daughter (25) and a friend (64). It is right in the middle of a vibrant, happy italian community so, as such, isn't always quiet but is a wonderful taste of real Italy. As others have mentioned, the bottle collectors are noisy but that doesn't last long and we loved falling asleep to the sound of laughter and chatter from the locals in the street and waking up to the smell of fresh pastries from the cafe below...we were there in August so slept with the window open! Antonia and Alice were great hosts and very helpful with local tips on where to eat, buy food, travel to etc...even volunteered to help us with our luggage as there are a few stairs involved! We loved it and look forward to returning one day (soon.)
The room for three people has its own bathroom which we found more than adequate.
La Spezia is a perfect base for travel to many parts of Northern Italy. Apart from the Cinque Terra, we also caught trains to Lucca, Parma and Florence - easy day trips and quite affordable. It was lovely to have this hotel to come home to, rather than staying in those bigger cities crowded with tourists.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules251055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbergoTeatro, Owner at Albergo Teatro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Thank you very much, we hope to see you soon too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I loved this place! Gotta love family businesses. We felt welcomed right from the start. The room was spacious and not too hot (no AC). Many shops and restaurants just a few steps away, which just adds to the experience. The only issue I had was the noise from the street cleaners and bottle collectors, but I'm pretty sure everyone has this problem there. Make sure you stay here when visiting Cinque Terre (the hotels there are expensive)!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mel_azevedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbergoTeatro, Owner at Albergo Teatro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Thanks so much, we put a lot of passion in the work and it is very nice to see that it is appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

My two young adults sons and myself (their father) were more than pleased to find this fine little family hotel located on the great central pedestrian way in the heart of La Spezia. With no vehicle noise and with easy walking access to the happy & bright city center, we regreted only that we couldn't stay long enough. We liked the arrangement of the room with the shower/toilet down the hall. And the family representative was friendly, personable, and professional. I took a number of business cards for the hotel to give to my American friends.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbergoTeatro, Proprietario at Albergo Teatro, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Really thanks, reviews like this encourage us to put more passion in our work

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We enjoyed our visit to Hotel Teatro, the room was great , clean and tidy the location was excellent a short walk from the ferry and not too far from the station. The train station offers cheap unlimited travel between the Cinque Terre for a day or two with a pass for the walks. There is no breakfast included which we were aware of and the prices are around the cheapest in the area. In the mornings we were disturbed by the street cleaners and the bottle collectors but this was not just a problem for this hotel, they clean the streets very early in the morning and I would imagine all the visitors to La Spezia find this a bit of a problem. We enjoyed our stay and enjoyed La Spezia as a base but are just glad that neither of us are on the large side as we would never have fitted into the shared bathroom which was very small and confined.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazza2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.4 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 21 in La Spezia
1,095 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#3 of 21 in La Spezia
571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 21 in La Spezia
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
0.0 mi away
Albergo delle Spezie
Albergo delle Spezie
#7 of 21 in La Spezia
236 reviews
0.1 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#4 of 21 in La Spezia
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Teatro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Teatro

Address: Via Carpenino 31, 19121, La Spezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in La Spezia
Price Range: £42 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Albergo Teatro 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The small and friendly "Hotel Teatro" is a family owned business in the center of La Spezia which has been recently restructured.All rooms have TV and free wi-fi.Thanks to its location, the pedestrian zone of the historical center, this hotel is ideal for people enjoying great tranquility and cosy atmospheres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albergo Teatro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing